Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Neko Katadzukeru

by mahalis - Compo Entry

You are being delivered a series of friendly, very flexible cats. Arrange them in boxes before time runs out.

Gameplay tip: you don't have to put cats in the box right away—use the middle area to rearrange them first. You can click on either end of a cat and move the mouse to change the cat’s shape.

---

This ended up being a bit more ambitious than some of my previous entries—the game logic was trickier and the art was more complex—and I was still adding things all the way to the end. First time I’ve had the whole 48 hours to spend on one of these, though, and I hope it shows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Theme4.37
#15Humor4.16
#16Audio4.11
#18Mood4.10
#19Innovation4.23
#22Overall4.07
#22Graphics4.40
#32Fun4.00
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13am

I really enjoyed this! I loved the sound effects as well, overall really good game, good job!

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22am

I am trying to run this on Linux with "love ./source/Neko.love" but I get this error:

main.lua:542: attempt to call field 'getDimensions' (a nil value)

mahalis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Benjamin, you might have a different LÖVE version—this was built with 0.9.2, and I think that API is different in either 0.8.x or 0.10.x.

mahalis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

Just updated it, and added instructions for Linux—should now work with 0.10.x as well. Thanks for spotting that!

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

cute and fun puzzle game!
two notes:
I didn't read the description, so it took my time to know I can use the middle space (nothing notice it).
I am used to hold mouse button (like drag and drop), click and click again was weird for me (but maybe it's just me...)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Very cute, cool music and sound :)

celia14 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

This is so cute, it caught my eye right away. All the graphics are so charming. I love the idea a lot, but I did find it really hard! Maybe that's just me. :)

celia14 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Updated comment: I didn't realize by "rearrange" you meant you can actually bend the cats! Yay, this is great. :)

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:46am

I have yet to complete a single full box but I love the game. I love the little meows and music. Very good game

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:52am

aww man the cats are SO cute. Nice being able to stretch them and so on. Really difficult despite the cuteness!

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:52am

wow, I'm bad at this! big fan of the cat tube!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:45am

um, wow! i looove this idea. it is cute and very fun, but also... super hard! the controls were a bit finicky at times, but stretching out the cats felt pretty satisfying, haha.

where do i sign up to get those boxes delivered to my front door? :P

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:46am

Good game, love the concept, really not keen on the timer though. Felt satisfying getting to the end of one of the puzzles and then extremely frustrating to run out of time as I was placing the last cat.
Overall, good job.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:48am

Oh my, it wouldn't be Ludum Dare without kittens, would it?

I thought that everything about this was charming and fun! The only suggestion I would have would to use a drag and drop technique rather than a click to grab, click to let go technique. Overall, great job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Very cute game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

Farelle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:15pm

that was fun, but heck it was hard also :P not much time to pack them XD

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:10am

Quite a unique puzzle, but hard haha

Rose says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:49am

This game is so cute! I would definitely play more especially if the timer was a little longer at first.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:52am

That was really fun! I liked how you could stretch out the cats. The controls took a little getting used to, but once I got the hang of it, it was really fun. I loved the music and sound effects of the cat meows. Adorable!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:14am

Soooo cooooll! Nice EVERYTHING. Very cool game, especially for compo entry >(^___^)<

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:49am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

May 2, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Pssst - you have been featured on today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1o2MoDhZok

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Ha-ha, this is amazing! These cats are incredibly cute!
Controls felt weird sometimes, but maybe that's just me.
My personal best are astonishing 3 boxes in a row. :P

Chikoness says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Very cute! And very hard as well haha. Extremely well done :)

May 5, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Excellent game. I thought it was an excellent idea from the first mockups you posted. Congrats!

rjhelms says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:06am

This game is adorable, and has really compelling game play.

The difficulty ramp-up seems a little off - I think thing would be balanced a bit better if you started with more time, but got a little bit less for each box you completed. But we all know that getting the balance just right during Ludum Dare is a big challenge - all in all, great job!

Decentsauce says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:51pm

This game is sooooo cute but I would have liked a version without time. Furthest I got was 2 boxes filled.

sanlu36 says ...
Jun 27, 2016 @ 4:48am

Very nice game, love those cats! Quite hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]