Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift;:.

by Anikki - Compo Entry

Revisited an old idea that i never explored fully but seemed to be a nice fit for the LD35 theme. Hope you have a little fun with it. I find it quite soothing, somehow.

Overview:
Shift;:. is a casual action game. It features an indirect control mechanic where the player changes the shape of an enclosed space, where a ball continuously bounces off its walls, in order to collect points while avoiding traps.

Controls:
The only key needed to play the game is the [spacebar] to shift rooms. Pretty simple all in all.

Rules/Mechanics:
- There is a ball bouncing around in a room
- [SPACE] shifts the room shape
- Each room contains a rock that has to be hit to score points
- If the room is shifted before the rock was hit, a penalty is incurred
- Each time the ball bounces off a wall, the value of the rock in that room is decreased
- If the trap at the bottom is hit: game over.

A help-screen is also available in-game.

IMPORTANT: On OS X, [CTRL]-Click the app and choose "Open"... non-verified developer and all. You knot the drill.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#29Innovation4.12
#67Mood3.75
#71Overall3.86
#76Theme4.00
#81Fun3.81
#84Graphics3.98
#96Audio3.60

Comments

Deltaohio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

I like this idea. Did you create all the levels yourself or where they created procedurally?

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:50am

I like the look of the game, simple but it works

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50am

Great one-button game. Audio is great, the bounces sound just right and the loop also fits well. Ending seems to be too abrupt, but otherwise a really calming game.

jbasinger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:41am

That would make a good mobile game!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42am

Nice challenging game. Good for keeping one occupied

shohs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27am

I really liked this concept, and your execution was excellent.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23am

The greatest game I've played so far. Very polished and addictive.
I like your work, any social network I can follow?

akirassasin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Catchy music!

Anikki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18pm

@anikki on Twitter

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

This is brilliant! Very well done. Sounds like an air hockey table.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

I just loooove that rock bouncing sound xD the rest of the game is great too

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Great idea, was a bit confusing at first though. Would love to see a bigger release on mobile.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:13am

Simple but cool gameplay. I really love the minimalist design!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Great idea, would be a nice mobile game. Innovative, nice work!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Would be a very cool mobile game. Needs more external factors because the gameplay is the same throughout the game

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Really cool idea!

cicanci says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Greate game, well done!

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Great idea, interesting control method, lovely color palette. Would make for a perfect mobile game!

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Really nice idea. Seems quite well polished one. Something I was kind of hoping would have been the ability to turn the map with arrow keys or some other kind of way to have a bit more control of the ball.

Also with web version, the scaling seemed bit off, like I was wondering why the ball sometimes stays alive and most of the times it dies when it goes down, off the screen. But once I zoomed out (Ctrl+-) I saw the yellow area on bottom. This is probably because of having bookmarks and tabs shown on top, that takes some space from the game area.

B0pt1K says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I really enjoy playing this game, I find it rather relaxing. Also attempting to pretend I have skill at this game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Lots of fun! I liked how you used the theme. My favorite part was that you could plan for the next shape.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Very simple mechanic, but it is a cool idea. Nice and bautiful minimalistic design. Do you think about do it for mobile phone? Good Work.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:35am

Dude this game's so cool ! I loved graphics and animation !

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Awesome, cool and clever game, great sound and aestethics

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Fantastic!!!! I love how the instructions were right there too!!! Very nice little game! My high score was 88

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Good Game :D

hunttis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:00pm

A novel idea! I like the one-button controls. This would work as a mobile game.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Excellent game, could almost be released as is on mobile. I like how the art style simply comes from the rules of the game. Great job, very innovative !

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:07pm

really slick graphics, simple but effective mechanic

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Very good and also really polished game! I also like how clean the audio effects were. Thanks for the entry!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Very fun!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Would be nice to have more control, but nicely executed.

rossborchers says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Interesting take on the theme. I would like to have had more control in level changes (So you could reliably influence the ball) Overall a nice package with good polish.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Very well done.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Need it on mobile

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Good entry!

I found it very polished and well realized. Everything sums up well. It's possibly a full, shippable mobile game.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:04am

The game looks great and it is very responsive! It was also a good use of the theme, but the lack of control over the projecile and the punishment for early shifts make the game a bit frustrating after a while. You just dont seem to have a progress.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:17am

Wow, so well executed! I could easily see this as a smartphone game. Fits perfectly with the theme as well and really fun! My only complaint is that I couldn't restart the game after I had died (I only got an angry sound effect).
Awesome work, felt super polished! Many, many stars for you! xD

01101101 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:47am

Very solid game: simple but fun idea, nice art direction and sfx, one of my favourites so far :)
I could play it for a long time and I can see it working very well on mobile too, if you were to port it.
Great job, congrats!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Very slick and polished feeling game. Every event in it felt very satisfying, which I think was down to the audio. Nicely done!

Logun says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:25pm

simple and cool,e xcatly what i want in for a LD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]