Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Sentinels

by Brightstar - Jam Entry

The mission in this "level" is to collect all of the "power disks" and escape the robot compound.

Keys
Title screen labels the buttons incorrectly.

Z = Reflect Projectile *
Ctrl = Jump *
Shift = SHIFT

This game was made in Click Team Fusion. There still some bugs present. Reflected projectiles don't destroy enemy robots for example.

All art, sound effects and music are original.


Created By:
Anthony Rossello
Jim Yetto
Jamey Stevenson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#396Audio(Jam)3.15
#418Humor(Jam)2.67
#764Mood(Jam)2.80
#852Graphics(Jam)2.78
#940Fun(Jam)2.59
#1042Theme(Jam)2.38
#1060Overall(Jam)2.62
#1068Innovation(Jam)2.19

Comments

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:04am

Nice start to a game! Reflecting projectiles is a neat component. I wish the shifting did more and I got it earlier. And of course I wish there were more levels! Congrats on finishing this level.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:48am

This is a nice start to a classic DOS style action game! I like the precise timing needed to reflect projectiles -- that feels really good. I wish the character didn't maintain so much inertia when switching directions, especially when moving in the air. Lowering that could make things move a little more responsively and get the action going. Nice work!

dcolgan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:58am

Not much to add from what was said before me. Though I thought the timing needed to reflect needs some work.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:44am

Not a bad beginning. Would love to see a bit more!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Really short so it's not easy to judge, but it looks like a solid start.

May 3, 2016 @ 5:39pm

The jump and deflect buttons seem to be switched and it might be cool if the deflected projectiles could be used against the robots that are shooting you. Really fun, though, I liked it!

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:13am

Very short, and I didn't see the purpose of the SHIFT

FengeR says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:01am

Z and CTRL button have been switched.
Being able to pass through the grey blocks but not (the edge of)* the wooden thin slabs is not intuitive.
I don't understand what the shift is supposed to do (it makes you invicible, bigger and yellow but... there's something missing). And you can't shift unless you reach the end of the level and you found all disks. That's weird.

*well I saw that we can pass through slabs but only if we're really under them

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Nice concept. A bit short, but good ;)
try our game plz
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

May 4, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I just wish the source was available...

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:22pm

I feel robbed by that ending. That cliffhanger....

I DEMAND A SEQUEL!

LukeZaz says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:41am

Fun little game! The controls were unusual, but - while I'm not sure this was intentended - the poster at the very start succeeded in getting me to figure out the jump button, which was the thing I was most confused about initially.

Reflecting seemed to break if I did it too much in quick succession, though I'm not sure if that might be intentional? Oh, and great timing on the text appearing at the ending screen, by the way!

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:42am

The mechanic feels like it needs a little work, but the music is decent and the level design is alright. I couldn't figure out how to complete it without taking damage from the spikes, but you can jump relatively quickly from them so you can still survive.
Reflecting projectiles could be a bit more satisfying with some visual effects and perhaps some better sound effects. Perhaps if you'd got the robot destroying in it could be better.
As others have said, making the shapeshift mechanic more intrinsic to the game could help a lot as well. At the moment it feels very much like most other platformers (aside from the neat projectile reflect mechanic)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]