Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pizza Thief

by szahn - Compo Entry

Punch enemies to stun them. Stunned enemies may reveal an edible. Be careful not to be seen, if you do, your cover will be blown. You must consume edibles in order to satify your ever-growing hunger. Do not go too long without eating otherwise your health may decline. To win, eat all the edibles from the enemy. Eating edibles may cause you to expand, be careful not to get stuck.

Press X to punch, arrow keys to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#462Humor2.21
#843Innovation2.37
#852Fun2.44
#889Overall2.52
#926Theme1.85

Comments

szahn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:57am

This is my best effort for having limited time this weekend. Really only had 12 hours to do this.

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40am

Pretty basic, but good for 12 hours work!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41am

Nice game for only 12 hours of development. :)

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:43am

Nice sound effects, but gameplay isn't very solid.
Good work for only 12 hours.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

There are some interesting pieces here - especially with the eating and growing. I felt like the game was still too simple for the stealth element to be interesting rather than frustrating.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04am

agario... :3

undefinist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:17am

It's alright for 12 hours! Movement was pretty frustrating though. Also not much relation to the theme!

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19am

Not bad, the sprites feel like they change there camera orientation when they change direction.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19am

Fun game! Well done!

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:20am

Not too bad for the limited time frame. Controls didn't feel very responsive though.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:49am

Whoa, the catch and game over SFX scared me!

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Pretty good for only 12 hours, good job!

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:41pm

I lose every time :( Nice concept, but I missed the shapeshift a little bit. :(

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:39pm

The movement was quite frustrating, because as far as I could tell, you couldn't walk diagonally and it generally felt choppy. The idea with getting fatter was actually pretty clever, so the gameplay has potential.
In any case, this games seems really good for 12 hours.

May 9, 2016 @ 10:25am

Is this your first LD? Your user profile link 404's. Anyway good work for your first LD. The fact you got an entry in with 12 hours is great. It just needs more work in it. Movement is clunky. Sometimes when you reverse direction suddenly he just turns and pauses... and then walks a second later. And no diagonal support. I'm sure you're well aware of this and no doubt the time was the mitigating factor. Good effort!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]