Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Keysmith's in a hurry!

by Felladrin - Jam Entry

## How to play

Once you're on the gameplay screen, you need to read the customer order, then click on the material ingots to change the material of the shapes. Then, click on the shapes to add them to key table. Once the key is assembled on the table, deliver it to the customer and get ready for the next one!

The game has no end and no gradual difficulty increase in this jam version. Press ESC if you need to restart the game.

## Backstory

Descendant from keysmith masters, you are currently the best keysmith of the region. Besides being recognized for your excellence and tradition in the manufacture of keys, you were recently knighted by the king, for creating the key that saved his kidnapped daughter. Now you need to race against time to meet the demands from your old customers in addition to those who are curious about your work and sudden fame.

## Post-Mortem

We've posted the game post-mortem on Ludum Dare blog:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/24/keysmiths-in-a-hurry-post-mortem/

## Development Timelapse Video

On Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKV9eB3anYM

## Developers

Adrian Cunha (Kowgan)
Eduardo Nogueira (Rufio)
Elisa Gules (Elwing)
Victor Nogueira (Felladrin)

## Tools used to create this game

* Unity - For being a robust game engine capable of exporting to HTML5 (WebGL).
* MonoDevelop - For scripting editing.
* Talk.gg - For team communication.
* Cubase - For creating music and sound effects.
* Google Docs - For collaborative writing of the game documentation.
* Flockdraw & Draw.io - For collaborative drawing.
* Sublime Text - For quick manipulation of strings.
* Photoshop - For image editing.
* Chronolapse - For recording the timelapse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#36Audio(Jam)4.06
#232Mood(Jam)3.54
#307Innovation(Jam)3.33
#325Overall(Jam)3.47
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72
#467Fun(Jam)3.22
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#664Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

WASD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27am

Very cool take on shapeshift. I like it :)

fprawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14am

Neat game, simple but well executed take on the genre

Somnium says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45am

Charming game, with an interesting take on the theme! Fun too.

A different sound effect for when the part is not completed due to lack of materials, could improve the "feedback" of the interface even more

The variations in the generated job requests was a nice touch, and the music really fit the mood :)

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:29am

Love the music!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Really interesting idea! The game is really fun and I like how you implemented it. I think it was a little too linear after a while though. The UI design is excellent.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Very well designed and executed. Is there an end to the game? I just kept going and going.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Thank you for the positive feedback, guys!

@Somnium, indeed! We missed the lack-of-material sound! Thanks for the tip!

@fullmontis, yeah, we had some game-goals in mind, but didn't have the chance to implement. Thanks!

@Aaranos, unfortunately there's no end. We reached the deadline with some programming tasks pending, including the game ending conditions. Thanks for asking!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Nice game. Great idea for shapeshifting, it is pretty addictive. Audio and graphics are neat and polished.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Mine kept glitching out and I couldn't click on anything :< I did get to play a bit before that happened though and I like the concept! The music is really nice and the graphics turned out well.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Very comfy game with a novel concept!

tompudding says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Sweet and relaxing, a nice take on the theme and the popular customer satisfaction games. The music is really charming. It was frustrating that you were constantly out of materials, so maybe a larger order each time would both be less frustrating and harder to manage in terms of resources. It would have kept me playing longer if more factors gradually got added or the difficulty increased, but really well-presented.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Excellent aesthetic. Nice take on the genre.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Really well made and polished! The UI is a bit cluttered, but the music is amazing and gameplay is fun! Does the game ever end?

KappaIX says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:51pm

A very pleasant take on the concept! Liked the music and the look.

Well done!

Malvern says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:34pm

This is an interesting little game. I could see it as part of a bigger game like a store management sim or even a job you could do in an RPG town. It did take me a while to figure out which bits with "cute" and which were "stylish." Felt like maybe there should be a tooltip when you highlighted each part or something.

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Really nice game. Very interesting idea and was fun to play.The music complemented it well.I had that mediaval feeling.

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:20pm

I wanted a longer tutorial just because I found the music very relaxing while reading the intro and explanations =) Even though it's a very simple game I loved playing it! Thank you

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Cool concept!
I think you need to invest a little more time giving player feedbacks of what is going on the game.
It took a little time until I find I was lacking resources
Then I figured out I could use othe shapes, not the one in the silhuette of the key
Then I figured out that the text described the key the client wants

I know all the information was there, but the game did not comunicate this on a clear way

Lets sey, if you don't have a resource, blink it and shout a message
Give the player the feedback about how satisfied the client was with his key
this kind of stuff :)


Nice entry

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:13pm

I thought it was a cool theme interpretation. Simple but polished and well done. After a few minutes I think it got glitched cause I couldn't click on anything. It's a nice entry anyways :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]