Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Taiga Woods

by Karai17 - Jam Entry

Taiga Woods is an action RPG where your Grandpa writes you a letter telling you to come to his shack in the woods and pick up a present. But beware! There are monsters lurking about... Can you make it to Grandpa alive? Make sure to pack your sword, shield, and bow!

CONTROLS
========

Keyboard
--------
Z: Attack
X: Dodge/Block
WASD/Arrows: Move

Gamepad
-------
A: Attack
B: Dodge/Block
Left Analog: Move

Mouse
-----
L: Attack
R: Dodge/Block

INFORMATION
===========

The way this game works is that you have three basic stats: ATK, DEF, and SPD. They work in a Rock-Paper-Scissors cycle. When you get attacked by a monster, your stats shift so that you are always at a disadvantage. You also swap out your weapon.

You must navigate the labyrinth-like forest to locate your Grandpa's shack. Defeat the "boss" to get your gift and unlock New Game+.

This game was translated into several languages, including English, French, German, and the New Game+ language. We ran out of time so the menu option to cycle through languages doesn't work, but we'll fix it in the next day or so.

All code and assets, including models, animations, textures, and sounds were made during Ludum Dare. Because we were short on time, some of the assets never left "place holder" status. Oh well! :D

Thank you for playing our game! I hope you enjoy playing it as much as we enjoyed making it! Leave a comment below letting is know your thoughts!

<3 <3 <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#111Humor(Jam)3.56
#225Graphics(Jam)3.93
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#507Overall(Jam)3.27
#565Mood(Jam)3.08
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#763Innovation(Jam)2.79
#956Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

megalukes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38am

Interesting concept. Those attacks were weird to control though. I loved the recordings, really funny.

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Cool game! It looks great.
The movement felt good, but turning around to fire an arrow and then turning around to kite the tiger felt a little janky.

Also, I was confused by the weapons changing when I encountered a new tiger.

Love the puns ^^. Good stuff!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14pm

It has become a part of my Ludum Dare experience to play and be amazed by the progress that you are making on Löve3d. This is your best entry to date and I am very impressed by the performance and visuals of the game, such as the player shadow.

Also very cool voice acting and them puns!

Great job!!!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Nice work!
I didn't know about Löve3d, I'll check this out :)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:16pm

nice game, i like the intro and idea. Maybe a skip button after dying the first time, and maybe try to track the mouse position for rotate? But It is a nice game. And I guess it was made for the ja so for that short time congratulation

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Fun jokes and hilarious sound effects. Nice, clean 3d graphics. Fighting the tigers can be really difficult depending on the weapon. I especially suck at aiming the bow. Enjoyable entry, I'd love to see this developed more :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Game looks good but it is very hard to control. I'm not sure how I switched between bow and sword.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Holy cow, this was made in love2d, you have some serious skill!

williambsm says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:56pm

It was a pleasure and funny to play. I dont understand how attacks works. Not bas overall

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:08am

The game sort of bugged out on the Ultra Taiga stage, but really well done on the rest. The bow was very hard to hit the taiga with.

nickavv says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:34am

I love the graphics, and while the sound clips got a little annoying when you'd hear the same clip over and over, they were cute and funny. I love the play on words too. My only complaint is the combat mechanics being kind of confusing and rough. The Ultra Taiga killed me, but that's OK. Good job overall!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08am

Haha, as usual - fantastic! Needs more waifu of course. Nice job :)

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:03pm

I defeated ULTRA TAIGA ᕦ(ò_óˇ)ᕤ I don't know if I understand the ending... :/ But, I love the mood (excellent art and music, music and sfx is the best). Thanks for playing my game. cheer!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Thanks everyone for your feedback!

@megalukes: The controls could definitely be better. Jumping back and shooting followed the direction you were facing in that frame, not the direction you were turning to, which can be improved.

@ciaodivinci: I think a lot of people were confused by that. The idea was to switch you to the least-useful weapon to fight that particular tiger, but we ran out of time and couldn't add the UI elements we wanted to help indicate that better.

@Windmill Games: Thanks for always dropping by! We're pretty happy with the results of this game too. We're planning on expanding the archer mechanics some more and make it feel really nice, and maybe make a stand-alone game about strategically kiting things around.

@Rakowu: Yeah we wanted to add a skip button but 5 minutes before submission period ended, we just had to say pencils down and upload. :x

@APantaloni: Thanks! We plan to expand on this idea some more!

@Aaranos: You auto switch when you get bitten.

@Red_Fan games: Thanks! <3

@TheCain: The bow requires more precision than the melee weapons, and there was some issue with controls that we weren't able to tidy up before submission.

@nickavv: Thanks! We tried to balance the mechanics as much as we could but we ran out of time. The bow definitely became the most fun to use, yet the hardest to land a hit with.

@josefnpat: Always needs more waifus. :3~

@josemwarrior: Good job! He's tough! The ending was pretty rushed as we ran out of time. The idea was that Grandpa was going to give you some female clothing because he's a creepy old dude, but you show up already wearing a dress! If you play Play+, you'll see that you're wearing different clothes. We wanted it to be a one-piece swimsuit but only had time to recolour the dress you were already wearing. We had some other ideas for Play+ like being able to toggle whichever weapon you wanted, but again, time.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Really nice graphics! The controls are a bit clunky, especially when trying to attack with the bow.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Beautiful game with a lot of humor. The controls were weird though.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:37pm

We will be releasing an update soon with improved controls~

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Enjoyed it, played to the end :) I had to go read the description again afterwards to figure out why my weapons were changing, and the final boss fight took quite a while with the same tactics throughout... But then even the fact that it had a final boss fight in a 72 hour jam is really cool! Loved the mood and the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]