Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Color Raid

by Atmog - Compo Entry

!!!!!!! IMPORTANT !!!!!!
If your keyboard isn't AZERTY, you need to go to the settings and change the keys

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Come to the Color Raid !

You are a Jins, a shapeshifter !

You have to kill all the Mogs.

To kill them easily, you have to adapt to them !


-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Instructions will be in the game

They will be an Android version (the code and assets are already there)



!!!!!!! IMPORTANT !!!!!!
If your keyboard isn't AZERTY, you need to go to the settings and change the keys


And guys, please be nice, I only have 8 hours to make it... :'(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#464Humor2.20
#474Audio2.68
#630Mood2.67
#694Fun2.79
#723Theme2.93
#761Graphics2.46
#786Innovation2.55
#813Overall2.75

Comments

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:20am

Nice :D

Alphius says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

That was pretty great ;)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

It was difficult to tell if/when I was attacking.
And the controls were very weird at first (QZSD?) Thankfully you have it setup that I was able to change to a WASD setup.

Atmog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06pm

@Garrett Hoofman Yeah, I wanted to had some indications but I haven't enought times...
And ZQSD are the mapping for AZERTY, I forgot to change it before sharing...

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20pm

make it available for mac / web ... couldnt try it :(

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Fun game, basic graphics, but it worked and was pretty fun. The controls are really strange, but after i changed them, the game became playable, atleast that's my opinion, still really cool game.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Fun game! More feedback when taking/dealing damage would have made the game even better! Liked the audio, great job!

TeamSoulmyst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Um what. Having the default controls as ZQSD would be much more workable if the menus had text instead of illegible boxes (Win7, installed both included fonts.) The music was nice, but while playing the game, I really did not feel like I got feedback for what I was doing.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

I think it was not possible to get a score if you die instead of using esc. It's a decent game, can be improved with a good scoring and combo system. Thank you for your entry.

James Coote says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Needs some differentiation between enemies, especially in the way they move. That way, it'd be possible to switch to one colour, collect all of that type of enemy and defeat them.

Currently, it's just a case of dodging the big mass following behind you and picking off the enemies that spawn in ones or twos coming from the other direction.

Was fun otherwise. The stickmen-like characters had a nice aesthetic to them that could definitely be expanded on.

Atmog says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Even if this game is my worst game ever (only 8 hours...), thanks for all your comments guys !

They will help me to do better next time :)

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Pressing space did nothing for me.

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:07pm

with a little change to the enemy movement, this could get a lot better fast :)
good entry for a few hours work!

ZYXer says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Good game principle and well implemented. However i wasn't really able to develop a strategy how to use the color/shapeshifting. It would have been cool if you would have to look at color AND shape. And if all shape and color combinations hab different capabilities.

Atmog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:35pm

@ZYXer Capabilities depending on shapes is a good idea ! I might add it if I'll work on it later

hpearson2 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:55pm

A game in 8 hours is no joke, the controls at first was insane until I changed them. I should have read that first. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]