Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

KIT and the 3 realms to Heaven

by Catwheel - Jam Entry

Kit is a Kitsune that was banished from the heavens for playing a trick on the goddess Inari. Inari has chosen to give Kit a chance to get back into heaven, but only if they can traverse the 3 realms Wood, Ice, and Fire. Can Kit make their way back to the heavens?

Kit and the 3 realms to heavens is a 2D-Platformer where you have the power to shift the very world around you. Gather the power to travel into different realms and master the skill of the phase-shift to travel, swim and jump your way back into the celestial realm.

CONTROLS:

(KEYBOARD)
A and D - MOVE
W and S - LOOK UP OR DOWN
SPACE - JUMP

J - WOODREALM
K - ICEREALM (once unlocked)
L - FIREREALM (once unlocked)

R - RETRY
ESCAPE - LEVEL SELECT (Or quit game if on Level Select)

(XInput)
LEFT or RIGHT - MOVE
UP or DOWN - LOOK UP OR DOWN
A - JUMP

Y - WOODREALM
X - ICEREALM (once unlocked)
B - FIREREALM (once unlocked)

BACK - RETRY
START - LEVEL SELECT (Or quit game if on Level Select)



Okay, so this was originally a compo submission, so everything was done by one person, however I had to work during the compo time and on Sunday morning I woke up sick and ended up aiming for the Jam.

Feedback is always appreciated! :3

Note: I will likely be doing a post-jam version with narrated story, better art sound effects, and slightly better character collision. Oh and maybe a boss level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#233Fun(Jam)3.49
#258Mood(Jam)3.49
#317Overall(Jam)3.49
#515Audio(Jam)2.89
#564Graphics(Jam)3.28
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#600Theme(Jam)3.28
#646Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57am

It was quite fun, but a little bit hard. I got stuck on the second level.

Seth_senpai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09am

Cute platformer with some nicely executed mechanics. I see a lot of potential and fun coming from this game but right now it feels like its being held back because of a lack of polish in its graphics and sfx. Unity has a pretty good particle engine, make use of that! Because together with some sound effects I think you can really sell people on the Japanese feel of the game. If your mechanics aren't hugely innovative presentation is still a great way to draw people in. (I'm looking at you heartstone) I saw some minor bugs in the collision detection of the spikes but otherwise the controls felt fine.

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15pm

This was a really beutiful game. the music got repetitive after a while, and that falling level with the spikes was harder than it needed to be, but i would've loved to see more levels! i'm impressed.

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21pm

I like your lvl design it looks like you put alot of work into making them. I also like that the music changes if you enter a new worldstage, its a nice touch. the character animation was good but the environment art could have been more polished. overall great game!

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Nice gameplay overall and fun to play.
The controls could use a little tweaking as they feel quite unprecise by now...
The graphics are really cool, especially the tail(s) of light that follow the player - only the platform and floor/wall would look better if they had some sort of texture.
The music is very cool and relaxing and doesn`t start to annoy while playing, which is nice ;)

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06pm

great game! also looks amazing! the only thing not so good was that it could be a little difficult at the beginnig, but its a masterpiece for the short time u got doing compo! cheers

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07am

Neat game. Maybe it needs sound effects, but in general it is a nice game, with a game level design.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59am

Nice Game :)

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Art is really beatiful. Love the concept of the game.
Good job!

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:03pm

It seems like it's some bug in Web version. If I try to use some REALM keys it just restarts a level.

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Cute platformer! A bit stiff, but the fox art is real neat.

SoulBound says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Very fun with interesting levels. Music and art are both wonderful.

someone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:59pm

That was great. Simple yet fun. With some more polish this game could be awesome.
I struggled a bit with the keyboard controls on the levels where you need to jump and switch quickly. Then I remapped my xbox controller to the keyboard which made it much easier (the controller didn't work natively running in Wine).
The green platforms used as steps out of water were a bit sticky sometimes.

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:31am

I love the concept, but the realm switching and the color identification not obvious enough, messing me around

someone says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:19pm

I forgot to mention in my previous comment that when you unlock the first realm it occurs in a place where switching back instantly resets the level which is poor design. I died many times at that point and nearly gave up before I figured out what was happening.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Really beautiful game. Solid puzzle mechanics, and the platforming was pretty well done. I'd add variable jump height, and it would really make a couple places in this game less frustrating. Presentation is great for the time given, though. I'd love to see that post-jam version with more polish.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:17pm

A very polished entry, with a sweet style! It reminded me of Okami (probably an obvious comparison, but hey-ho). Though it did get quite tough around the middle with that water/spike pit, I really enjoyed the three realms mechanic going on - a lot of it was very clever, such as the change between water, ice and lava and the different states of the fruits. It'd be exciting to see what else you could add if you developed it further!

I'm sorry to hear you were sick, by the way - I hope you feel better now! Well done on still managing to get an entry in.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:30am

Thanks! And yeah I am still sick but feeling much better. Thank you for your feedback! Loving the Feedback everyone!

plko says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:11pm

I love this topic(Kitsune & Torii), I remeber last time I go to Fushimi Inari, thousands of torii almost bring me to another world...

Catwheel says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:43pm

I want to go to another world with the Inari! As long as it's a cool place :3

WesternPlains says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:06pm

I really enjoyed this game! We thought of using the Kitsune idea with Tails and I'm glad someone used that. The season shift was a neat mechanic. Some parts were very twitchy which was kind of weird and you can get infinitely stuck in the level if you get under the balls. The trail looks really cool and I like the Music modifications for season. Sound Effects would be nice and having the Thorns be a different colour than platforms (kept thinking they were platforms and running into them) maybe an offshade of Green.

Louspirit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Great job here. Numerous and tricky levels, amazing. We dive into your universe :)

WesternPlains says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Hi I'm doing a second comment cause I really loved your game. I had it open for almost 24h trying so often to try and beat the second last level. (Took me too long to realize I didn't have to be on the frozen lake at the bottom to make it hit the switch). Was a really fun game and me and my team enjoyed playing it :) I spent many more hours than I expected if nothing else

Catwheel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Awesome! I'm so glad people enjoyed it!

retrograze says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:25am

5 stars all around. A lot of love put into the level design, I like how you focused on actually DESIGNING the game instead of just buffing it up with fancy graphics. Keeping it simple is always good. The theme match was perfect and well executed. Only downside? I couldn't see the green spikes in the green world very well, which made the first few levels an unnecessary challenge because I couldn't see the obstacles! Other than that? Stellar.

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:42am

Really beautiful, great concept for a game, quite challenging too, though sometimes a bit too much challenge! :P

The graphics are simple, but well made and fit perfectly with the concept of the game. Audio really helps set the mood, but it starts to get somehow annoying whe you play too much on the same level, adding some variation would help, but keep the ambient style! ;D

Gamepad is a must to play this game, and feels more comfortable. Controls work nicely and the transition is really a nice concept, though sometimes jumping from water into ice is a but frustrating. :P

Overall, good work there! :)

Anachron says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Love the art style and the music is nice, it's also cool how the physics adjust under water. Seems like a decent amount of of content here too, nice work

greeboCherry says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:42am

The game is boring at first, but when I got power to shift between realms it became all cool. The changing music is really cool and although background and platforms are dull but cure main character saves.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]