Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tetroidvania

by gelisam - Compo Entry

Finally, the correctly-shaped tetromino! Your dream of clearing 4 rows at once is at hand. Or is it?

---

Post-Compo fixes:
- pressing up-then-sideways to get over an obstacle no longer requires super-quick execution
- the music no longer unmutes whenever you grab a powerup
- you can no longer get stuck like @Ithildin did

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#13Innovation4.30
#17Theme4.33
#86Overall3.80
#117Fun3.68
#169Mood3.41
#180Humor3.03
#489Graphics2.98
#557Audio2.33

Comments

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:05am

an unexpected combination, i liked!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09am

Oh your game is so clever! Loved it! Though the controls felt a bit stiff, and rotating to invalid positions was a bit strange, don't know if it was intentional.

Anyways great entry!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14pm

This is one of my favorites so far! Very clever. The rotation was *a little* difficult, but overall everything was really fun. Awesome work.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:15am

Very nice take on the theme!

xaychru says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:57am

Interesting concept, I enjoyed it!

gelisam says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:51am

> Though the controls felt a bit stiff

Fair enough, but so are the original Tetris controls I was trying to emulate :)

> rotating to invalid positions was a bit strange, don't know if it was intentional.

At first I tried to just ignore such rotations, but since the center of rotation isn't immediately obvious, I added some feedback to show why the rotation was disallowed. How would you display this feedback?

adrian09_01 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Very cool game, except for that ear-raping "song". Clever theme use, pretty good gameplay (I'm replaying it second time!) and graphics (were they inspired by the official NES Tetris? blocks look pretty similar) THAT (I want to swear but maybe there's children here) "song" made my eardrums explode.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:14am

One of the cleverest game I've seen, but in concept and execution. I'm super impressed!
If you keep working on this, I would try to allow the currently invalid rotations whenever possible (by moving the player 1 or 2 squares if needed). I'd prioritize doing what the player thinks should happen over maintaining the same center of rotation for each piece at all times.
Anyway, awesome job, I loved this!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:23am

Oh very cute. I like the combination of the two games! Nice!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:32am

This was a unexpected surprise. Pretty original mix of gameplay. Mechanics are very well squized by level design. I wonder if this can be scaled into a bigger game. Negative point maybe is this gloomy song, it doesn't fit with the game.

purrpurr says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:33am

Definitely interesting, and a very creative use of the theme. I'm also torn on that audio. On the one hand it's annoying how small the loop is. Otherwise it helped complete the mood for me. (not saying that your game was annoying) I liked playing this a lot.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:15am

Awesome game, really good attention to detail with the metroid music, a concept I'd never have thought of and overall just really fun. Great job.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:53am

Such a clever little puzzle game.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:08pm

The audio got a little grating, but everything else about this was excellent! Great idea and great execution! The combination of metroid and tetris worked surprisingly well.

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Indeed very smart! Perhaps the rotating and shifting of shapes could be aided with a "ghost" shape. Ex. holding Z shows a "ghost" of how the shape will look like and releasing Z performs the actual rotation if it is possible. Nice work though!

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:24pm

What an interesting idea! I was very surprised when I found out there is... more. Well done.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Argh, I got stuck!
http://pasteboard.co/p6dKzFY.png

I really, really liked the game. It had the right amount of frustration to keep going, and you managed to blend two (apparently) impossible genres into a brilliant concept.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:30pm

WHAT A RELIEF!!! finally cleared the 4 rows (I used to be a tetris addict, I really had to finish this one).
This game I found purely awesome! The enoyability of games is surely not a linear order, but you sir did a neat LUB of every puzzle game I've seen so far (also outside of LD I think).
I love you sense of humor -- the mashup title, the chiptune version of "worship the glitch" soundtrack, the way you have composed the puzzles.
The only two things (and I really don't care about them, just mention to limit the buttlicking tone of this comment) are the subjective taste-crap: (1) the sound loop could be perhaps a bit longer, (2) the graphics could have less colors (an 8bit pallette perhaps?).
But WHO CARES, I can't write anything else as I want to play it again. if I could I'd give this one overall 6/5.

ps you did it in elm, didn't you? The tools used should not influence the game's reception, but somehow it's a cherry on this delicious pie.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Very interesting and challenging. This is one of those games that take a long time to figure out the exact combination but that are very satisfying to try things out. Finally connecting everything and making progress felt so good.

The audio is really bad here, but it's obvious that that is not the thing you were going for the most

Overall, the game was very fun and the mechanics are definitely very interesting. Good job.

Knowledge says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:06pm

OK game, but has a lot of potential!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Very interesting idea, implementing the theme in a great way. The level was very well designed. I found the music to be kinda creepy, but that gives the game character. Great job.

foodzilla says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Brilliant idea!

srakowski says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:58am

Wow, very cool concept and twist on the traditional Tetris formula! The audio was a bit, overwhelming?, but otherwise a solid entry. Well done!

Thirsty says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:59am

Really fun.. two games I would have never thought to mix but I want more.

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:22am

Great entry! XD This is totally unexpected for me, really nice work! :P

Rotating, sometimes, felt a bit strange, but it was really a lot of fun to play from beginning to end! :)

Really clever, well designed and great mashup of genres! :D

Phaix says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:23am

Really nice concept. Didn't expect what it turned into ;)

AngerFork says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Totally didn't expect that, love how it worked out! Nice!

FaeDine says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:56am

Very nice. I especially like the forced tutorial at the beginning perfectly explaining what was going on without outright saying anything.

It took me longer than I care to admit to get into the rotation area (I had to stop and think about what I needed instead of just rushing around). It's very well thought out.

StrayCat says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:18am

This game was a nice surprise. My ears died during the first seconds, but cool game!

hippy dave says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 9:15am

Woop, fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]