Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifter

by Sublustris - Compo Entry

Small pink rabbit somewhere in the basement.
---
Game is ready for Android,
web version will be ready soon (but i have some problems with porting so far :( ).
---

Postcompo improvements (v 0.0.5):
-Pause menu (music will stop on pause)
-New (more comfortable) quests.
-Some gfx improvements.
-some typos fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#84Graphics3.98
#155Overall3.65
#205Audio3.29
#216Humor2.93
#218Mood3.30
#221Fun3.48
#345Theme3.54
#681Innovation2.76

Comments

Azumiar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Cute graphics!

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Awesome! Really played well on the touch screen. My only complaint though is that the music kept playing even when I quit the game. :p

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56pm

please make a web version, or atleast a downloadable version i don´t have an android phone so i can´t rate you :(

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Would have liked to try it, but there was no web or desktop version.

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

I'm not used to play on my phone but it felt good! Nice game.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

The graphics and the whole game seem to be very well polished, though the controls are a bit uncomfortable and there doesn't seem to be too much point to the game. Either way, the game is well done!

Sublustris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:35pm

@manabreak , oh.. i'll fix that. Thank you for feedback.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Definitely want a web version ! xD
Great idea to show the drawing timelapse

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Nice game! Played very well and I loved the graphics.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

looks great, a lot like rami ismail games, eventhe level design,, but i liked it!

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Nice game, i mostly apreciated the presence of the QRCode to download it, nice touch.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Great graphics, well polished, and fun to play. Controls were a bit awkward (I would miss the buttons sometimes) and I felt like it was a little too difficult to not die and get sent back to the start. Overall, great job.

James Coote says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Looks great and controls pretty good (considering I'm normally ideologically opposed to virtual buttons on mobile games). The music loop was really short, but I didn't find it annoying at all, which is great!

It was a bit too hard for my personal tastes, and I didn't get very far into it. I also felt like maybe I it would have been nice to be able to kill the enemy spawner thingie.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Cool entry! Like the pixel art graphics. The shoot sound effects are really loud though and the music could be turned up a bit. Good job though!

notime4games says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:50am

Great stuff! Nice graphics and sound.
Shapeshifting mechanic felt more like powerups though.
Controls were hard though, kept dying to spikes because of trying to change direction by sliding my finger to the opposite direction which just kept me running straight

Yumeito says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:11am

This is a fun game :) Finally found an android game in here...

qikcik says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:31am

Nice :D

davor10105 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:16pm

amazing stuff, great work!

fin_nolimit says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:06am

I've played your games on my phone multiple times and even updated but forgot to come here and rate it!!! Fantastic job!! I love it!! My only suggestion would be to pause the music when you close out the game. Either way, you did really good!!!

Sublustris says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:12am

i'll fix it, thank you for the feedback :)

thebrainfuse says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:43am

Good graphics and music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]