Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Metamorph

by RockhopperGames - Compo Entry

Awaking in your pod, you can use your tender limbs to free yourself by pressing z, x, or c.

Without sharp claws, you cannot cling to the fleshy strands around you, or cut through threats with x.

Without chitinous fins, you cannot dash and glide to distant organs with c.

And without buoyant blisters, you cannot double-jump to clamber towards that which lies above by pushing z while in the air.

Perhaps, if you can find the various symbiotic worms that inhabit this gigantic creature, you will be able to obtain such powers, but the parasites and growths that roam this cavity may consume your fragile form if you are not careful.

Be wary, and you might just survive to maturity...

---

This game contains elements of body horror, and may not be suitable for all audiences.

Even pulling an all nighter, it was a real scramble to get this finished within the deadline, and as such the game is in a much sorer state than I would have liked it. Hopefully you will still be able to enjoy, though!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#404Graphics3.18
#434Humor2.29
#530Mood2.83
#677Theme3.03
#740Overall2.87
#775Fun2.63
#836Innovation2.39

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:19am

Very hard Movement, good game and idea

qfeys says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27am

The controls felt very floaty to me, which made this hard to play.

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29am

Agree with previous: the jumping mechanics feel a little floaty and "glidey". I did like the sprite graphics though. Really nice, good animations too.

It was still fun to play. Played until I got the dashing item.

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

It ran a little choppy on my machine. The "dude" and his animation was well made.

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

It was hard to move, and it took a few deaths to learn how to attack. But I like the art and the concept! Very morbid. Good job :)

cicanci says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:20pm

I agree with the other comments about the movement, but you get use to it after a while. The art and animations are amazing, well done!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Got a bit too tedious after 5 tries as the controls was a bit clunky. So I'm only rating you for some of the others as I didn't actually play that much.

I like the sprites/ animation for the player and monsters tough!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:46am

Lack of checkpoints with very floaty controls made it extremely difficult to progress :/ However I really like the concept of an exploration game where you gain abilities to shapeshift your character (in fact I made something similar xD).

Could have used some meaty sound effects and an ominious background tune.

Good luck in the compo and good effort!

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Not bad. The controls, yes. I'll never understand why people choose keys like arrows keys for moving and z,x,c for buttons instead of e.g. WASD for moving and the arrow keys as buttons. I don't want to offend you, I am a german an my z is not where your z is ;) (it's where your y is)

It's a good thing that I kept the weapon after I died.

But all in all it's not bad and I need to explore a bit further.

plko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Enemy dead animation is so bloody. Love.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:17pm

The graphics messed with my eyes, but they were actually quite nice and it felt good.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Good level design and concept ! I like this flesh pixel art

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:27pm

The art reminded me of a mix of classic Doom and Edmund McMillen. I'm a big fan of platformers so the feel was a bit off for me though i played though to all powerups and then couldnt figure out if there was anything for me to do. Good game though. Tighten up the controls and make a bigger more varied map and you've got a nice wee metroidvania on your hands.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone!

Personally, I'm a bit surprised at all the complaints about floaty movement! This is the first platformer I've made in a long time, but I spent a fair bit of time on the first day tweaking the movement until I was more or less happy with how it felt. I was testing with the dash and double jump unlocked, though, if that might have affected how it felt? This is definitely something I'll need to look into more...

@esayitch: checkpoints were so close to making it in, actually! I had all the code ready, I just couldn't figure out where to put them, and didn't have a checkpoint sprite. Sound effects were just something I didn't have time for, as much as I wanted to...

@mightymarcus: I'm so sorry! Support for non-QWERTY layouts was one of the things I was hoping to address this LD, but as it became clear I was running late, I decided to skip that. In the end, it probably turned out to be the right call, since I only managed to finish it in the last half hour, but that's one thing I definitely regret not including...

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:26pm

@RadMcCool: There is a final secret that can be found by using the double jump (and wall cling) to reach a platform that was out of reach before, but I didn't have much time to spend on the ending, so it's a little simple. Thanks for your reply!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Movement is very hard, I've just read about this in this article:
http://gamasutra.com/blogs/MarkVenturelli/20140810/223001/Game_Feel_Tips_I_The_Ghost_Jump.php
you should let player jump tiny bit after they're off of the floor.

Animations are awesome, nice game in general! :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:33pm

@SUNFURY: Interesting article! Funnily enough, that was actually something I was considering while building the game, but it got removed by accident! There's a 3 frame windup every time you jump (which actually lets players choose between short hops and proper jumps, but that's beside the point), and I set that to continue even if you run off the edge of the platform, but forgot players wouldn't be thinking of it like that. So thanks for the reminder, I'll look into something like that for when I clean up the platforming code!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Nice game and concept. Just free the movements

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Interesting and creepy game!

May 6, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Interesting game. Cool graphics. Always a fan of platformers. I think most people have trouble with inertia while in the air. Not a lot of platformers do that.

May 6, 2016 @ 5:54pm

@ForeignGuyMike: I think I see what you're saying about the inertia. I based the physics off the game Dustforce (though didn't nearly get anything as satisfying) which has a large focus on maintaining inertia to complete levels quickly. I think if I used the same physics variables again, I'd want to make the game focus on aerial combat, though, to make the most of it.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Very hard to play :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]