Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blobs

by Swynfel - Compo Entry

Finally !

This is the first Ludum Dare I ever finished.

In this game, you control "blobs" : they are little creatures that can shapeshift into different shapes that each have different proprieties.
Once you shapeshift, your "blob" dies and a new one spawns.

In each level you have to reach the exit portal.

The controls are :
the arrow keys to move
1 (or 'e'), 2 (or 'r'), and 3 (or 't') to shapeshift

I hope you'll like it !

Feedback is very welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#91Theme3.97
#130Fun3.64
#155Overall3.65
#160Innovation3.67
#227Audio3.24
#265Mood3.23
#284Humor2.72
#456Graphics3.03

Comments

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Not bad, funny game

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Fun physics puzzle, though level 9 was too hard for me

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

some levels require a little too much precision, I think. Fun concept, though, and some nice puzzles. Some polishing of the controls could create something really cool

Griz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I like it. Gets quite demanding on the later levels.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:08am

Challenging puzzle; slightly better controls would have made it perfect!

Allov says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13am

really fun concept and the music is great!

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16am

I don't usually like puzzle games made for jams since there isn't usually enough time to play test and balance the difficulty curve. This was well done for a first jam. You even got audio in! Well done ++

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18am

Interesting concept, although I wasn't sure how many blobs I had to work with, which made running out of blobs frustrating at times.

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40am

I think the physics based puzzling was really innovative and well done. The blobs felt a little too slippery at times, but it didn't get in the way of playing out almost all of the puzzles anyways. The concept fit the theme very well, and overall I had a good time playing it! Though I did get stuck at level 14. Great game, though!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:06am

Level 10 beat me. Fun mechanics though.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06am

Nice little game, tho the physics can make the puzzles wonky.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47am

Fun puzzle game. I would have liked a reset button, rather than needing to use the menu. Otherwise no complaints. Made it to level 12.

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Really adictive!I like the level design and the mechanics :D

Daukan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:34am

Nice puzzles. It kept me playing for quite some time trying to figure out how to reach the goal. The tiles was nicely drawn.

sai_aya says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:05pm

cute <3
last level is doable with only 4 blobs btw

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Great game man. I loved this game and soundtrack too. I <3 Blob

kleinzach says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:12pm

How does one complete level 9? in any case, I liked it quite a bit. Good mechanics and the controls feel good!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:23am

Very good thematic idea for a physics puzzler. I got to level 14 and got frustrated by missing some precise jumps. The rectangular shapeshift is also prone to frustration because its width seems to be dependent on the available space at the time of switching. All that said, quite enjoyable. Very nice job. Would love to see a walkthrough of all the levels.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:12pm

nice puzzles and cool concept

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:40pm

I'll admit it, I'm not good, with puzzle games, and I couldn't get past level 5 :P
But the game was really cool. I was especially impressed by the physics of the blocks, and the idea was really simple yet fun to play. In my eyes, LD games that have a simple idea are the most fun to play. Well done! :D

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Really had fun playing it, cool use of the theme!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Cool game, mate!

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Thank you everyone for your feed-back!

I didn't answered before because I wanted to try all of your games before as a proper thank-you, and more and more people wrote comments, so I was a little late... Now I finally caught-up!


@Marsouin : Thank you!

@Yarg : Thanks! I didn't know level 9 could be hard, but I guess the solution seemed a lot more obvious to me since I made the game and played around the shapes for 48h...

@aberdeenphoenix : Thanks, you're right, I should have tried to remove friction and have a jump height depend on the time you pressed the jump key... I could also have been nice and made the spikes' hit-box a little smaller.

@Griz : Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it!

@BarkingCat : Thank you! Since I always played with arrow keys + space + 'e' 'r' 't', I never noticed the controls with "wads" were not very convenient...

@Allov : Thanks! I'm happy you enjoyed the music!

@dwhiffing : Thanks a lot! I really did all I could to make sure I had enough time to play test, make levels, and polish the game.

@Baknik : Thank you! I understood when I let friends play test that I didn't make it clear enough. The number of blobs you have left is actually displayed in the top-right corner. If you didn't know, I understand your frustration.

@guin36 : Thank you very much! I'll reduce the slippery-ness in a post-version. I'm happy you enjoyed your time playing it. The last levels, especially number 14, are hard. I should have made the solution clearer.

@Jadernak : Thank you! My screen-shot was a troll because I didn't want to show the solution, I hope that's not what blocked your inspiration.

@ayewyn : Thanks! I'll spend more time on polishing the physics !

@Pellanor : Thank you! You're right, I completely forgot the reset button... I won't forget next time I make a game that needs one.

@OveRMolo : Thanks a lot! :D

@Daukan : Thanks! I'm glad I manage to keep you playing. And I didn't expect someone to like my drawings, it makes me happy.

@sai_aya : Thank you! We have a winner here. I noticed too late that my last level was a complete fail, and that there was another too simple solution... But I didn't know it was doable with so little blobs...

@Nodari Kobakhidze : Thanks! I'm really glad you liked it!

@kleinzach : Thank you! I guess not everyone dislikes my controls. ^^ I'll give you a tip for level 9 : the bar is 6 blocs long.

@mike.cullingham : Thanks a lot! I agree, the jumps can sometimes require a little too much precision. It's exactly as you said, the rectangle only stretches as far as it can. It was supposed to be used as a game mechanic (but I didn't have time to include it) and it removed some problems (when you shape-shift in a tight spot, the rectangle was slung out of the screen). I might make a walk-through of a more advances version.

@MayankUnreal : Thank you very much!

@AnaglyphCoding : Thanks! I guess puzzle games aren't for everyone (personally I love them, but that's to be expected from someone that made one). Thanks again, your making me blush.

@11Schotter : Thank you! Glad it was fun!


Thanks again to everyone that tried my game!

Alphish says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:16am

Pretty cool concept, though gotta agree with others that sometimes it requires too much precision. The art isn't mind-blowing, but audio sets the mood right. I've got to complete all the levels, too (the last one even with a blob to spare!).

Oh, and one option I was very, very missing in this game - quick restarting. The game isn't really generous with the blobs, and losing one somewhere at the beginning would mean I'd have to drop the remaining blobs until I run out of them; particularly annoying in the level with blobs that can't stand (on) triangles.

Overall, quite cool and fun to play entry, if maybe a bit too unforgiving. Hope you get even better for the next Ludum Dare!

geekguy100 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Awesome puzzle game. Takes some thinking. Loved it!

Fantasieleben says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Cool idea, well executed. A bit similar too our game.

May 3, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Very well done puzzle game. Level progression was mostly smooth, which is hard to do in general, much less in 48 hours. All complaints are little things (needing 2 button pushes to reset, for example, got tedious), but that's to be expected, again, with 48 hours to do it.

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:31pm

@BSODDevTeam : Thank you !

@Alphish : Thanks ! Yes, I have to rework the physics, and make less pixel-perfect puzzles. I'll remember to ass a quick restart button next time too! You could restart by pressing escape, select restart (by pressing the down arrow key) and then pressing enter, but I guess that's already too much keys for a game of this type.

@geekguy100 : Thanks a lot! I'm glad you loved it!

@Fantasieleben : Thank you! It is a little similar to your game, but the approach is radically different.

@A-Flat Miner Studios : Thanks! I knew saving time for the level-design and difficulty curve was a good choice. I'll add a restart short-cut next time.

Thanks to all of you that played my game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]