Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SoundShape

by QuiZr - Compo Entry

Hello! SoundShape is my first game made for Ludum Dare. It is also my worst game ever, because I haven't got much time to spend (~5 hours), I am newbie in gamedev and I've completely forgot that i can't make any music nor sound effects myself.

Used tools:
-Unity 5.3.4f1
-Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition
-GIMP 2.8
-BoscaCeoil 2.0

*INSTRUCTIONS* When the obstacle spawns it plays random sound. You need to match sound of your block (every time you switch block with left/right arrow key or a/d it plays an audio clip) to it.
Remember that there can be more than one wall at a time so you need to remember the order!

Web build was just broken and i haven't got any time to fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#422Audio2.79
#466Innovation3.11
#683Theme3.00
#711Mood2.47
#819Fun2.53
#838Graphics2.21
#896Overall2.50
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:31am

After reading the description I still couldn't really figure out how to play. Try to make the description clearer. Still, it's an interesting idea.

QuiZr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:42am

I've updated instructions - it should be clearer now :)

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:39am

Thanks for updating the instructions! The new instructions are much better! No that I have really played it I can say that the game is really cool!

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Hey, I enjoyed it! It took a round or two to figure out what I was doing, but after that it was fine! I got a score of 96 while playing, and great job for five hours. Critique-wise, sometimes sounds get covered up making it quite tough to get the next one right, and it'd be cool if it sped up over time or had some form of progression. As-is, though? Neat effort and something to show for five hours of work!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38am

Really good job for such a short amount of time. I only wish there was a way to replay the sound for an incoming line, it gets hard to remember all the sounds, but I suppose that's the point!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39am

Thanks for providing a Linux build. A bit confusing, but otherwise very atmospheric game.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Apparently the sound for the next object is playing before you even hit the object before it. That is really confusing. The sound effects aren't distinctive enough, it's very hard to tell some apart. For 5 hours of work tho its pretty solid.

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Quite a nice idea, but it is really difficult to tell the sounds apart, they are not different enough and when the sound of the block is played together with the sound of the wall, things get REALLY HARD.

phi says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:04am

Welcome to Ludum Dare and congrats on your first game! :)

I'm not sure if I got this right, but I found it quite low to switch to the right shape in that short amount of time... I don't really see how the concept could work out in a complete game, but I like that you've combined graphics and audio in the objective of the game. And for something made in five hours, I guess I can't complain. :P It works smoothly, no buggy animations or anything, so good job after all!

I hope you continue dev-ing and jam-ing, and believe me, you'll learn to make sound effects and music by just doing it. I know everybody keeps saying don't use anything you haven't worked before the jam, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with trying to compose some music or recording or generating something, even if you think you don't have the skills, and even if you're not going to be entirely happy with the results. Use the opportunity to be experimental, get feedback and improve. :)

See you in August.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]