Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Were with Awwww

by UncleChris - Compo Entry

This is a procedurally generated side scroller - sadly time ran out and my enemies didn't work so left them out. (I think I spent too much time on the graphics and animation this time around)

BUT, I do have sound effects - and the controller seems to work well-ish.

You play a little girl with a magic hair bow, that lets her change form to allow jumping and collecting the diamonds about.

I have enjoyed this game, and will continue working on it.

Known bugs - no "end game" or restart - hit cancel to quit.
Animations are odd - still learning on how to make mechanim work well.
No Enemies - they didn't do anything, soo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#465Graphics3.00
#590Audio2.13
#715Theme2.94
#897Innovation2.13
#900Fun2.19
#931Overall2.31
#2061Coolness20%

Comments

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:43am

Time running out is a bummer, but the generated-ness of it all is impressive. It's nice there are some sound effects, though that could, of course, be improved. The environment art is quite nice, but the character art is a letdown. Well, the cat's cute. So it's a solid start, and I'd love to see how far you could get with more time!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Welp! You can turn into a cat and collect diamonds. Yep.

Didn't really get whether there was any point to being a human or not, and there's no way to get down to street level once you're above it. One way to handle this without much time or effort would've been to fix it so the human falls through everything but the street, whereas only the cat can stand on houses, trees, etc.

Doesn't really matter since the game doesn't have a failure state, though. Sorry to see that you just plain ran out of time. At least now you know how much you need to know before you try again. Better luck next time!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57pm

I think the physics of this game were a little wacky, and disorienting at times. The graphics of your characters really weren't so great, but I did like the houses in the background! Some obstacles would have been very welcome, like maybe some dogs to chase the cat or something like that. Over all, there just wasn't really much to do, so it didn't really feel like a game.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:57pm

I wanna see what this turns out to be! please keep me updated! :D

UncleChris says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:32pm

I appreciate everyone's feedback. I had such trouble coming up with a "game"... and then like Tuesday night, THAT part showed up. :)
So, I have been working to adjust and will definitely continue with the feedback everyone has been giving me. This wasn't a good one during the 48 hrs, like last Ludum Dare were, but this feels like a good game after clearing up all the issues and actually HAVING a game. :)

jdmazz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:37pm

You did a lot of artwork, good job!

LeReveur says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:59pm

thegoofromspace said exactly all what I wanted to say. I'll add that the graphics and procedural generation are great, and I think that's the thing you'll have to keep in mind for the next time : having the game mechanic working as expected is prioritary in a game jam, polished graphics come usually after that. And I know it because I regularly fail on the same point... ;)

retrograze says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:46am

Interesting concept, and I'm sorry to see that you ran out of time, because you may have been onto something here. Everyone else has already voiced some complaints, but the one that bugged me was that the camera on the cat was so low that you can really only see what's above you, so getting down or seeing if you missed a gem below you was impossible.

marvalgames says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:45am

I can see all the effort in the art. Looks pretty darn good. Obviously no real game play so not much to rate :(. Finish this up so we can see the vision :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]