Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Reform

by EvanEGibbs - Jam Entry

This is our Ludum Dare 35 Entry. We made a puzzle-platformer about a character who transforms through the guidance of another. The game is fully playable and we hope people enjoy what we have finished so far.

Team consists of ciderWrath and EvanEGibbs.

Twitters:
@ciderWrath
@EvanEGibbs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#61Theme(Jam)4.08
#67Mood(Jam)3.97
#89Graphics(Jam)4.29
#156Overall(Jam)3.70
#280Fun(Jam)3.42
#441Innovation(Jam)3.18
#474Humor(Jam)2.57

Comments

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41am

The backdrop art and the music are both fantastic! Gameplay is interesting too, good job

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59am

What an ending.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Great artwork! Keep it up

DRGY says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:51am

Nice idea and graphic is really cool

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56am

great art and music. Very fun, nice work.

testzero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:33am

Spectacular. The only suggestion I can make is to add lengthen the time before the blocks reset, later levels become unnecessarily tight.

meownsk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:36am

Really interesting!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:47am

Why not audio category

tobia88 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39am

Great, but i cant go through the game

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Really good game! Quick question: after the "ending" where I'm told not to do that any more, am I supposed to be able to progress or does it end there for now?

Change of music is nice there too. And the music in general is good. How come you've turned off audio ratings? I'd've given you a good one!

Very nice to look at. Interesting style. Looks a bit like a painting. I kind of think the characters could've fit more into that style, I guess, but contrast can be good too. Very nice overall.

Primary thing to comment on is the mechanics and gameplay, of course. While the game was short, it wasn't a breeze to get through. Good difficulty and nice amount of thinking to do as well as dependency on reflexes. Good puzzles!

I guess mechanically this game would've worked even without dressing it up as shapeshifting. All of the mechanics would've worked inside of one character as well. Nonetheless, good use of the theme.

So many good entries so far. Yours is another! c:

owyoow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Love the art. Great use of the theme and the gameplay. Well done

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:20am

Those backgrounds are great, love the painterly feel to the game which helps give it a unique look from most of the other entries I've played so far. The puzzle and shape changes also worked really well and liked how difficult some of the later puzzles got. Thought it gave it all a nice challenge.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:20pm

I love your beautiful hand painted art. Puzzle are very clever made. Keep up the good work!

May 1, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Really liked the art and puzzles, a really solid entry.

Blobby101 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:48am

This is great! The art (especially the backgrounds) is beautiful, and the music really helps the mood. The gameplay was a little glitchy in places though.

drentsoft says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:31am

Really like the music, art's nice :)

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:56am

This game is touching. The background and music are amazing. Animation and gameplay are hard work. Thanks for offering this game experience.

pixelpotions says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:42pm

What an awesome entry, what an ending, seriously this is one of the most complete games of this LD so far.
The level design was pretty worked, the bg art is stuning!
Congratulations for the great job.

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:38am

Great game, i loved the graphics!

RealityCheck says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:20am

What a gorgeous looking game. Now, I'm not a platform gamer so I couldn't make it past the level with the high pillar blockage, and ended up rage quitting after about 30 tries - so I never got to the ending. For lesser skilled players, like myself, it would be nice if the blocks stayed just a second or so longer. Still, the art and the music was absolutely top notch.

abcdef65g says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:15am

Awesome job! Definitely one of the best entries in LD35 I've played. The ending is nice, and art and animation are very well done, and the gameplay and level design are great (could have used some more time before the blocks disappeared, and the controls of the bird-like form were a bit iffy, but these are only nitpicking).

Really liked the music choice too. I didn't know F0R3ST12 before, but I'll definitely listen to more of his work.

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Really good art, and interesting level design! A bit slow paced, but fun otherwise.
Great work!

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Outstanding game. The level design was very clever. Going through the same levels twice with different types of mechanics takes some seriously smart level design and it was very enjoyable. The ending after the first run was also really cool. Not to mention the music, which set the tone perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]