Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shadow of the Red Hand

by andyman404 - Jam Entry

Escape from the Red Hand of Doom in this platformer made entirely of hand shadow puppets!

Hands are shapeshifting creatures. The game only contains a single 3D model - a hand. But that model is animated and angled in different ways so that its shadows shape the entire world - giving the illusion of platforms, birds, rabbits, crocodiles, and other creatures.

Full playthrough here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SSuINDaNKw

Technology: Unity (WebGL/HTML5 build), Blender, Garage Band, Audacity.
Music: "Day 27" by Mark Sparling. Creative Commons Attribution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#10Innovation(Jam)4.37
#11Theme(Jam)4.35
#21Overall(Jam)4.19
#44Mood(Jam)4.08
#45Graphics(Jam)4.44
#122Fun(Jam)3.70
#196Humor(Jam)3.26

Comments

MestreRothWP says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00am

Simply amazing! Congrats again!

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14am

Wow, this is great!

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15am

This is a very good game! I love the concept of using shadow puppets.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

Love the art style (the hearts were my favourite touch) very well done.

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33am

Amazing game! Cool mechanics, pretty original and fun to play. Awesome work!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:38am

wow. that was gorgeous!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:39am

Yes, yes, yes. Fabulous! The movement of the hands make for interesting platform mechanics. Looks amazing and has a great feel. The hands are in turn both comforting and creepy.

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00am

Great concept, great mechanics and fun to play. Congrats!

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02am

Very cool and original concept

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02am

I loved the game! The graphics were amazing, and I was determined to beat it! (Not really sure where the theme came in though...) Five Stars for everything!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04am

Amazing..!

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07am

I was in constant amazement with this entry. Every possible mechanic was taken with this idea and the creativity is just stunning in this. Not only is the ideation great, but there is an amazing backbone of tech holding it together so well.

Notable points for me were:
-When I first took control of the bunny and being jolted by sheer amazement of the concept
-The part where you get flicked
-the snail ride
-And the moment I realized the red hand had a dynamic track to it

Amazing entry, possibly the best jam game I've ever played!

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07am

Loved everything about this, from the pretty silhouettes to the hipster synth; right up my alley.

Kudos, well played.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07am

Whoah, that's so cool!!! Totally clever art and mechanics. Fits great with the theme too. The platforming controls could have been tuned a little bit but it's not that big of a problem.

HeliosStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

I loved the uncomfortable feeling the red hand sound coupled with the hand animations gave me, graphics were really nice, very creative, I also loved the snail setpiece.
one complaint is that it felt a bit too floaty, and that the collision felt very loose, mostly to my advantage, but it still felt unclear wether I'd be making that jump or not.

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

I was in constant amazement with this entry. Every possible mechanic was taken with this idea and the creativity is just stunning in this. Not only is the ideation great, but there is an amazing backbone of tech holding it together so well.

Notable points for me were:
-When I first took control of the bunny and being jolted by sheer amazement of the concept
-The part where you get flicked
-the snail ride
-And the moment I realized the red hand had a dynamic track to it

Amazing entry, possibly the best jam game I've ever played!

mooncalf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09am

Excellent work! Love this game! Easy to play, challenging to complete. Great instructions, great theme, beautiful graphics. I love the "mash button for one more life" ... definitely allowed me to complete it.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29am

Whoa, not only did the WIP shots with hands crack me up on twitter, but the game itself turned out amazing! Such an original idea.

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10am

Awesome work Andy, love it!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10am

Fun to play, amazing art style and nice music. Also slightly creepy, but in a good way :) Congrats!

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34am

Awesome idea.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

This is really creative! I love the consistency with the hands, and how well it is done. Like how the hands change when you change direction. Well done!

local minimum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Really well made. Fantastic use of a single model. And very well designed level. I got to about 3:19 in your video. So pretty close. It would have been nice at that place to have some read hands attacking from the right too, to show that up was still the way to go. I hesitated, missed the jump and lost my final life. I kept feeling challenged while experiencing the world all through the game. The zoomed out part with the the fists were a bit annoying because the rabbit didn't have much power to jump, but that's really just a minor detail. Fantastic work.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Great aesthetics, best use of the theme so far, really creative =)

bigpan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:59am

Awesome, that's the best game i've played in LD so far, amazing idea and excellent execution, really good music tho. I give you a solid 5/5.

celia14 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:17am

What an original idea, very well executed! It was fun to play and the hands were really striking - I really liked turning the rabbit around!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:22am

I dont know what to say.... "simply" impressive!

The concept is really unique and the graphic is amazing.

Great job Andy! ^_^

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:37am

WOW! That was excellent. The hand motions really made the game something I'm going to remember for a long time. It was like a super creepy Monty Python silhouette dream. However you programmed the hand motion, great job. It's really impressive!

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:07am

Gorgeous game! Not too hard or punishing, and can be completely completed with a rewarding feeling. The whole aesthetic was outstanding, and the red hand of doom was a very tense sort of entity keeping me on my toes...bunny feet...finger...you know what I mean. My only slight problem is what this had to do with the theme. I mean the concept it great, and I can see the hands as part of it, but I'm not sure about it being very themey.

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:09am

Of note on my last statement, I didn't actually subtract points from the theme rating because of it. Just that it took me a bit to really figure it out. I guess not everything has to directly transform. =)

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:15am

@GrimGary - the whole game is a shapeshifting of a single 3D model into a multitude of forms! Hands are the ultimate shapeshifters.

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29am

Really awesome and a fun idea! I thought I would get to make shadow puppets looking at the thumbnail though :(

Might be a fun idea for another game if you can get it to work somehow!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:33am

WOW!

Now that's what I call great use of theme. Congratulations for the creativity!
The animations were phenomenal, the sound was good and soooo trippy...

I did find the physics a little off, but as the world is, creating platformer mechanics in such a short time is no easy task.


If you are interested, our entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729
It's more tense and dark than your surreal entry, so it's a whole different tone and approach to the theme.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:02am

Amazing. This literally the coolest game I've seen. Like I seriously can't get over how cool this is. Everything from the just the art work to the shadow puppet idea is so good. Congrats on being a game making god.

OrangePop says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42am

That was really clever use of the theme. The game looked great, I like how the closer the red hand got, the darker the background became. Platforming was solid, I had some problems understanding where I was going to land, but I made it through without getting frustrated. I also liked how the hands seemed to dance to the music. I got a kick at the end, getting flicked into the air.

kostasvs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:42am

Amazing game Andy, I've seen your work in the TAGjams so I expected nothing less! Probably one of the most noteworthy games I've played in this jam yet!

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:53am

Genius.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Stunning idea, great realisation!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:01pm

As original as it can get, loved it!

tonygod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Superb job. Original and well put-together.

David Cookie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Should we call you andyman or 'hand'yman? :° Really a great idea and superb realisation! The gameplay is simple but works, and I love the fact that you can hear the boss coming with the guitar! The music is good but I think it doesn't fit to your design all that well, though it kinda represents the danger of being pursued.
Would love to see you keep working on that!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Brilliant use of shadow puppets for everything from user interface to characters to platforms. Loved how the hands were revealed when turning, how the guitar and orange glow came in when the Red Hand was close, all that. Platforming was great too; excellent polish all around. Thanks a ton for putting this together!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:53pm

The rabbit ascended to heaven. Visually it's great and the gameplay is very fun. We chose a similar theme, admit it's was fun! :D Well done!

maleero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:25am

Great work, Andy!

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:57am

Wow, that was really good. Very clever idea.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:23am

The artistic aesthetic is really amazing. The prime concept is perfectly unusual - I have never seen something like this before. Overall, it's a tiny platform game. I like it. One of my favorites. Well done ++

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:12am

Wow that's a fantastic look that definitely uses the theme. Gameplay was fun. I would have liked the camera to follow quicker as there were times where it was following to far above and I couldn't see where I was going to land.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13am

It's rare to see a theme so perfectly incorporated into the aesthetic/visuals of the game. Normally I see the theme used as gameplay mechanic or a story element.

This was very refreshing in that regard, very original, and the fact that it also affects the gameplay is also a big plus.

Fantastic entry, good luck!

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17am

Nice entry! I like the idea of making shadow of hand shapes as aesthetic style, it make me expecting what hand shapes will I encounter next, pretty cool!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:31am

Very well made!

kabel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:36am

Great concept!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:42am

Oh, wow, that was wicked! I'm am floored, great concept, take on the theme, and overall execution. Look forward to seeing what you cook up next!

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:11am

Awesome game - the innovative visuals and mechanics work so well together and the music also helps to build the mood. Sometimes the jumping seemed a little unresponsive but that's the only (very small) quibble I have with this. Top marks from me!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:37am

cool idea, and awesome graphics,
but not that fun to play

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:57am

WOW!
That's creative !
Having Looked into other games I must thank you for a checkpoint
ooh and also thanks for allowing me to get a new life by jumping
ooh and thanks for the time-laps :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:27am

Beautiful graphics and funny platformer. Nice work!

NickZangus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:07am

Great work! Brilliant take on the theme! My only complaint is about the music that, in my opinion, don't fit with the rest of the game. But other than that, it's amazing!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:28am

Superb. Gameplay could be smoother, but it more than makes up for it with the innovative setting and music.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:52pm

I never would have thought that shadow puppets would make good visual design in a game, but you found a way!

Platforming was a bit glitchy at time (I did get stuck once on a platform) but you did an amazing job!

MatLab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Impressive take on theme! I really love the way hands shape shift!

Naca says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Awesome concept, man. Simply awesome. Reeeeally good use of the theme, I'm impressed. Controls are a bit tricky but I've had a lot of fun. Music fits well although it's not made for the game. And I love 1UPs :D

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28pm

This is soo cool. Controls could be a little bit more tight. Apart from that a flawless game.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:47pm

OUTSTANDING visual style. What amazing design. Great work! I wish I could see farther away at times, but overall this was really polished and unique.

Spotline says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Great entry ! Excellent core idea, and excellent realization ! (GOD that half turn animation <3) Well done :)

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:56pm

amazing how the concept of shapeshift was taken, also the music es super great, at start sounded like muse! :D

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:36pm

This is just too cool. The gameplay could use a little bit of polish, it felt a bit floaty, but on the other hand (ha) never glitched. The whole concept with the shadow puppetry is great and imaginative, full points for theme. Taken a little bit further this could be a real stand-out game.

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Heh, I enjoyed this! The graphics are amazingly creative! Actually, it was a little frustrating to play for me because I died *a lot* :) But this is really well done, congrats!

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Awesome game bro, super innovative!

ragnta says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:49am

It's amazing. :)

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:58am

Hi, nice game ! and very nice idea ! Play with the shadows :D We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)

p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Simply amazing.I was wowed when i saw it.It really is a masterpiece. If you maybe put some more serious sound music you could publish it on steam with a great story.I would definately buy something like this.Wow i cant even... i can't.I literally hope you get first place.YOu deserve it.Hands down one of the best games i ever played.Wow....

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Lovely. It's a great concept and use of the theme. totally don't think the music choice fit. could just be personal taste but i felt like it was taking away from the elegant idea of this solely hand puppet story. but overall it was a beautiful idea that was fun to play, A+

Odyssey says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Amazing, one of the best I've played so far

kallotec says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:45am

Great idea! Well done!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:42am

this was SUCH a unique idea, executed really well. all the ways you incorporated the hand shapes were super interesting and it all worked very well together. really great job!!

Galan says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Great concept used cleverly; Fun to play; And I love to use of dynamic music. My only complaint would be the somewhat dodgy collision detection, but I still enjoyed playing it. It's a testament to how well executed everything else was.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Brilliant. Wonderful animation and an absolutely genius idea.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Lovely graphics and a wonderfully innovative style, although I had hoped shape shifting would make its way into the gameplay as well, instead of just being another way of presenting moving platforms and obstacles. I also found the bunny's hopping movement to be imprecise, which makes for frustrating movement in a platformer.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:01pm

The jump seemed to not always respond as expected, but other than that it was fun and the "furiously smash the jump button for another life" option was nice. I used it a few times on that snail ride.

The stylized art was interesting and the animations of the shadow puppets were nice, especially the turning around animation for the main character/shadow puppet. It was really interesting to see the theme applied in this way. Good work!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:07pm

I tried, I tried, and I've finished this, because it totally worth!
It's simple, it's beautiful, with begining and end, it's awesome! Keep the great work!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Just wow! Love the concept and presentation is amazing! Very good use of the theme. And I only died 8 times getting to the end! Good use of audio to emphasis the panic of the red hand approaching - very eerie!

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:20am

JUST AMAZING!

danieldsj says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:01am

Love the artwork, very stylized. The theme wasn't really part of the game play, but you sold me on the art. Also the hand-hearts were genius. Awesome work!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:52am

9/5 Stars!!! The theme, the idea, the development... awesome job, i don't have any bad word

goibon says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:47am

This is a really cool idea executed with a nice art style.
It was a bit difficult to figure out where the players hitbox was.
The snail ride was such a fun suprise and a great addition to the game.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Nice concept ! Very original ! Thanks for this moment ! :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Great game about shadows with cool art style.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Wow, such an impressive use of the theme! I'm speechless. The style is so great! There were just some minor problems like the camera not always showing the ground or the physics feeling a bit awkward. But I really loved this game. Best use of theme I've seen so far. Perfect feeling of panic and haste.

Oh, at first I thought I had won, when in fact I had died. The message "This is the end, you only died X times" was not making it clear that there was more content. Only "smash jump furiously" gave that away. I would almost have missed the ending!

the31 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Wow, really neat use of the theme! I agree with a few other comments that the controls weren't perfect (jumping seems delayed, for instance) but that wasn't a big problem, since it wasn't *too* demanding. Nicely done.

May 1, 2016 @ 4:28am

This game...

Was that good.

The art was amazing and the game was so innovative honestly the idea of shadow puppets... And the soundtrack... And the art, and all those little effects and did I mention the art?

Good job my favourite game so far here.

Felladrin says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:15am

Wonderful! Amazing game concept! Keep it up!

TeamPoops says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:02am

What a clever use of the 3d hand model!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:48am

Awesome concept, and really well implemented. I was impressed by the amount of work that went into this.

xesf says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:36am

What a great concept.
It seems I must check this games more often. So many talent around here.

Kep says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Innovation 5/5!
I would like to see the player be able to shift into different forms to handle different challenges.
You should keep working on it. Best of luck.

fooify says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Wow, this is great! Extremely creative, awesome job.

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:34pm

The art style is stunning!
The jumping could use a bit of polish, I found myself dying a lot because of it
Nevertheless, it's really awesome

jk5000 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Well done!!!

managore says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:41am

This is just incredible! I love how animated the world is, and together with the consistent style it makes the game look so good. The variety of shapes and level structure was also fantastic! It seemed like there were a few times when the character failed to jump while running downhill, but with the approach you took with the landscape that can hardly be helped, and it didn't really detract from the experience.

joemid says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Great work! Love the idea of shadow puppets in general, but this game has really pulled it off. Begging and choosing; the control was a bit off, but interestingly so- I found I could intermittently jump up the entire side of a vertical arm to save myself- Also, was hoping to turn into a bird, or an elephant?! That seemed like it must have been a concept discarded for time- great job!

May 3, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Brilliant idea to be efficient with art assets, and well executed visually. Platformers are tough because the controls have to be really tight to feel good, so that's where I would focus if you're going to continue work on this. Congrats on finishing! Nice work.

trulyvile says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:43pm

As everyone else is saying, just fantastic. Everything blends together really well and it's got a crazy amount of polish to it.

The one tiny complaint I do have is that the camera could've been a bit more responsive IMO. Sometimes I had to make leaps of faith, unsure if there was a hazard below me or not. More often or not the camera actually did a great job at framing the scene like its own little work of art (especially those times when it'd zoom out), and the camera position didn't lead to any actual danger on my part, but making sure you can always see where the trajectory of a jump will land you would remove that feeling of unsureness and help the player focus on experiencing the beauty and adrenaline in this game.

May 5, 2016 @ 5:00pm

You have been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9i0IenE6HQE

May 6, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Really unique, amazing game. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/bGsPoPIYpCs

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:52am

This was amazing! It hurts that it was really hard to control the jump :( . This game looks, sounds and feels awesome and surprising through every step

medidog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:54am

This is so good! Loved it! Genius! Graphics and mood can improve, but brilliant job overall:)

Reiv says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Interesting approach for the concept! Loved the graphics! The animations were just wonderful. Some shadows disturbed me a bit tho haha

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:30am

Woah, perfect idea for graphics! Awesome work, played this to completion and had a lot of fun. Love the hearts too. Good job!

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Wonderful ! I like the graphics and the music, they give a really lovely mood, and the animations are awesome, really good job ! :D

Brickkid512 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:48pm

This has a very unique look to it. I had fun playing it

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:51am

Super great job! The movement bouncing sometimes was hard to deal with as it would not let you job if you were in the mid air part of the animation. I fell off a lot of edges that way.

Even with that one gripe, this is a great accomplishment! Great Job!

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:31pm

The absolute best graphics of LD35 because the art style is just so unique and creative.

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:44pm

The visuals and overall unique identity of this make it really stand out, its a very well executed idea. The big red hand was terrifying!

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Perhaps it's because of the lag, but I found the platforming controls difficult. The animation feels un-responsive, and I can't tell where the bottom of the rabbit figure starts. Some red-hand configurations were not positioned fairly after respawning, leading to death from the spawn point itself. The graphics are really innovative, but I fear it comes at a usability cost.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]