Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Meepies

by broknecho - Jam Entry

Meepies!

Controls
=======================
Mouse: move to target new movable stone
Arrows: move targeted movable stone
Left Click: click on meepie to wake it early

You can only move stones when the Meepie is sleeping. I'm pretty sure it will scare them.


Objective:
========================
Use your amazing power to shift around the stones to allow the meepies to find all their stars. They are sickly addicted to finding these things.


Tools Used
===============
- Construct 2
- Paint.net
- Expression Design
- Audacity

- Music:
Music: “Elefly”, by Eino Toivanen, kongano.com
Licenced under Creative Commons: By Attribution 4.0
creativecommons.org/licences/by/4.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#127Innovation(Jam)3.71
#253Fun(Jam)3.46
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#298Mood(Jam)3.42
#558Theme(Jam)3.33
#722Graphics(Jam)3.04

Comments

mikeware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08am

Really love the room progression opening up and following along. Wish there was a bit more to it with a less intense difficulty ramp-up. See a lot of potential for this as a good puzzle game!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:28am

this is another great puzzle game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17am

Cool thematic idea for shifting shapes. That third room caused me a bit of grief, but in a good way for a puzzle. Very nice job.

adamprack says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:06am

Nice job! It took me a minute to figure out what I was doing--the movable and non-movable objects are hard to recognize at first glance--but I had a lot of fun getting all the way through it. Heck of a difficulty jump between level two and three ;-)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Yay a puzzle game!
Difficulty ramps up really quickly, I would have liked a 'reset' button for when I knew id messed up, but really solid concept

Thirsty says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:38am

Really fun puzzle game... Would be great with touch controls.

TravellerGDW says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Really well done, like the complexity and ability to redo a room without having to re-move everything. Love to see more levels and environments, mobile version. Maybe have 2 Meepies running around? Enemies that must be kept apart? Lots of good possibilities with the concept.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:25am

Perfect late night game!!!! I saw you on stream! So at first I was confused about how to move the blocks but you spelled it out perfectly in the description! I'm glad you have an auto save feature because I did not want to start over after dying on the harder puzzles!!! Fantastic job!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:44am

Third level was particularly difficult and I had to fail a few times to get it right, but otherwise this is a very nice and calm game that I really liked playing!

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Good Game :D

StrayCat says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Interesting game!
It was a bit difficult to find what was movable and what was a hole at first, and the meep-meep kept dying.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:13am

Thought the puzzle were really well-thought out. Would have liked a reset-puzzle button, as well as a fast-forward button to make the meep move faster. Graphics could use a little more work, too. That said, I can tell the design of the game was put together with care, and it really shows. I felt good beating the game!

May 6, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Nice game, though I couldnt read the bubbles... I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/bGsPoPIYpCs

pikmin4000 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:28am

254 steps! I like the puzzles which are what made me keep playing the game. But the game mood is soo creepy! The music 0;

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:57am

The way the level progresses is really nice! And the game concept is also great and challenging! :)

The game has this really relaxing mood, and it's a pleasing experience to play it! :)

Keep going! :D Congrats!

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:55pm

I like the concept a lot but the graphics need to be a bit larger (especially the UI).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]