Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifto

by rayman1900 - Jam Entry

Collect all stars and reach the finish line.

Press Up or W to Jump.
Hold Up or W to push through.
Press Shift to change shape.

*Edit: I've added 2 other levels ! Play it now ! (April 18th)

*Edit 2: Thanks for the feedback so far ! I improved controls, UI and graphics! Hope you enjoy :)

I decided to make this game for fun in only 8 hours (I entered saturday morning). I've since brought improvements and I plan to add more levels later, as I can see a lot of gameplay possibilities. If you have an idea, tell me what you want to see in term of level design or gameplay twist and I'll probably add a couple of more levels later ^^

Sounds from : FreeSounds.org
Art made in MagicaVoxel
Music by : AzureWorm from Newground
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/658822

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#261Theme(Jam)3.70
#370Innovation(Jam)3.26
#495Audio(Jam)2.94
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#652Overall(Jam)3.12
#667Graphics(Jam)3.12
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22am

Nice cool little concept. Fun music, but lacks more levels. For an 8 hour game, I gotta say it's pretty good.

merrak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20am

Pretty good for 8 hours! Shifting left/right feels a little sluggish, though. I think movement would be more responsive if the shape moved on the key being pressed instead of released.

rayman1900 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09am

Thanks Merrak, I've fixed that! It really was onKeyUp and it felt somewhat slugish to me too ^^

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

It's a fun game. The controls took a bit of getting used to.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11am

It's a fun concept! I feel that it could be cleaned up a little bit, but overall, it was fun!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18am

Man! What an interesting concept! The controls need some improvement, but the idea has a lot of potential, and it was very fun to play.

Also, if you are interested, take a look our our game, WolfBit.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18am

Interesting concept there, movements took some getting used to though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20am

Fun little game, nicely presented. I'd prefer the push through and shift keys to be separate, but that's just me.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29am

Well done for only 8 hours! The controls are fairly unforgiving, but the fact that you can just try the same level again makes that ok. Definitely an interesting idea that could use more levels!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31am

A Well-executed little game.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Not bad, especially for 8 hours. But it is a bit strange that the shapshifting happens on the same key you move with.
Nice job! :)

StaNov says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:49am

Loved it! The idea, the graphics, the music!

But it's sooooooooooo hard! What about putting the shapeshifting to different button? It's too hard to manage the shape, lane, gravity and only little space between the walls.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:00am

I was unable to change shape...

rayman1900 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:22am

Hi KodingNights, I forgot to change my entry description, You need to change Shape with the Shift Key now. I've updated my description to reflect that change now. Thanks for playing, though!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:57pm

the original shapeshift with up key was really difficult. Rage quit in the 3rd level. The improved version was almost too easy :) Very nice game though. Good work.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Nice controls! I like it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Really good concept which I have never seen before. I like it. It could be better on mobile device. Well done ++

tompudding says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:02pm

As others have said the single button to shift and go up was difficult to get the hang of, but it's a unique idea and very cool

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Wow! What a great game! The circles in the instruction are a little confusing. Keep up the good work!

broknecho says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Pretty neat concept here. I think the gaps between the sections were really small and the strong gravity made this very difficult.

Nice start here though! Good Job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:38am

controls were hard but overall a good game - like the idea - nice job

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Pretty fun concept but it's pretty hard to get used to the game and overall controls

ployer says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:46pm

very cool

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]