Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Disco Anthem Reloaded

by FerraWare - Compo Entry

WARNING - May cause seizures and/or headaches
WARNING - May cause seizures and/or headaches
WARNING - May cause seizures and/or headaches

This game was made for the Ludum Dare 35 in 48 hours.

Controls:
-WASD/Arrow Keys: Move
-Left Click/Right Click: Shrink & Expand

Feel free to leave any kind of feedback, it's really appreciated.

Follow me on Twitter @Ferraware

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#71Theme4.04
#103Humor3.32
#144Audio3.44
#193Innovation3.58
#204Fun3.50
#213Overall3.52
#249Mood3.26
#303Graphics3.41

Comments

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Reminds me of some of those game shows where they contort to match it or get dunked in water. I think a forward perspective would of been better for accuracy.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52pm

I liked how smooth it was to transform the cube.

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22pm

This is really good made. The start menu is really cool and the graphics is awesome!

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:49pm

The start menu is very cool!
The game is decently hard but my god my eyes are dead.
Good audio too.
Best score: 3929

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

2168 is the best I could do! So many flashing colors though! My eyes still hurt :/... The game doesn't allow much error either, so it's quite hard. I like the concept, but it's really too harsh on my eyes :/

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

You're not kidding about the siezures, but it looks cool and "wonky world" is an interesting mechanic. The graphics are superb and I like the music as well. It was VERY difficult and I didn't want to play it for too long because it is so hard on the eyes.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Would love a web build if possible, looks really fun.


I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Allov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I'm still dizzy! ;) It has good potential, fitting the cube in holes was nice!

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04am

I got to score 2273! :) I'm feeling kind of dizzy but it was fun!
The artstyle was real nice and I enjoyed that game mechanic!
(My eyes still hurt! :/)

kev9318 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

haha nice idea ! i loved that smooth transformation!

Pellanor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Oh god, my eyes O.O

Cool idea. Reminds me of those crazy Japanese human tetris games. This shifting perspective and lights are weird. Glad I didn't have to play it for very long.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Hey i made 3404 points! Very nice game! i really enjoyed it!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:45am

I couldn't go for long, but it felt smooth to play, maybe scrolling for changing size?

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Fantastic. Very well polished, simple, and a lot of fun to play! scored 3111 hahah...

You used the limited resources you had to create one of the best entries i've seen. Congratulations! :D

McBeef says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Great Job!

But holy crap, did this mess up my eyes :)

Alphish says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Best score: 5584. That sure got pretty flashy.

That was fun to play around for a bit, but if you had longer soundtrack, I'd probably stick around for more. Too bad the background didn't have some props flying around; I think it'd feel even more disco with that.

Pretty decent entry overall, though I guess if I played it for longer, I'd really get some headaches or something... ^^'

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]