Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shuffle Race

by Darkgoon - Compo Entry

Shuffle Race is a race game where you can switch car during the race. This will be key to optimize your race time!
Can you master all 4 tracks?

Tracks:
1: easy
2: medium
3: hard
4: hellish

Modes
1: preloaded. It means the track will be the how it is supposed to be and will never change
2: Smart- random. The hazard type of the track will be random, but it will try to create big zones of the same type instead of changing randomly every square
3: Completely random. I don't need to explain this do I?
4: Mono - Hazard. The whole track will be covered with the same hazard.

Hazards
1: White. Normal concrete, good grip and traction and will reach high speeds.
2: Brown. Dirt, it has less grip and traction than concrete. It also has more drag so the speeds will be lower
3: Azure. Ice, Almost no grip and traction, braking and turning will be very tricky.
4: Yellow. Sand, it has very low traction, fair amount of grip, but a heavy drag so you will need more power to accelerate at low speeds.
5: Purple. Pitch, it has a very high drag, accelerating will be very hard if you are not already moving. Grip and reaction a optimal though

Controls
Arrows (or WASD) to control your car.
1,2,3 to shapeshift your car. The number connected to each car can change between games.
ESC will get you back to the main menu

Hint: The racecar is hard to play, use the dune buggy to get some traction and use the roadcare when you need more steering and agility.
Hint 2: Remember to brake!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#349Humor2.53
#556Mood2.79
#579Fun2.96
#600Graphics2.76
#641Theme3.08
#704Overall2.92
#719Innovation2.69

Comments

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Nice game, You should export in webgl instead of the deprecated unity web player, chrome doesn't support it.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Lovely art style. :)

ohmmus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:09pm

I'm with Saymon. WebGL all the way! Anyways, the game is a lot of fun to play. I like racing games in general, but this combines a lot of different types of racing into one! Took a bit to get used to switching between the cars, but once I did, I was zooming around the tracks. I'm going to see if I can get around the "hellish" track without dying at some point. =p Nice job!

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Pretty hard, it definitely need sound.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

I like the concept and the idea to change race car in the middle of the race. The controls could use a bit more work, I think it would make the game even more fun.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25pm

cool idea, always like racers

Linver says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Idea is interesting a bit, but when you played at one map a lot one way - is drop the game. You should add auto change of maps, or main menu button.
Nice physics! But Font is hard to read, try use anythings easier.
PS\ try to add to your car a standart "Trail renderer" Unity component ;) It will be amazing, I promise!

seizeTheDia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Fun! It feels like it would run nice with a controller and it could really use some sound. Cool idea, good job!

Darkgoon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08pm

I forgot to say write it. If you press ESC you return to the main menu

Jin47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Its is a great idea but I think I am not compatible with your gameplay (I am always getting out of track XD). Fun gameplay though Good job!

Darkgoon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Remember to brake!

Crosstales says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Nice little race game. Reminded me a lot of "Cars" back in the old days!

Well done!

quill18 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Visually reminds me of some old Commodore 64 racing games I used to love!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08am

Nice little game :) Needs sound but otherwise i had a good moment :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:40pm

It's very well put micro machines like racing game, i enjoyed this very much :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]