Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Railroad Shifter

by dollarone - Compo Entry

Oh dear! The railroad is in a tangled mess. Trains are scheduled to leave, but they won't make it with the current shape of the railroad.

Help shift the railroad into a suitable shape so that the trains can reach their destinations!


Control with the mouse. All code/graphics/audio by me during LD35!

Written in HTML5 with Phaser.io. Graphics done in Pyxeledit and audio in Audacity and Bosca Ceoil!


---------------

Update: I have added a post-compo version. Level 3 wasn't very good, so this version features a new level 3 - and five new challenging levels. You can also skip levels! Also fixed a couple of bugs (thanks to people who reported them!).

Update2: I've also added a scoreboard (see link below) for the competitive amongst us! Both compo and develop version submit scores.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Humor3.85
#50Audio3.81
#152Mood3.44
#413Graphics3.14
#476Overall3.20
#570Fun2.97
#606Theme3.14
#681Innovation2.76
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Oh god I love that guy in the corner. I'm laughing out loud here, hahaha.

TOOT TOOT!

Sadly I'm currently a bit too sleepy from the LD weekend to figure out the puzzles. I managed to solve the first one, but I'm too dumb for the second. I'll come back to this in a few days when my mind is more clear :)

But that guy in the corner, hahahaha. Good job!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28pm

The guy in the corner is indeed very nice, rather smoothly animated and even funny at times. :D I wish the rest of the game was polished, coherent, etc.
And it wasn't clear to me at first that a train that stopped wasn't automatically derailed, it just stopped. Which is why level 3 seemed like a manic nightmare at first, trying to get the J piece down there. (Even then it was very long)

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32pm

The voice-over is fairly neat, though a bit grating after a while. The animation on that train...operator...person is actually pretty fantastic

Gameplay itself does have a couple issues, though, and the UI could use some extra pampering too:
-In real life, trains without a complete track in front of them either don't move from their station or crash on the way. The behavior in the game isn't very obvious, and on level 2 especially if you don't touch anything when the trains depart you're unable to finish the level.
It would make much more sense to either let the player choose when the trains depart, or to have them wait until a connection is established.
-With how the trains operate, there's nothing stopping the player from building track as the train goes alone, removing track from behind the train and placing it in front. The levels don't seem designed with that in mind, so I'm guessing that's not intentional.

The UI is a bit of a mess. It should be immediately obvious which train is heading to which station, instead of having to crossreference a schedule with info you only get by clicking on the stations, all while a timer is ticking. "Blue train goes to blue station" would've been much more clean.
And having the bottom of the screen tell me to find the "Next" button in the top right corner is just confusing. Keep the 'level end' message and the 'next' button in the same area.

The voice-over is neat, but you're holding the mic way too close to your face, and on top of that the sensitivity is way too high.
Depending on the mic aim anywhere from 2 (headset mic) to 6 (standard handheld dynamic) inches away, and before recording watch the mic levels to make sure they're somewhere in the middle of your meter. You can always boost quiet audio, you can't fix corrupted audio.

The game isn't bad overall, but there's just a lot of tiny things that grate on me far too much.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Aesthetically this is nice, but I really really don't like sliding block puzzles. The whole game does kind of hinge on that. The idea of changing it while the train moves is kinda neat, but because at any time at least 2 blocks are stationary it's impossible to move many of the blocks that you need to, making a frustrating type of puzzle more frustrating.

The guy is pretty awesome.

euske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Gave up on level 5. Sorry, I can't rate this.

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25pm

I've finished it. I like the idea but this game is a lot of clicking.

The man on the bottom right is hilarious, the song is fine too.

Really needs an indicator which train goes where. It wasn't fun to do level 3 again when i figured out i've put them into the wrong stations.

Still I've finished it. :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Haha, great idea, well done!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Great idea, I must say I really like this puzzle styled games! Good job!

tjxx says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:16am

That guy in the corner was awesome! I couldn't tell what he was saying for certain phrases, but some of it was actually funny. Great game!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:45am

There are very difficult levels xD or that's i'm too bad at this kind of games. Anyway, great game.
Dude at corner 10 xD

dollarone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:21am

Thanks for all the comments! I have added a post-compo version with five more levels. Don't worry, you can also skip levels to avoid having to re-play previous ones :)

I also changed level 3, because it wasn't very good.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Great work! I love the dude.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:27pm

This was a very nice entry! I like the audio and the mixing of game mechanics! Nice job!

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I very much disliked the train automatically going. It seems that you can get into an unsolvable state very quickly because you can no longer move that piece. The first board was very tight, with two immovable squares so it was no fun.

The guy in the corner is fun, but since he doesn't talk after you click reset, the countdown for the train to move completes sooner and it becomes too frustrating. I like the idea, but I wish I had more control over when the train started.

Interface says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:16am

TEWT TOOT! Pretty funny commentary. Didn't play past level3 (yet :-)), but good game.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Love the face of that guy! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Q_baWrdQ2o4

blubberquark says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Interesting mix of space-chem and tile shifting. The trains were very slow on my machine. Maybe your train speed depends on the framerate.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:29pm

REally funny commentary.

dollarone says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:20am

Thanks everyone for your comments! I have added a scoreboard (see link above) in case you want to get competitive...

Also fixed some bugs and added colours on the destinations in the develop version (thanks for the suggestion!)

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:49pm

i suck at this kind of game, but its a cool one, love the face of the guy

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:21pm

I was never very good at these games. Still well made.

ReactorScram says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Really good except for the timer, as everyone else said. Level 1 was incredibly hard because resetting gave a 10 second timer. Level 2 was a lot easier. Level 3 looked easy because there was more space to work and I could stop the trains, but I got bored before I could finish it.

dunin says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:04pm

First I was thinking that I just have limited time to construct the good way, and it was cool... Maybe better than shifting after the start...
I don't know where is the good place to rate this funny grey hair "tchou-tchou" guy, so I give five on the mood...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]