Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

System Shift

by edve98 - Compo Entry

Note: people say this doesn't work well on OSX and I'm not sure why. You can still try to compile it.

The goal of this game is to get as bigger score as possible (you get points by killing enemies) and escape alive from a dungeon that is constantly shape shifting. Your score is saved only on your machine so share your highscores in the comments if you want :)

Controls:
Arrows to move around
Numpad to shoot (you shoot to the direction the key is from 5)
Press h to show help (controls/legend)
Press q to close game (Auto lose)

Looks/Legend:
'@' is you
'#' are doors
'Y' are exits (just walk on it to escape)
'O' are enemies
'_' are dead enemies

Things I used:
C++11
My custom text based game engine
Atom text editor

P.s. Windows Cygwin users (this probably won't work on OSX) will have to build the game themselves (it's a single 'make' command)
P.s.s. If you have Windows 10 preview with Linux subsystem, you can run Linux binary "natively".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#306Mood3.15
#541Graphics2.86
#582Innovation2.92
#592Fun2.94
#636Overall3.00
#808Theme2.71

Comments

RedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Is your custom text based game engine, open source? Could others use it before LD? Coz you can't use that otherwise in compo.

edve98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Yes, my engine is open source (on GPL3 license, that's why my game is on GPL3 too) and is hosted on GitHub (so anybody can use it as long as their game is also open sourced with GPL3). I just forgot to add it because I posted this submission really late at night - sorry!

Linver says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Sounds like a nice Old School game!
But I amn't having Linux in my hands at this moment to play and score :'(

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Just uploaded a project .zip where single 'make' command will build and run the game. If you are on Windows you need to have Cygwin installed though (not sure if MinGW would do it). I should have done this long ago but I was kind of busy. Oh well...

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Good game m8 i loved the old classic theme :D

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Nope, sadly mingw-w64 does not work, it lacks proper libraries.

It would be nice if you would make a windows version for us.

Btw, RedPanda is wrong. The rules no longer say that you need to share your engine before the compo.

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Sadly my engine does not support Windows yet - I'll get to work on it pretty soon though. Hopefully I'll finish Windows support until voting ends.

About the rules: it is said "If you’re using an internal library, to participate in the Compo, you will be required to share it." My engine would probably count as "internal library". But I'm not really sure, correct me if I'm wrong.

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Unfortunately I was unable to play "version `GLIBCXX_3.4.21' not found" on Linux Mint

Prudiiarca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Better put some time into exporting the game next time. I really wanted to play it, but honestly am too lazy to deal with compilers and stuff...

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

@Prudiiarca Yeah I know. I'm planning to add Windows support on my engine until voting ends. OS X version is not coming though - I have nowhere to compile it from (and compiling from Linux looks messy, I'd rather get Windows version going).

Also, if you're on OS X and have dev tools already installed all you have to do is run single 'make' command :)

remmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Heh, i liked it!

One complaint: An info how to win would have been nice, at my first run i got bored after a while and then killed myself on purpose, only to see that my score wasnt saved because i lost. Then i looked into the source and saw that it was rng-based (the chance is 1/30 [1/3 for no door, 1/10 for win], so on average you have to walk into 30 rooms to find an end which is quite a bit).

I found a win in the second run, but i think the score/win system isnt optimal, because now the score just says "enemies i killed before i finally found an end" ^^

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

@Upwily huh, I have no idea why would it do that. I'll have to look into that!

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17pm

@remmy thanks for you comment! Yeah, the help page was a bit rushed and I forgot winning conditions. I also wanted to get something more done with score and gameplay but I just ran out of time. I'm thinking about participating with the the same (improved) engine on next LD. I'm sure my next game would be much more enjoyable :P

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Very cool! A simple but intuitive and fun game :-) Could've used some more in-depth mechanics but the nethack style make up for it. Maybe next time add a storyline?

TheCain says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:29pm

One of the very few games in existance that is Linux compatible, but not Windows compatible.

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:02pm

And the first game I get to rate is a Linux-native game running in a terminal... This is so awesome!

The graphics are NetHack-like, lovely. (I actually gave 5 stars for graphics.) The only problem with this game is that I think it needs some fine-tuning: you die too quickly, it would nice to have more health to begin with. Also, it is hard to play on a laptop, where you don't have a numpad (yeah, I have a Num Lock which makes some of the letters to function as numbers, but still hard to sense the directions). Finally, I think it does not stick to the theme very much. Yeah, it's open to interpretation... shapes... shifting... still, by my standard, moving shapes are not enough for "shapeshifting".

But once again, I'd like to emphasize that I found this game lovely, and having a custom text-based game engine is a cool thing, and maybe I will build a more-health version of it for myself – since it's open source, I could do that. ;)

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25pm

I must admit that there isn't much game depth. Most of my time went into making room generation (it's my first time doing somewhat proper procedural generation)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Interesting concept! Deserves a bonus point for the criativity and boldness. Congrats!

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08am

I was going to compile it for windows but i thought better to play it on linux. Nice concept! It remembered me some old school times that those games where popular nice

Walnoot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I got a missing dependency when trying to run the game. The game sounds interesting, but you should've put a bit more time in packaging it :)

ogre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Has build errors on Mac.
src//Graphics.cpp:148:40: error: variable length array of non-POD element type 'std::string' (aka 'basic_string<char, char_traits<char>, allocator<char> >')
std::string textToPrint[terminalSizeX][terminalSizeY];

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:36am

Neat idea! I had a few problems (refresh of terminal was an issue, and I didn't have a numpad)

Regardless, awesome game worked nicely on linux!

gelisam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:41am

I couldn't run the game on OS X. It built and launched properly, but it didn't respond to any key so I couldn't get past the menu.

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:42pm

It's weird that it doesn't work on Mac. It builds and works on Linux and Windows with Cygwin. I'll try to take a look at it!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice concept, sound and artwork.Simple fun game.Try to make a window executable too or online

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I can't run it on Ubuntu 14.4

~/Downloads/System Shift$ ./game
Enemy count: 0
Enemy count: 0
./game: relocation error: ./game: symbol _ZNSt7__cxx1112basic_stringIcSt11char_traitsIcESaIcEEC1EPKc
RKS3_, version GLIBCXX_3.4.21 not defined in file libstdc++.so.6 with link time reference

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nevermind, compiling from source works

RNanoware says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Having never played a terminal-based action game before, I greatly enjoyed the elegance and readability of the interface as well as the responsive controls! I'm not sure how this game fits with the theme, but I commend you for delivering such an entertaining and polished product.

h2n0 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:36am

Why did it take me so long to find a true Linux game, I tip my hat to you for this. I really liked playing this, I lost my self in the game for a good 20 minutes, brilliant little game. The only flaw that I found was that the high score system didn't work, I overlooked this when I rated the game.

srakowski says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:42am

Well, I downloaded cygwin, gcc, make, and did everything just to play this :-). It was very flickery? in cygwin, but I wouldn't hold that against you. The shooting mechanism was really very cool. You've got the seed to an awesome game here if you add some progression/story. Very well done :-)

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

McBeef says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Two positives:

- Nice to see a ASCII based game.
- I think the idea of exploring a "shapeshifting" environment really cool.

One negative:
- In cygwin, I experienced some flickering. I had to mess around with the terminal resolution to reduce it.

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Why no windows version? :(
Read comments and people seem to have problems, so I'm not gonna try messing around with cygwin and stuff

edve98 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:45pm

It's because I didn't have enough time to implement Windows terminal API into my engine. Who was responsible at Microsoft for not supporting ANSI escape codes?? (there's no compiled OS X version because I don't own a Mac or hackintosh)

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:41am

That's a nice little engine you have there! You picked your colors well. It reminds me of the old school text dungeon crawlers!

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:55am

awesome!!! i like it ! :) cool take on the concept xD

nlbi21 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:53pm

lol this remember me dwarf fortress, i love the ascii games. Very nice concept good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]