Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Weaponshift

by The Vall - Jam Entry

Weaponshift is a platformer where your objective is to kill all the skeletons in the forest before the time is up. The time is obtained from the chosen soundcloud audio track. Your weapon shapeshifts into different weapons based on the chosen audio.

Controls:
WASD - To move
Space - To jump/double jump
Left click - To attack

Please only rate the audio based on the game sound effects and not the soundcloud music that we did not create.

Created by:
Adam - Developer
Cory - Lead Developer
Danni - Developer
Emily - Art and Design

Made with HTML5 and JavaScript.
Graphics: Paint.
Sound: Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#392Innovation(Jam)3.24
#486Graphics(Jam)3.43
#534Audio(Jam)2.86
#692Theme(Jam)3.13
#726Mood(Jam)2.86
#740Humor(Jam)1.97
#744Overall(Jam)3.02
#891Fun(Jam)2.67

Comments

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:59pm

A good game, I like the graphics, but the camera was a bit confusing. I liked the soundtrack :D

The Vall says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

We did not create the background music so please rate accordingly.

Jac817 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04am

Great game for ludum dare, art was nice, controlled well, and the theme fit. Good work!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46am

Not bad over all. Some constructive criticism: jumping could use some work, and the hit boxes didn't seem very fair (you can end up taking damage without actually touching a mob). -- I couldn't really tell if the weapons behaved differently or just looked different. -- And the controls were a little annoying. Usually I only want to attack with the mouse if I can also aim with the mouse.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48am

I should mention the idea to use sound cloud for background music was pretty nifty. :-)

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00am

This is by far the most innovative game I have seen in this Ludum dare. At first before I read the instructions I thought that incorporating the music of someone else in your game was a cheap way to make it better, but after reading the description I see how it relates to the core of the game. This idea is the most creative implementation of Shapeshifting from what I have seen. The gameplay si also really fun. You guys did and amazing job with this game!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:17am

Pretty innovative but I think the jumping could be redone and the enemies could have more of an attack. Right now you just kind of run into them and lose health, but they don't attack or anything, but still, great game!

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44am

I really like idea of this game

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51am

Great concept idea. The weapon shapeshift mechanic is solid and once you play the same song a few times, you get into the groove of knowing exactly what weapon will be coming up next. The only inconvenience (a minor one) is the lack of enemy attack animations does make it difficult to avoid the damage meaning you are overly reliant on the health potions.

zzapp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55am

Fun idea but often I couldn't work out what Form I should be using and just used speed to fly through the levels before anything could get me. I enjoyed the concept though and think it could be a pretty nice game with some more polish. Nice job

OrangePop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:59am

Really loved the idea, I would like to see it expanded on someday. It would have been nice to know when your weapon switched ahead of time, but the idea is there. Graphics were simple and cute too. Aside for some control stuff, it's really solid game. I had fun at least!

Draft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09am

Good game. The idea for the soundtrack is a good one. However, the game is a bit slow.

zzapp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14am

Please ignore my other comment, its what I get for having multiple game tabs open. Your game looked and played great, was a real challenge, I wasn't able to find the perfect route to kill all the skeletons. But I did try for about half an hour and enjoyed it, aside from the odd moment of rage from missing a jump. Overall really great job.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Using an hour long sound track has an unfair advantage. :) Jumping coul be bigger, the biggest challange was not to fall from everything. Graphics are nice! :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting idea, but the gameplay itself feels very unpolished, especially on the jumping side. Take a look at interpolation, it helps a lot with making the height of jumps feel proper, or just a simplistic implementation of constant gravity.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:12am

I really liked the "weapon changes based on music" mechanic you got here. I agree that the platforming controls could use a little bit more fluidity. Good job though! :)

Slord6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:20am

I really enjoyed this. Nice graphics, the song integration was really clever and it was challenging enough to be fun.

seththefirst says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:11pm

I cannot play the game.
Keeps asking me for the soundcloud thing, and nothing happens.
Tried random, and with a provided link
Using Safari on OSX

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51am

Innovative and awesome. =]

The Vall says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02am

@seththefirst, I'm not exactly sure what the problem is. The soundcloud request is successfully fired but in safari I get an empty response. I'll have to look into it.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:09am

Great idea to import music from the Soundcloud!

The control mechanism is not intuitive. You have to use arrow keys and the enter key to interact with the menu, but use the mouse and "wsad" keys to play in the level. It is not coherent. According to the game mechanisms, I suggest you can use the keyboard as the only input device.

About the gameplay, I get confused with the jumping for the first couple times. Enemies can damage the player even though they are not very close to the player. I think above mechanisms should be tuned more.

Still a nice entry!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17pm

I liked the idea a lot and the execution, hated having to hit enter for menu options

mar3k says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Interesting game, but the double jumps felt too wonky (and the camera shake on it) also it was hard to hit the enemies without getting hit back many times

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Good game, but the jumping could use some work

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:55pm

It's an interesting concept! Definitely a bit annoying having it just be the same map over 'n over again -- made it kind of drag, especially since some of those jumps were hard. Controls need a LOT of work, though. Confusing and messy.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:40am

The game looks really nice but was a bit hard to play for me... I fell into the spikes at the beginning a few times because you have to jump when you're on the edge of a plaform. I think the player should jump a bit higher or stay a bit longer in the air. That's just my opinion of course, apart from that is was nice and the weapon switching according to the played music is a really original idea! Good job, all of you!

blubberquark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35pm

The controls felt floaty and I have no idea what the different weapons do or how they relate to the music. The attack animation of the player does not have enough weight, and the enemies do not telegraph their attacks.

The jump has the shape of the capital letter A instead of a parabola. The weapon animation has 2 frames and nothing interesting happens on impact.

The music idea sounded promising, but it can't carry the mechanics, level design and game feel all by itself.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:42am

Cool idea of using tracks from soundcloud to change the game, I like it. Nice work on the art too. The camera parallax was a bit janky in that it doesn't scroll left and right, only up and down. Besides that pretty... good.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

The Vall says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:41pm

I have added the game to indiexpo.net, Thanks :)

LeReveur says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:57am

I didn't manage to jump (even with double jump) on certain plateforms, even when I took the speed (?) potions, so I can't finish level. But great graphics and interesting concept anyway, well done. :)

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:33pm

graph seems to be cool but i cannot launch the game :(

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Very very interesting mechanic. Platforming physics could use some work but man what a concept. A+

Aaranos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:25am

I like the art. The audio mechanic felt like it really didn't matter what was playing since the beat would stay the same but the weapon would change.

GaryS says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I like the idea of using the music to dictate time and weapon changes, but I couldn't really see how the changes were related to the music.
As with other comments, I found the enemy attack was a bit arbitrary. The graphics were lovely though and I could see this being a lot of fun with a bit more time spent on it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]