Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Mind of Marlo

by rodobodolfo - Jam Entry

The Mind of Marlo

Marlo Davenport suffers from a condition known as severe polymorphic silly head syndrome. This causes him to randomly Shapeshift into different identities, which he finds quite inconvenient. The doctor suggests he finds things his identities don't like to scare them away.

The Mind of Marlo is a simple point and click adventure where you have to scare away his different identities.

How to play: Scare all identities to win. Have fun!
Full screen Recommended!

//post jam version adds an android build and clearer text and fixes sone typos

Created in 3 days using
*Unity
*Sprite Something
*FlStudio
*Freesound.org
*UnityAdventureFramework (http://pointbleepstudios.xyz/wiki/)

Contact and social stuff:
@poffle
@rodobodolfo
http://pointbleepstudios.xyz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#14Humor(Jam)4.21
#46Theme(Jam)4.16
#78Overall(Jam)3.91
#99Mood(Jam)3.86
#111Fun(Jam)3.73
#158Audio(Jam)3.65
#227Graphics(Jam)3.92
#435Innovation(Jam)3.19

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09am

I like it :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28am

Nice work in only tree days

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:34am

I lol'd as soon as the first shift happened.

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:35am

Lot of great humour and an amazing amount of content for a jam game :)

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32am

pixel arts is good for us ! :) nice works

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:00am

Good content, nice story and a fine use of the theme. I enjoyed it :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03am

I absolutely love this game :) will be coming back to try and finish it tonight for sure!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03am

Made me laugh, Marlo made a cute cat! I loved his backchat too! Good stuff :)

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

Hahahaha!
Nice to see a point&click adventure on LD. )

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Hilarious XD

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14am

Nicely done. A lot of story to this game. The puzzles was a bit too hard for me but I rarely play these types of games,

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Interesting game man, i'm not sure what I should be doing other than observing all of the amazing head :P crazy that you got so much done in just 48 hours. Super productive clearly xD

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Really complete and well-executed! It took me a moment to get the 'logic' of the game down (why can't I get into the shower as the cat, or just dump the salt directly on the slug?) but once I got into your mindset it played really smoothly.

The music and graphics worked great together, but the jokes were sometimes hit and miss. The absurdity of the premise is hilarious; Marlo being really bitter about his wife (for seemingly no reason?) is less so.

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25am

Great game, very humoristic and as soon as shape shift I lol

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:30am

That point and click style made me. Nice work and graphics!

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:16am

This was fun! I ended up getting stuck with the shark though :(

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Brilliant take on the theme, well-rounded and funny game. Great job!! :D

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:27am

Cool idea and great use of it!

SpiritJZL says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:10am

First full mark that I gave

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Quite schyzophrenic but really nice game :) Love the pixel art ! simple and effective

JNI says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Nice story and good content!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I really enjoyed that. Very nicely polished and cute idea for an adventure game. I really enjoyed the writing. Couple of problems of the "frigging adventure games" variety:

Why can I only fill the spray bottle from the bathroom sink?
Why do I need to drink salt water to get rid of the slug instead of just dumping salt on myself?
Why doesn't smoking remove the ice guy?
Why can't I dump salt on the ice guy?
Do you know how hard it is to punch yourself in the face (but at least we had a good clue for that one)?

I still really enjoyed it.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:44pm

@nintendoeats

Thanks for the nice review! Lemme try to answer your questions though most of the answers could easily be cause it's a fringing adventure game! Haha.

1) it was meant to be fillable from both taps, we forgot to change the hotspot for the kitchen.
2) because that would have been too easy :p
3) the cigarettes alone wouldn't melt him, maybe if he had a lighter too...
4) good point, I didn't think of that haha.
5) do you know how hard it is being a shark everyday? I'd punch myself in the face!

Thanks so much for playing and understanding the stupid logic that go hand and hand with these games.

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Nice humorous content. I love the music too. Lovely submit.

ultravioleta says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:52am

Gran juego! genial la idea y el humor

madmarcel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:36am

Love it, well done.

llc86 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:17pm

A nice and fun game, with a very well executed idea, considering the short time available for developing. Well done!

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:41pm

To decide to make a point and click for LD and actually finishing it, is rather impressive. Nice work. I managed to get rid of one of personalities but the cat refused be afraid of water/I couldn't shower it off and ice wouldn't be hair-dried. But that's the sort of issues tend to be part of the point and click genre as a whole and not particular to your game.

Though the effect of how the text was written was cool it was really quite impossible to read while it was writing since the positions kept getting updated.

Other than that a really nice entry.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Love the humor. Amazing game!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:18am

this look really great !

in3orn says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Such a great game! For me the best use of the theme so far. Well done!

And I finally did it :)
https://twitter.com/_krakers/status/726778826605379588

Gamepopper says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Love the music and graphics, reminds me of the classic point 'n click games! Great job!

May 3, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Really liked the graphics. Good job.

puppetmaster says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Wow!! What a great game. I really like the text appearing effect. The music makes the mood! Keep up the great work!

randomhuman says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:57am

Great writing, so funny! GOD DAMN YOU LINDA!!

Password is ROD. What do I win?

axoona says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:42am

I really liked it. nice graphics and audio. Good story and very nice integration of the theme.
I was blocked at some points but fortunately the hints in the comments helped to advance forward.
solid entry, congratulations!

rodobodolfo says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:16am

@randomhuman there is no password! or maybe you discovered just a half of it...

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Nice one I like the plopping and random transformation xD

randomhuman says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:13am

@rodobodolfo He said there was no last letter, but before that he said ROD. I think? Was a while ago I played it. You trying to make me play it through again? ;) I already gave you all of the stars, I have no more stars to give!

Sabina Lis says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Great story, everything was really fun and well done, thanks!

in3orn says ...
Jun 8, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I know it's month after the event, but maybe you'll be happy to hear that you've won my top 10 LD35 summary list :)

http://krk-dev.com/2016/06/08/top-10-of-ld35/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]