Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Matter Realm

by Nomys_Tempar - Compo Entry

Hi there !

For this Ludum Dare I have no time at all to make a proper game, but I manage to find 10 hours to make something, and the way it turns really surprises me...

As usual it's a (very very short) text-based adventure.

This time, and because I had not time to write a lot, I decided to write the less possible and add to the game some images and sounds.


I hope that you will find this strange game intriguing and cool!

On Monday, I make some sounds for the game of my pal LeoM, his game is this way :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=43978

Post-compo version :
- Add a bunch of achievements.
- Add some minor texts corrections.
- Add a proper credit sreen and delete the useless stats screen.
- Fix a loop situation in the game paths.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#86Mood3.69
#312Audio3.03
#410Innovation3.19
#551Humor1.96
#568Theme3.22
#752Overall2.85
#881Graphics1.87
#892Fun2.25

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50am

I didn't get it :/

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:19am

Very abstract and poetic

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37am

Very interesting and unique. I've never seen something like this in a ludum dare game before. Needless to say, it got me very curious about what will happen next after the 'being' shifts. Good work!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:07am

I have no idea what was going on there =]

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10am

Very minimalistic, and it took me some time to understand what was going on, but in the end I really liked it! Especially the audio grew on me; I really like how the music makes a kind of a melody as you shift and carry on.

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Really interesting, I didn't make a lot of sense out of it, at least the first time I played it. But there's definitely something to it. Cool game!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Rating highly on mood and audio, I think a have vague idea of what the story is about but not sure. Pretty interesting.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I wish I could get it. That's very abstract. Maybe a French version :)?

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13am

Not what I expected :O

kopo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03am

That was an interesting experiement even though I might not have understood everything
Feels poetic to me

Danoli3 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46am

The sound effects are amazing! Nice job! I love these experiences!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:09am

Interesting game :) I like your approach on the theme.

LeoM says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35pm

I did not all understand but the sounds makes an very interesting mood on the overall. :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:23am

Interesting text adventure, which seemed to be quite poetic. Liked the writing but did get confused with what was happening and the options that you could choose from.

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Strangely... Beautiful.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:16pm

What is this game? Anyway, looks cool!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:47pm

The concept was so cool, I felt like i was really losing myself in the game in a good way :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:42pm

I love the idea, i didn't really get it, but it was so surreal with the sounds and the images, i enjoyed 'playing' it.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:25pm

A level of poetry to high for me, but a strange challenge that made me try again and again.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:17pm

I'll tell ya all a secret: there is no poetry at all in this game :)

PinkIndian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Very interesting. I am not sure if understood it like you meant but it was really powerful experience.
As a game the music and graphics (colours) created a tight atmosphere which I liked a lot. Also great writing.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:28am

Couldn't get past the audio, which I found very annoying. Didn't play enough to know if there was anything interesting here. The two options being Shift or Carry On for each step of the game made it feel very limited, and it seemed as though Shift was the only thing that carried the story forward. But I didn't stick around too long.

May 6, 2016 @ 12:26pm

I'm unable to play this game, getting the error "404 Not Found https://storage.googleapis.com/itchio/upload2/game/62591/189558" on the screen.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:21pm

It should work, the exact link is : https://nomys-tempar.itch.io/the-matter-realm

terop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:33pm

its pretty strange

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]