Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Werewolf Escape

by BSODDevTeam - Jam Entry

Werewolf Escape is a survival-runner game with delightful story about werewolf and his tough fate.

Here is a story:

Freddy headed the biggest underground methamphetamine operation in modern history. During a covert-ops government raid, he was subjected to a chemical spill, leading to unseen consequences. Freddy was arrested that night. While in prison his body began to develop wolf-like attributes. Through careful deliberation with a prison guard, he was able to obtain a cell phone, plot his escape and break free. He yearns for freedom, and will avoid getting caught at all costs. The police are close behind, and they’re sending reinforcements. The future of Freddy’s life depends on this moment. He must survive.

Controls:
You are the man with a phone use WASD or arrows to dodge cars and crowd that's coming for you. Your main goal is to survive before night comes.
Be cautious or die!

Bugs:
Your feedback is important for us.
Car bug will be fixed!



Credits:
Music by Wes Devore (http://wesdevore.com/)
Team BSOD:
Development stuff by leVch (samigsoft@gmail.com)
Art by Anastasia (Spirituellen Impuls)

Texture Compressing brought to you by Unity!

Coldfix #1
1) Fixed some problems with animations.
2) More accurate collision detection. (we would hope so)
3) Mac and Linux versions are available to download.

Coldfix #2
1) Cool animation in a main menu.
2) Even more accurate colliders.
3) Road is more smooth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#428Audio(Jam)3.09
#476Graphics(Jam)3.44
#707Humor(Jam)2.07
#849Mood(Jam)2.65
#1015Fun(Jam)2.46
#1036Overall(Jam)2.65
#1101Theme(Jam)2.09
#1104Innovation(Jam)1.98

Comments

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Nice game. Beautiful retro artwork.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:55pm

I feel like the game only relates to the theme in that you say he is a werewolf. I was expecting to do something as a werewolf once night arrives but you just win. Nice artwork though.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Really hard game. I could only finish it on my 5th try. And I was playing on easy. The accelerating movement was a killer.

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Absolutely loved the menu music! Art was fantastic as well. Could've used the theme more effectively, though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27pm

:) strange, i dont understand where is the shapeshift... but the game is nice. I played in easy mode :)

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Did you just cheat the theme by calling the main character a werewolf? Yes you did.

Your collision detection is not at all good.

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Nice music and art. But it would have been nice to turn into a werewolf and eat some pedestrians though.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07pm

The art really nails the retro style. Unfortunately the gameplay is only a simple dodgem game.

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

The main menu was beautiful. The cars look great, they reminded me of GTA1. The game was OK, it was quite juttery (the road and pavement jiggle a lot), and it was really hard, even on easy mode! I was hoping something more would happen when the time ran out, like I'd morph into a werewolf and start owning people. The art was the best part of this game.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

cool, reminds the character remains me of a movie, dnt remenmber the name but its a teenwolf that plays basketball and at the end he reveals what he really is. haha, just wanted tosay that :D

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Graphics are nice. Sadly that's all the positives - the collision detection is waaaay off, and it's really difficult, which is a killer (not in a good way) combination. If the controls were tight and the collisions well handled, I'd let it off, but it's just not. I couldn't get past 20 seconds until nightfall :(

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Great artwork but I had issues with colliders. It felt like the colliders for the player were too large and caused me to get hit by things that were not physically touching me. Additionally the controls seemed a bit tough to use due to the acceleration of the player. Besides the story there didn't seem to be much regarding the theme. Other than those small issues great job!

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

I like the sprites retro feel. The gameplay needs refining though.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:19pm

It's very hard, but fun. Unfortunately though, the collisions are weird, so you get hurt when you technically didn't touch anything.

draq22 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Nice graphic, gameplay is a little boring, BUT!... this game have a potential.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:04am

I didn't get the shapeshifting point

Yword says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Interesting story and quite challenging too! Maybe you can add more gameplay elements like transform into Werewolf to attack the objects. Well done!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:08am

Artwork and music is nice! A bit hard though, specially because collision is a bit weird (already addressed) and sometimes there was just no where to run...

Anyways, great work!

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:05pm

The graphics are super nice and the conrols feel just right. The story behind the game is cool, but I would like to see it also in game.
The sound was also well execured, but some improvements on levels (backgroundmusic vs sfx) would be nice .
The collision detection is a little bit unfair for the player, but that could easily be tweaked.
It is a nice game for a gamejam, well done!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:15pm

A nice game with an elaborate backstory! :D Love it :)

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:20pm

This is so retro, and so nice! I had a lot of fun with this, but I just missed a little bit of the theme. Besides that, it's awesome :D

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:10pm

It's nice to see games that have difficulty options. Good job with your background music. ^^

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:57pm

I loved the retro feeling. You could show the story as text in the beginning, so the game would fit into the theme a bit then.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Awesome audio! The game itself doesn't start on Linux, just shows a blank dark blue screen.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:28pm

simple but fun, the retro graphics are really well done, the game plays ok but seems to have a few issues with the car / people spawns, at times i had a bit of sprites overlapping, it's not a big issue but still.

Other than that its a good game :)

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:52am

Well I like your menu screen and music is good too.. along with the art too.. coming to game design a lot could be done.. and to be frank I thought it would be involve me to shift between a werewolf and human.. could have kept it endless with the shape shifting.. but anyway all the best, still a fun game :D

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:36pm

A fun and challenging game that also looks beautiful. Doesn't really have any shapeshifting in it, though.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Kind of wished that you could do more things once you turn into a werewolf but I like the art style a lot (plus I love how the ambient lighting changes as night begins to fall). A pretty fun entry overall.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:16am

good graph but no werewolf action

Yumeito says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Nice game, the music and art is really good. But where is the shapeshifting?

MayankUnreal says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:49pm

The game mechanics pixel graphics mechanics all awesome :)

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Cool game, I especially loved the music in the main menu and the fact that it was getting darker the longer time went on. That made for a good atmosphere. The gameplay was also interesting and actually quite difficult.

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Very good graphics and audio. The werewolf transformation was especially awesome.

However, like a lot of people said already : I expected a bit more in the game. I though something was going to happen once I reached midnight... You could have had a change in gameplay : you morph into a werewolf and start eating humans to regain some health. Then you turn back into a human and have to survive the day one more time : that could be make a more diversed game, and the theme would really fit in the gameplay, not just as an excuse.

The physics were okay. The collisions could be a little reworked.
Maybe you should "see" your character get pushed a little (not too much) once he gets hit, because right now it feels as if he's a ghost that doesn't like going through cars.

The game is playable and enjoyable, so I might have been a little harsh in the previous paragraphs. I just wanted to say some things are missing, and where you could improve.

Good luck for the next ludum dare!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]