Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slimes

by Dsnunes - Compo Entry

combine colors.
Joining balls of the same color make them disappear.

Controls:

WASD - Moves
X - change slime
Z - undo
R - restart

Goal:
leave the map through the door

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Innovation3.35
#340Overall3.35
#351Theme3.53
#435Fun3.18
#505Audio2.58
#512Humor2.08
#530Graphics2.89
#586Mood2.74

Comments

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

The game is cool and fit the topic. Well done!

ekx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Really enjoyed it. Graphics are nice. Could have done with a better explanation.

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Great mechanic!

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Pretty fun. I love the movement sound and cute little art!

Pusty says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Had fun playing it. Wasn't able to get past lvl 5 or something. Nice game!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Cool concept, satisfying sounds and graphics. gj!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Very fun and fulfilling to finish. Loved the simple description too.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

Looks nice and I liked the sounds, nice puzzle game.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47am

clever little game and a great theme idea!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

wooob woooob! I love the sound, great clean concept and nice puzzle gameplay! A++

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Couldn't pass level 5 and I almost feel like it's a bug. Are red+yellow supposed to be prioritized as a color combo over red+blue like that? 'cause that's why I had trouble; I was thinking you need to make a bunch of them purple, then make the next row purple, but that second row ended up orange.

Speaking of which! My only real complaint is that your purple didn't really look very purple, and your orange didn't really look very orange. Normally that wouldn't be such a bad thing, but it matters a lot more in a game about combining colors, and I got confused by it for a second there.

Overall: neat little game mechanic! I liked.

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:35am

@thegoofromspace I used the color palette of the game boy color, also noticed that the secondary colors have gotten a little off. In the future I'll add new levels and a new color palette.
Thanks for the comment!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

Played all 5 levels, that game was really great! :D

crucknuk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Should maybe needed some more easy levels to clean the difficulty curve, or maybe Im just bad a this ^^

Still fun game, good job :)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Enjoyed this game a lot. I don't think it should have more explanation.

knason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Great puzzle game, I love the graphics, very good. Well done!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:49am

Fun game but it deserve more work on leveldesign. Level 3 was really interesting but after that, level 4 and 5 feels like a random filled level. Well I must confess I also did the same when I was working on "rainbow jail" on a previous LD and I regreted it afterward. Still a nice puzzle, congrats !

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:17am

@Benjamin you're right, in the future I will add more elaborate levels.
Thanks for commenting!

StMatn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Nice work!
The color mixing mechanic is nice, but thb I solved the last two levels by try and error rather than thinking ;)

Tijn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:45pm

A clever little puzzle game :) The difficulty curve is rather well done and I thought the concepts were pretty well explained through the levels, which is always nicer than having a separate tutorial. The graphics are simple, but effective, as are the sound effects. It's a bit of a shame there isn't any music, but otherwise very well done!

caelanrp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:50am

Very nice. I like. One of the few puzzle games I've seen that really pulled it off.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:55am

nice entry.

I was a somewhat confused with the mechanics... there was one part in which I pushed the ball up but it joined the one in the left, and it kept doing it. If it was intended, it would be nice to see in-game explanations of this behaviors.

The graphics and audio suited the game well.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:18am

Cool puzzle mechanic, and I like how you let the player experiment in order to figure out how things work. The last 2 levels did cause me to sort of just move around randomly, as they were so overloaded with orbs.
Adjusting the colors a bit could make it easier to memorize how different combinations will act.
Nicely done!

Sean says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Great little puzzle game with an interesting mechanic!

As someone else mentioned I found the colour palette a bit hard to read, especially for the secondary colours, but other than that it was pretty good!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:31am

LOVED IT! Very simple concept that created a lot of depth with your clever level design. This game could have easily have been frustrating, but I always felt like the game was fair and I didn't ever get completely stuck. I had a lot of 'Ah ha!' moments playing this game. Great job! Thank you so much for making it!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Clever little puzzle, well done !

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:44am

Simple and engaging!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Really good puzzlescript game, that last level was really challenging!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Difficult but fun! Good graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]