Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Atlantis Dare

by James Coote - Compo Entry

"The prophecy has been written! The Gods will render the land anew 12 years henceforth! Mountains will crumble, the seas will rise, and new islands will form! We must prepare by building monuments to the Gods that when the reckoning arrives, our prayers may be answered and our glorious cities, fields and mines might be saved!"

Play as the ancient Atlantis civilisation. Build cities, farms, mines, and collect "prayer" points. Every 12 years, the land will shift beneath you. Choose what to save and what to let drown by how you spend your prayer points.

See readme.txt file for more detailed instructions

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#235Innovation3.50
#380Mood3.04
#403Theme3.46
#489Overall3.19
#522Fun3.04

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

played it for a bit and it was pretty interesting - added it to my play again - nice job

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

I love these small strategy games.
When the land mass changes it can really pull the carpet away from under your feet. I really liked the idea of the prayer power used to save tiles.
I had fun playing, and I played for quite a bit.

zugende says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:44pm

an in-game tutorial would be great. But cool graphics! :)

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Tough to learn, but relatively fair.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Hey, I haven't reviewed your game yet (I will soon) but I wanted to let you know that you helped me find a bug. You should have lost when the rebels attacked you but that combat loop wasn't being allowed ot run correctly. Combat is the only way to beat the rebels. You are correct, embezzlement is too easy. A number of players have shown me that.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Interesting idea. I think the pieces are all here for a very zen kind of light strategy game. I did feel like having all of the mountains move away from my mines was just kind of unfair. Still, the structure is sound and htere is room for expansion on this concept.

It would be really nice if the text was bigger. I was getting eyestrain trying to keep track of everything.

Good work!

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Cool strategy game. It would be nice if there were shortcuts to placing things on the map.

James Coote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Thanks for the comments so far!

Strategy games are basically 90% UI - can never spend enough time improving the UI and UX! Tutorial is definitely on the todo list if I get time later in the year to polish it up

@nintendoeats, glad I helped you find the bug. Though I still like to think I won because I was just plain awesome :p

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56am

Game takes some time to learn properly but I like the land shifting mechanic and the idea of using "prayer points" to save tiles.

desmondyeong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47am

I don't know if is a bug. I build in this order. 1 city then 2/3 farms and 2/3 mines depending on which. then it tell me my people scatter by wind and game over.

Then i tried building farm first then the city then mine it works.. is the sequence is important for the one turn?

James Coote says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58am

@desmondyeong yes that's a bug (one I thought I'd fixed :s). The sequence shouldn't matter. Sorry about that

desmondyeong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:41pm

it took me awhile to get to 3 wonders building. however the victory countdown is not running. maybe you would want to check that as well.

desmondyeong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44pm

The value does not go down but the system is counting and victory is shown. the bug is the victory countdown display is not updated. but the system is running it. good strategy game but it is quite tiring to keep pressing to build.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Nice interpretation of the theme. The shifting land and ability to only save some of it is a cool little addition to the overall strategy.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Interesting concept. It starts a bit slow, and maybe there could be more buildings and different land tiles.

madk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Surprisingly enjoyable, but it would have benefited greatly from just a little more complexity. And I was never quite sure how to cope with my big island suddenly becoming a very small one.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Very ambitious compo entry, innovative mechanics, great use of theme. If it were to be expanded, in-game tutorial stuff and a bit more in way of feedback for what's going on could be a next step.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:09am

Very interesting concept. It reminds me of Civilization. I played three times but was not able to build the three wonders. I'm curious to know if the tile generation is completely random or if depends on the player's progress.

Congratulations on your game and thank you for playing ours :)

James Coote says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:03am

@Vidsneeze - The tile generation is mostly random. It doesn't account for the player's actions, but it does take into account the previous lay of the land.

I wrote a slightly rambling explanation of the process here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/17/mountains-will-crumble-seas-will-rise/ (scroll to the last section)

Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:03pm

A little unfair with the land suddenly disappearing under you but otherwise a enjoyable strategy game if not a little hard.

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Interesting strategy game. Nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]