Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Snap & Shift

by Cowa - Compo Entry

A little puzzle platformer where you take photos and shift stuff.

Controls:
Mouse - take photos
WASD (or ZQSD) or Arrows - move player

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#110Innovation3.80
#149Theme3.85
#217Fun3.49
#218Graphics3.59
#218Mood3.30
#265Overall3.44

Comments

qikcik says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Nice :D

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48am

cool game to play. I want to play more levels :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Clever concept, and well executed. Wish there were more levels too play. Well done!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18am

Really nice little concept - I could see this working nicely if fleshed out into a full game - good job! <3

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:21am

Ohh such a nice idea! And finally someone using love2d! I thought I was the only one. :D
some background 'nature' sounds are missing.. then I would have give you 6stars for mood! But anyways awesome game!

Proximal Pyro says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:23am

It was really fun and innevative. I really like the game concept. A bit short but great work!

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:59am

Aww, that made me wish there was more :D Nice pixel graphics too!

akirassasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Nice concept, music would make this game super relaxing!

nicoplv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Good concept ;)

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

awesome game i really liked it a lot, amazing idea and fantastic art!

undefinist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26pm

This is interesting, reminds me of Snapshot. At this stage it's not much of a puzzle though. Nevertheless nice work

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:20pm

I really like this core mechanic, and the graphics are really sweet, but I wish you'd had more time to develop on the ideas! I feel there's a lot of potential here.

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Really cute! Just would like to have seen more of it haha

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:41pm

left a smile on my face +1

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

What a lovley game :D Cool idea with the sapeshifting-gun!

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

The camera is a really cool feature, would love some more levels

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:16pm

A bit short, but it's a very nice idea, well implemented and with great art style!

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06pm

cute graphics!

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Great concept and really polished. Shame about the lack of levels, I was looking forward to playing more.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Nice Game :)

StianTheDark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

No Linux version, can't judge.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

I wanted to play more D:

Very different way, great job.

owyoow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Nice concept, I really enjoyed playing it. Would love to play more levels.

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice concept and very pretty graphics ;) I'd like to see more of that!
(I was just a little confused in the beginning, because I thought you would change the objects with whatever you photographed earlier ;))

foxroxracer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Nice concept, never seen concept before!

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

I'd love to see more levels added to this! I really like the photography concept! Great job.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

cool game, really wanted more level too :P

Drusilla says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Very cute. I hope to see more levels!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:37pm

MOARR Levels! :) Cool game!

SoulBound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03am

Really Fun. It was a little short. The art and the gameplay was amazing.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great job. I really liked the simplistic graphics and idea.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Nice and original, well done!!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19am

Great game, I really liked the idea =) Hope you continue this, improve on it and make new levels =)=)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55pm

The concept is perfect and well executed :o Too bad it's so short and there's no music :/ We all want more obviously!

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

interesting idea, but too short.
Simple but nice art.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25pm

cool and fast! tested on mac, works great

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54pm

This is an amazing entry! Really nice and coherent graphics, specially for a compo entry. I love the idea, a very unique take on the theme. You should consider making it into a full game.

I Löve it :)

keksx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Wish there were more levels! Really great idea and execution.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I really liked the presentation of the game, but it was super duper short. A great deal of fun in those few moments though, really cool concept, great work!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:25pm

I'd like to see this expanded on. The idea is really cool, it's just really short. Graphics were nice.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:24am

That was very cute, but totally needed more levels! Great job though, I love the combination of mechanics!

Dyn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59am

Cute graphics and awesome take on theme.
Should be released on mobiles!
All I can say. :)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:26am

Game's really short but freaking good ! AND THANK YOU YOU MIND ABOUT AZERTY PLAYERS !!!

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Very cute though very short, I really liked it but I think it lacks feedback a bit of polish (visual feedback and all)

Togimaro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Good idea but really to short :(

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:02pm

That was a really cute and cool game. I wish it had more levels to discover since i really liked the concept of it. Nice work!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:01am

So charming! I want to play more

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Dig the idea, lots of potential here.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:49pm

The art is charming even if simple. I like the idea, it is a pity that it is so short!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]