Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Square Peg Round Hole

by RealityCheck - Compo Entry

In "Square Pegs Round Holes" your goal is to put the pegs into the matching holes, and collect points! But there's more to this game than that! When you run out of matching pegs - you can play cards on them to change the shape and make them fit. You can also change their colors to earn some matching color bonuses.

This game was made in 48hrs for Ludum Dare 35. My most complete submission (well, only my second submission for that matter), although I have participated in 4 of the last 5 LD's. I hope y'all will enjoy playing this little game. I am... and I had a blast making it!

PS. Feel free to post your score. I'd be interested to know what you're getting.

Edit:
Web build now available at itch.io:
https://realitycheckgames.itch.io/square-peg-round-hole

Edit:
Did a couple of necessary bug fixes (according to rules, these should be fine to my understanding).

* Fix: You should now be able to play correct color card on shapeshifted peg.
* Fix: You can no longer redraw if you have insufficient points.
* Fix: Redraw button was rendering on top of Game Over screen.
* Fix: Cards should properly change if you click a new card with another selected.

+ Added Mac/OS build. Untested - let me know if there are any problems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#193Innovation3.58
#205Audio3.29
#273Overall3.43
#279Theme3.65
#353Graphics3.30
#366Fun3.28
#370Humor2.48
#440Mood2.98

Comments

KBF123 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Fun game

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Nice game. I was a bit overwhelmed by the interface at the beginning. Actually I didn't think I've figured everything out yet ;-)

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:50pm

I like your interpretation of the theme :D This had me playing for at least 10 min, it is really addicting and so much fun! (Also really frustrating, but that's a good thing!) I didn't notice any game breaking bugs, apart from it not letting me pick up the peg in the beginning sometimes, and somethimes it made the selection noise on loop for like 2sec, but if you look past that, it's a wonderful game :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Pretty fun game. I am terrible at the card bit! haha. I like the strategy of the cards though, it makes the game have more depth. The look and feel is pleasant and enjoyable. Nice work :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:57pm

I need to say that I really tried, but even in the easy difficulty I could not make a good playthrough. I don't know with the game pieces are random and I was not lucky to get good cards but I could not get many points. But very nice use of the theme.

neondx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:57pm

wow i had so much pain playing this game! concept is cool but the cards are not clear enough

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19pm

I was surprised that I enjoyed so much as I did.
When I looked at it I thought it wasn't really my cup of tea, but after playing it for a while it became clear that this was a really nice and polished game with great visuals and gameplay.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30pm

oi, there was a lot to take in at the start of the game and that was the biggest problem, all these cards, all these shapes, but when you understand what everything does (wich takes about 5 minutes) it's a fun little game, and it's functional.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Nice game, I especially like the music.

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:31pm

I liked how complex you made it.. it was a bit confusing at first though..

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Very innovative!

You should have a 'Get new pegs button though'. To speed things up if you don't have any correct pegs or any applicable cards!

Otherwise - I had a fun time!

Hope you had fun making it =)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35pm

I feel like I'm 1 year old with some sort of rare disorder :D Great game!

vethan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

It's pretty fun, but it's really hard to understand what the cards are. I never seemed to have a situation where they'd be useful.

Audio is sweeeeet though!

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

Seeing the tutorial and all that text was really discouraging, but I made it and played the game. I really liked the mechanic of collecting and changing your shapes with cards, that was a lot of fun and unique, never seen anyone do that before.

Great entry!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Nice game

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Thats fun, ilike the way you made a thing that children doo and we take for granted or obvious made it so much more complicated. I did had some problems with cards that didn't work and made me loose some pegs but i had so many (muahahaha). Really Cool =)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Thanks, guys, for all the positive feedback and some constructive criticism.

glaze_96:
As for getting new pegs. No, I think it's good as it is. The idea is to use some strategy and get rid of those hard-to-play cards by discarding or redrawing, and hope for some more useful cards... like the color, clear shape or FREE ones - that can help you out a lot. Expensive, but can keep you from losing the game too quickly.

Garazbolg:
Yeah - I've noticed there's a bug where sometimes you can't play a card that should be played. I think it only affects the "color" cards (those that can be played on any shape, as long as the peg is of that color). I think I messed up somewhere, and the game still checks for a specific shape. I'm doing some tests on that and I'll update the game.

Not sure after reading the rules, but we are allowed to fix minor bugs, so I believe I should be alright to fix that one, and the fact that you can redraw even if you can't afford it (giving you negative points).

The second bug with the redraw was just me forgetting to turn the check for points off when I was doing some testing on the cards. Tired and all :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:42am

Text heavy tutorial does not help learning complex mechanics. That being said once I got the hang of it this was a fun, relaxing game. This is great in a series of HIGH OCTANE EXTREME games to be able to slow down and enjoy some strategy.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36am

Yeah, I regret doing the tutorial that way. I was tired and worried people wouldn't get it, so I definitely went overboard trying to explain everything.

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:55am

Great fun.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Nice graphics, really cool game. Reminded me of a toy I had when I was a child :) I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/V5g1IHvqQQk

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25am

Jupiter_Hadley:

Thanks for showcasing my game. You can place any round peg in any round hole - they don't have to match color. Color is for bonus points only. Cards, however, when colored needs to be played on the same color peg.

It's always good to see other people play your game, and see how they understand it and how they go about their play. Thanks, again!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:03am

I had fun with this, although found it incredibly difficult to find a way to get more than one peg to fit, despite repeated discarding of cards in the hope of having something useful. My final score was 5 on easy mode as a result. :D

With a bit of balancing this could work nicely. Perhaps a multiplayer version would help, where if neither player has a card they can play both can discard without being penalised? All in all good work though, and I really liked the graphics and audio. Well done. :)

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:43am

Nice game. I liked that you could mix card game with puzzles designs. Great job there!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Nice combination of shape hole and card game, cool theme resolution.

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

i spend a couple minutes at the begining undestanding how to play, but once on the road i felt Smart!!! nice game i will show to my son when he wakes up and see what happens :D cheers bro

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:49am

Take my 5 stars ! ;)
The first game, I had totally no idea of what I was doing. But once you get it, you can't stop it. I got 884 points in easy mode. Time to try harder modes now :)
Excellent game. Good way of playing with the theme.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Good idea for a game, loving the card system but it's not pretty clear. A second version of the game would be great!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:50pm

This is really fun! A straightforward, yet challenging set of rules. Audio and graphics define a proper atmosphere.

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:21pm

It's a nice idea, but I wasn't really drawn into the game. Nice sounds, looks quite professional! Good job for 48 hours!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:27pm

fun idea, the card game does take a while to get the hang of.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:49am

The idea is great, but the game is difficult to play.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:18am

childhool feels ;D i like how u combined stuff to create an interesting game mechanics :D good job

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:11am

First round I got stuck with the wrong pieces and no score for cards :(

Second round I kept playing for a while massing score, which makes it easier :D

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Funny game! A bit confused at first but it's ok. Good work!

May 8, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Very fun little game. I found it frustrating when I occasionally found myself stuck waiting (not enough points to redraw, no matching cards or pegs). It might have been bad luck, but it did sometimes feel like there were a few too many cards that only worked on one specific color-shape combo.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:31pm

I really love the concept of this game, but man was it hard! I tried about 5 times on easy and I couldn't get it. Every game I had a hand full of cards I couldn't use, and used all my points to discard cards, to no avail. Still I love the idea, I think there could be another mechanic that adds in an additional way to get/change your cards. I love the concept though and I think it has a ton of potential! Great work. :)

AnaGF says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:06pm

I like the theme, it is funny and interesting. However, it is hard to understand how to play

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]