Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

gunshift

by pixzleone - Compo Entry

to get source just rename the .love to .zip and extract

run - left/right arrows
jump - up arrow
enter doors - down arrow
pause - esc

don't feel bad if you can't beat level 6. it's not easy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#24Fun4.06
#57Theme4.10
#86Overall3.80
#112Humor3.27
#131Innovation3.75
#161Audio3.39
#165Graphics3.71
#200Mood3.33

Comments

adrian09_01 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Pretty cool game. Cool use of the theme. VERY VERY FUN while it lasted. How about more levels and a Steam release? Maybe add more powers, like shooting up and down, or a bomb shot, or enemies? Graphics aren't bad, but that "charm" just isn't there. Audio. Oh my ears. You added a pretty repetitive song. Thanks god that the game was pretty short. Humor - nothing special. Mood - if you want to make it look like retro - you've almost nailed it, only that repetitive song should be swapped for something 8-bit. I recommend learning Famitracker.

nicso says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Cool game. Definitly deserve more levels and some tweaking (pikes's hit box) ;)
Good job

oh and also ... WHERE IS MY CAKE !?

Logun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Great game ! Colisions are harsh but the last level was really cool, want more !

Arg410 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:07pm

I love it. The last level makes me think this could be the next hard game (Like Kaizo Mario or I Wanna Be the Guy) Keep up the great work!!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Nice game! But yeah... that level 6 must be pixel perfect I guess. Good job :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Really well done! the music was pretty repetitive.

also, what the crap man! where's my cake?

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:45pm

I beat the last level, did take a bit, Cool game, would be great to see more levels

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Lovely game. Made it to the end, but couldn't find any of the promised cake :'(((
Had a fun experience instead ;)

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I absolutely loved this! You should continue it afterwards, good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I quite like the unique mechanics, and that gun animation is great. level 6 wasn't THAT difficult really once I figured out how to jump off the first ledge without dying. Very very good effort with much room for expansion (ooh, and gamepad controls).

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

This is the most fun entry I've tried yet, good job!

Pusty says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

The cake is a lie.
Had fun playing it! Nice game :D

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19pm

ok i beat the game and i didnt get cake, so now you get a bad scoring. j/k , ok so my only con with this game was that the colliders were too big, maybe make them smaller and be a little forgiving on your players.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

There was no cake! Nice idea and cool implementation of the theme.

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

That was a really fun idea. I wish there were more levels like the last one (which is a nice complaint to have really). The song got pretty obnoxious though, and the transformation animation felt very slow compared to the speed of the rest of the game. Other than that, loved it. Good job.

panurge says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Fun! I had to quit level 6 before I popped a blood vessel though... :) A really solid entry with some neat mechanics.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Great little entry here. Nice idea.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

I love this game! The colors and music puts you in a good mood for the frustratingly hard but awesome last level, even though the cake was false advertisement it felt great to complete it!

You really should consider continuing the development (and keeping it as hard as the last level!) because as it always is when something great ends - you want more!

Fantastic entry!

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Very fun game! It took me a while, but I managed to beat the last level. Great use of the theme. In fact, I had a pretty similar idea, and I also made a game where you turn into a gun that turns into a bullet, but it is a top-down shooter instead of a platformer.

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

One of my favorites! I like the tight controls and the simple mechanics. Obviously, more levels would be really nice, especially because I think that the mechanics can be combined to create a few interesting situations.

Phaix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:29am

Great! Like the Pixel art... But... The Cake is a Lie! :D

Faulkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:36pm

One of the best entries I've played so far.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Spoiler alert...
The cake is a lie!!!

I was actually very impressed with the mechanics. Slighly smoother movement and pixel perfect collision detection, and this would be a very good game. I had fun all the way through. I'd love to see a newer version with more levels!
Well done!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47pm

OMG, I loved everything in your game. Great pixel art, old school platformers mechanics, very interesting concept with bullet, sounds are amazing too! Great job, I would be happy to see post-LD version with more abilities and levels.

P.S. Last once didn't seem to be that hard, once you get mechanics, it gets pretty easy)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Not bad. The graphics are really nice! Sound's good. The idea is cool, however, the last level is enormously frustrating, especially the jump after the first powerup.

I made it in the end though. You could definitely build a longer game out of this!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Great game too easy for pros like me though :D

Nicely done good job

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Great!

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Love the idea, and the levels are challenging yet rewarding. I'd have liked another gameplay element to complement the bulletshifting to really flesh out the mechanics.
Great work

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:30pm

This game pissed me off so much that I bought a real cake. I won.

g12345 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:43am

Good idea. Nicely done. Haven't beat level 6.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:20pm

lovely looking, fun game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/_jtEhCyw5p8

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Neat! I wish there was more content, the idea is very nice.
Awesome job :)

jonask says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Quite nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]