Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Selkie

by nickavv - Jam Entry

In this game you play as a Selkie mother trying to find fish to feed her pups. When you enter the water you become a seal, and when you go back to land you become a human.
The main concept that I wanted to get done in time for the game jam is seducing a mortal man and then stealing his fish, which I thankfully was able to accomplish.

CONTROLS

ON LAND:
- Left and Right arrow keys: walk
- Space bar: flirt

IN WATER:
- Hold space bar: swim
- Left and Right arrow keys (while swimming): aim swimming

To transform into a seal, just jump into the water. To transform back into a human, jump out of the water and land on land (this may take a few attempts...)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#352Humor(Jam)2.80
#396Audio(Jam)3.15
#574Theme(Jam)3.32
#609Graphics(Jam)3.20
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#777Fun(Jam)2.82
#798Innovation(Jam)2.74
#938Overall(Jam)2.80

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

i literally LOL'ed when she went wohoo..

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

Movement is terrible but all else is good

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05am

Movement was really slow and clunky, but an interesting concept. It just needs alot of polishing up.

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:10am

Movement could be better, felt a bit off center when rotating. But that water, very nice. Music is enjoyable as well.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48am

Pretty good game. i like how he does his flips

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02am

As others have said, I had a hard time with the movement, but the music and water graphics were really enjoyable!

I'd love your thoughts on my game Titos Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12am

Movement was really difficult. If the seal controlled a bit better I think it would be a lot of fun!

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12am

Difficult to play, but it had a really great atmosphere. Wish I could do more in this world.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14am

Physics were wacky, which I could forgive if the movement weren't so slow.

I'll be specific, since I see other people complaining: your top swimming speed as a seal is fine, but you need to walk faster, turn faster, and accelerate faster. It would also be nice if you could turn without holding the swim key down, and if your swimming didn't level off when you let go of the swim key.

I love the way the music changes when you're under water though! That was perfect, and I didn't even know I wanted it. 5 for mood.

One last note: the fish you pick up seem a lot better-made than everything else, which is kinda weird. Graphic detail doesn't have to be high, but it *does* have to be consistent. It just seems like there's something off about the whole thing, with that in the picture. I probably would've liked the graphics more if the fish looked worse. Kind of ironic, but there it is.

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00pm

I like it, but the movement was too slow for me. I love the concept in general though.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:12am

Really cool idea and beautiful and could be fun. The controls were really slow and that took a lot away from this. the music was good too and I like how when the camera went under water, the music sounded "watery".

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17am

A day in the life of a selkie, start out in search for swedish fish candy in the slowest possible manor, attempt to seduce the local fisherman with my coconut boobs and saucy whistling, realize he is probably Jesus as he moonwalks across the surface of the water, realize there are in fact 43 fish, get teleported to meal time at the 42 mark...

Selkies have the oddest lives.

That's quite a bit of modeling for three days...good job.

nickavv says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27am

@all: thanks for all the feedback, I'll definitely sink more of my effort into.. you know.. playability next time around :)

@Nolocality: I'm really curious how you got him to go onto the water, I did model the fish after swedish fish, I did undercount how many fish there were but then 42 is a nice number so I decided to leave it, and it is quite a bit of modeling and I probably should have spent more of my time elsewhere haha

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:03am

Interesting idea but it's super hard to control the character... Nice music.

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:32pm

8\10

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:09pm

The idea is really nice, it reminded me a bit of Ecco the Dolphin. The movement is way too slow and shaky though... You could try and fix that for a post LD version.

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:41pm

@nickavv yeah I did the same lol...put the majority of my time into modeling and had to cut quite a bit.

I'm not 100% sure how I got the fisherman to walk backwards across the surface of the water but it may be due how I went under the fishing raft and got on-board from the far end, I walked up to him collecting the fish and when I got close I whistled at him, he then moved back towards my selkie nest across the water surface while doing a forward walking animation.

It cracked me up :) ...hopefully that helps you being able to reproduce this if it was a glitch/bug.

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38am

Nice game, difficult to play though. I too made an underwater game, its monochrome pixel art though, check it out.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:21am

Not sure if it was just running slow, but moving around was really difficult. Love the concept, and you definitely got a couple laughs from me.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:41am

Takes a while to get used to but was good :D

Ibzy says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:27am

Slow/sluggish movement and the seal has an awful turning circle.

Other than that, its great. Nice fun little concept, good use of the theme, and the textures are amazing. The water and the sea bed look ace.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]