Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The monster and the mouse

by albinobat - Compo Entry

You are an assassin mouse with the ability to transform into whatever you kill. You have been sent on a mission to defeat the monster king who has taken control of the forest creatures.

*********************

Controls:
Arrow keys - move
Space - attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#205Humor2.95
#220Innovation3.54
#224Theme3.73
#435Audio2.77
#444Mood2.97
#448Graphics3.05
#454Overall3.23
#487Fun3.10

Comments

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37am

I liked the idea, but the game was so hard I could only get to the bird stage! :D

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48am

Kinda hard... But nice!

albinobat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27am

tip if you are having trouble with difficulty : always back up a bit after hitting an enemy and they wont be able to hurt you :)

justinooncx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Haha! This exceeded my expectations! Very well designed in terms of the mechanics, as killing a weaker enemy made you just as weak... And you surrounded the final boss with all the small enemies, too! Jolly good show!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53am

nice idea and game but like the other comments it was a bit hard!!
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Sergioct says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:56am

Really dificult game !!! poor rat. Good idea.

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:58am

Haha, "killed by Rhino as a bear". :-D Great game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:23pm

The idea is so good, hard and interesting. Good one!!

bablawn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:02am

Sound track was RAD! Although enemies were hard to kill :(

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18am

Pretty difficult. But it's a blast to play. Graphics were definitely above average. Audio pretty good too. Really innovative idea that fits the theme PERFECTLY. Pretty well executed as well. Like I said the difficulty needs some tweaking. (DARN YOU PORCUPINES!) But the gameplay is solid, wonderful work.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:32am

Nice game!
tip: speed is more important than attack

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:06am

Why a mouse? :) Either way, fun and superbly challenging.

argowen says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:51am

Mouse killed by everything, then randomly mouse managed to kill the snake and subsequently killed by a duck. It's like Dark Souls of nature.

Exolun says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:43am

Once I learned to kite the enemies I defeated each enemy up until the Monster King, who two-shotted me even as an elephant (lol). Great concept, and pretty fun to work your way up.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:20am

This was dead hard. Mostly because you could make almost no mistake, had to get close without knowing how close and had to successfully get several hits in a row. I managed to become a snake though after trying a couple of times. It would have been nice to know the range of the attack too. I didn't try it with a controller (if that works), but that might make it much easier. Nice game though. Liked how the sizes of the hearts told you about their level.

May 2, 2016 @ 2:07am

I like a lot of the subtle details.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:10am

I was with you on Twitch when they tested your game and mine (BrainRequired) - an epic moment. Snake animation is one of my favorites. Your project is really fun and well done. A great entry ++

OnlySlightly says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:12am

Super fun! I loved seeing the powers of each animal. It was difficult and easy to get killed but that just made me plan my attack carefully. And being an alpaca but accidentally changing into a chicken made for some humorous moments. Thank you so much for making this!

Dunric says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:44am

Difficult but really cool game! Nice job!!

neondx says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:53am

damn ugly, but damn fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]