Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

"Wizard Prototype" - Unfinished-

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

=THIS ISN'T FINISHED.=

This is my unfinished jam game, "Wizard Prototype". More on the reason why it's unfinished below. For now, here are the controls:

ARROWS = MOVE
SHIFT = JUMP
CONTROL = ATTACK
ENTER = PAUSE, SELECT SPELL SCREEN

-WHAT'S IN THE GAME-
First 4 Worlds Finished
All Level Types Completed
All Tile and Sprite Work
All Morph Spells
Enemies
3 Bosses

-WHAT'S MISSING-
Final World (Dark Castle) (Tile/Sprite Work Complete)(Gimmicks Complete)
Toy Factory's Boss (Sprite work completed. Basic AI completed)
Final Boss (Form 1 and 2) (Sprite Work Completed)
Music (1/2 Completed)
Title Screen and Cut scenes (Not started)

-Story behind unfinished release-
It pains me to upload something not finished but I really don't fancy continuing on. Today I received some awful news and I just felt I couldn't carry on with developing it. I guess with the lack of sleep, sheer emotion and current mood I just felt if I did, it wouldn't be the quality I was aiming at.

I'd say roughly 75% of the game is complete before I had to pull the plug on the project. I have no idea if I ever intend on completing it, it all depends if people want to finish playing it. You can't progress any further from World 4 as the boss door has been removed along with the warp door to World 5.

Anyway if people enjoy this game enough then I will finish it at a later date.

Really sorry to have to upload an unfinished game :(

-Joel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Fun(Jam)4.00
#33Overall(Jam)4.06
#45Graphics(Jam)4.44
#90Mood(Jam)3.88
#91Theme(Jam)4.00
#160Humor(Jam)3.39
#542Innovation(Jam)3.06
#2304Coolness0%

Comments

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:06am

One of the best games i played until now. I really like how you used the theme here and the game feels really polished.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08am

Very fun. The graphics are beautiful. Great work! Love Loveļ¼

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51am

Amazing content. Would have been cool to see the code for this one, sad. :-( More importantly, the feel of the game was a bit lacking for the jam level. Also, the game wasn't very innovative for the java level either. I would have liked it to feel more juicy. Much, much better than I could do, but I'm just speaking in general. It's missing the juice.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

The nice visual style, levels and some of the enemies remind me of 'Kirby's adventure' from NES, which was one of my favorite games once. Some parts of the gameplay look similar to ones from 'Megaman'. Reminds me a lot about the old days, even though it looks slightly *too* similar to those old games: sky city, cannons, birds and some enemies, landscape style from Kirby, health bar and menu screen from megaman. Could be polished a bit more, but anyway nice work on the style!


The only thing in visuals that I would change is flickering sprites. At least I would lower flickering frequency to 10-30 hz, if not remove this effect completely.

The character speech felt redundant, but that's ok.

What I didn't like is that the game felt slightly repetitive and definitely less challenging than needed. I would make the gameplay more fast-paced. Maybe, Maybe make enemies die from a single shot? Or make them take large knockback on hit? Faster and more long-range weapon maybe?

Anyway, good job overall, this looks good even if it's unfinished!

gillenew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32pm

this game was very solid, congratulations for this great gameplay!

I took about 40 minutes playing and enjoyed the attention to the animations, the atmosphere of the overall game and especially the shiftshape, just think it could be better input keys, to the gameplay become more fluid :)

Yword says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Really impressive and fun, with lots of contents and very nice pixel arts!

YinYin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

I'll not delve into the bugs I encountered (respawn death loops, transitions not covering the whole screen, fish glitching out of bounds) and instead get some thoughts out on things I reckon would not have changed under ideal circumstances :|

It was a bit sad that the first/original form is entirely outclassed by the first spell (the bunny). It jumps higher and shoots further. Not sure if I'm missing something, but even the turnip seemed to have more value as a joke and hint at the boss.

I think you could've done more with up/down inputs. Not necessarily adding anything new and complicated, but for example using down for the aerial mole action and thus allowing the ground attack in the air. I can understand if that was deliberate to tie the mole controls closer to the ground, but why can't I dig down while standing in that case? I got stuck for a while on the first digging room, because digging down wasn't very intuitive. And it makes the mole rather unpleasant to play even though the attack is so powerful.

I wish you would've used some environmental effect like wind (horizontal gravity on flying characters) or introduced the bird spell after the no flying levels. Anything besides sings forbidding it, while bird enemies keep merrily flying at your face.

Also I got all spells besides the one below the turnip. Is that one implemented?

Overall sadly not the snappy kirby controls I hoped for with the visuals (no perceivable ground acceleration, no short/high jumps, no collision interactions - I love how kirby can squish bump into walls). The character switching via menu to adjust to situations was quite tedious. Don't think I'm interested in seeing it finished as it lacks flair setting it apart from kirby (maybe it's the missing music?). It didn't hook me like ourobos.

I'd say once again the scope was too large and you put way more focus on quantity over quality. Reserve a whole day for testing and polish maybe? One good world and boss can be way more satisfying than a long chain of both.

Nothing for you to test back this time :c I focused on learning mechanim and creating satisfying platformer physics. Achieved these goals, but got no actual content done.

Ourson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

i was in the 4rth main world, then i was killed by fire and a bug occured where i died as soon as i respawned again and again. Frustrating... =(. (also, the double jump on the bunny sometimes doesn't work. I think it's when you double jump too fast... mabe... That was a bit frustrating aswell).

A solid entry nontheless. Congratulations.

Millefey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Wow, I'm seriously impressed by how much content there is in this game even if you say it's not completed.. I think it's a feat. Sure it's easy and perhaps could've had a steeper learning curve/progression but it's very polished and looks great! The sprites were absolutely adorable.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Very polished entry, it really feels like an NES type of game, the forms are pretty fun to use and the kirby inspired world looks great.

even though you say it's unfinnished, what is there is quality.

So well done to you ! :)

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:40pm

The content in the game is really great, and the transformations are interesting. I found myself using the Bunny for a long time though, it seemed overpowered. The puzzles could have been more interesting. You could have focused on less transformations and made the puzzles revolving their abilities more difficult. Bosses were fun. Overall it's a good game.

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:42pm

A fun game, didn't feel like an unfinished game. Good job!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:43am

For an unfinished game, this performs much better than most of the finished games I've seen! The Kirby vibe was really strongly developed (with the bit of Megaman thrown in too, of course, and there were tons of content for the time period.

Sorry to hear life has thrown you a curveball, and you have my best wishes going forward!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:56am

Really impressive for being just a prototype, you still managed to get a lot in there (even bosses!)! I really like the kirby style this game has going for it, nice work!
One suggestion is to use another button than shift as it triggers the sticky-key popup on windows.
Other than that, awesome work! :)

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:05am

Beautiful and charming game and a ton of content, even for a jam entry.

The gameplay feels super solid and the enemies have interesting patterns.

Well done!

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:48pm

This was really great. It felt like a SMS or NES era platformer, the art and controls were great. The levels weren't terribly challenging, but were well designed and I enjoyed playing them. This feels like a nice platformer for very young gamers. I hope you finish it.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:05am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]