Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Goons

by gogo199432 - Jam Entry

Oh no, there are so many Goons! And they are all coming for you! There is only one thing you can do obviously. Turn them into various weapons of mass-destruction such as...an egg?!

'Goons' is a survival-like arena game, where you have to kill all the enemies that spawn from various points on the map. To kill them, use your environment to your advantage! With glorious ragdoll physics, this game is a real piece of pure fun for your casual needs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#179Humor(Jam)3.33
#216Fun(Jam)3.52
#354Mood(Jam)3.34
#381Overall(Jam)3.40
#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#428Audio(Jam)3.09
#455Innovation(Jam)3.17
#759Theme(Jam)3.04

Comments

Kirzo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:57am

Level 3 is kinda laggy D=

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14am

Pure fun indeed! I played all 3 levels and had a blast. Nice art, sound and gameplay, very satisfying experience. My favourite object to use was the fan, I think. :)

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57am

Nice game! Level 3 needs some optimization graphics-wise and it would also be great if the gun was full-auto. :)

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Ragdolls <3

runvs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:07am

Hi there,
very well executed!
70MB download size is large, but it was worth it. The core mechanics are well executed and it is quite satisfyingto crush a bunch of enemies with a big car *diabolic laughter*. The graphics style is very nice.
The Music is well done, though the shooting sound is a little bit weak.
The idea to use the color of the shirts as a health bar is brilliant and works great, even in crowded levels.
I had some minor graphic glitches in level 2, but they disappeared again.
All in all: nice game!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:05am

10\10

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:27am

Great game, the idea of turning enemies into objects was a lot of fun. The visual style was very clear and consistent, but I had some tiny frame rate issues on the 3rd stage.

Yetikatt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Love the mechanic, great job in the time available. I especially liked using the balloons on people. I would've liked to be able to to use the gun a a fully automatic weapon though.

kurobunty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Very addictive and strong performance for Ludumdare.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Pure fun. A solid entry. I like aesthetic which seems to me really weird and funny. Well done - thumbs up (as you said) ++

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really good!
The game should be developed in future, because it could be a hit!
Good mechanics, good gameplay, laggy third level :D
But still a very good game, pure fun

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:29am

Thank you guys for all the comments, it really means a lot. I'm glad you enjoyed it

01101101 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Well done, cool concept although I find it kinda hard to be aware of all that's going on around the player. Some sounds to notify us of an approaching enemy would be nice, for example.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:30am

I love this low polygon goons game. Great concept and graphics.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:46am

Cool concept and good work on the level design :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:11am

Someone loves to play with physics :D, Nice game, love the art direction

mar3k says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:12am

Amazing game, had so much fun playing it. The levels were challenging, idea was unique and the graphics were cool as well. Good job! (also I like the Wilhelm scream in there, gotta put it in some of my future games as well)

Been says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:29am

First time I played this game I was surprised at how generic the gameplay was, especially considering the work that went into the graphics and audio. Then I realised that I could change enemies into the objects I was picking up. The game became pretty damn awesome after that.

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Many different objects with different characteristics (liked how I could shoot the extinguisher for extra damages), multiple and varied levels and kind of enemies... Fun indeed!

matiz982 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Great low-poly art

Louspirit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:32pm

I really liked the game. Nice idea and graphics. How did you manage to make so many levels and 3D models ?!

siczecheg says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:11pm

very cool thematic style of graphics

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:24am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Freank, after trying to upload my game to that site, I can confidently say that it is a joke. There is size limitation on both describtion (380 characters?! this isnt twitter...) and game size, despite using an external link. So as much as it pains me to say, please download the game from here.

To everybody else, I'm glad you all are enjoying our little game. Keep the comments coming, it keeps us content creators fed and watered :D

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Fun game, nice take on the theme. I would have liked an intro level or tutorial because I had to restart several times until I understood the mechanics.
Good job!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Very nice game!

It's clever how ennemies turn to red when they loose life and how they die. I also like smashing goons when i transform them in cars, or others interactive objetcs when goons are shapeshifted. The player's death animation is pretty cool but i do not think it belongs in this game, it does not feel quite like a death and it took me some time to understand it.

The difficulty curve is quite good, and without running it seems impossible. The imprecision of the gun was a little frustrating but it would be so easy with a precise gun.

Level 3 was a little laggy with my laptop but it's playable.

blohod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:51am

Nice game, I made a video like you asked which is available here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpoMa-RxFa0

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:43am

This guy needs a better gun. The ninja guy was crazy.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:57pm

nice graphics and the game is working well

General says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:19am

Made a video review for you: https://youtu.be/cov2SmkSm4E

RyanNielson says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:05am

Neat game, I really like the graphics and the shape shifting mechanics. They work super well, and you can set up some interesting traps with them. I wish the gun was a little more accurate though, but maybe it's like that to make the player use the shapeshifting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]