Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

I Want My Dragon

by Bobsleigh - Jam Entry

Hey everyone! This LD, we were a team of 8 people (4 programmers, 2 artists, 1 musician and a cook!!!) trying our hand at our second game ever.

I Want My Dragon is a platformer with a twist. You have to collect items to feed to your pet in order to transform him into a dragon. The pet you get depends on what pet you have and what you feed him. Getting some specific pets will unlock other levels where you can get other items. Try all the combinations for a special achievement!

CONTROLS:

Left CTRL = Shoot your gun
SpaceBar = Jump/Select option
Esc/BackSpace = Pause

The game was made in Python using Pygame. The release is a single .exe without any dependencies, so anyone on Windows should be able to run it. If any of you get errors, please let us know, we'll fix it ASAP. A MacOSX version is also available.

NOTE: Many people reported Avast antivirus giving them trouble running our game. Disabling it before running the game works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Humor(Jam)2.65
#624Audio(Jam)2.53
#827Mood(Jam)2.70
#960Theme(Jam)2.63
#1044Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1062Graphics(Jam)2.05
#1064Overall(Jam)2.61
#1091Fun(Jam)2.25
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

HeliosStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:59am

I liked the playful mood and the graphics were appealing in their own way, but the fact that collision detection was very loose and that I had to run each time back to the level and start all over was a deal breaker, it seems the poor bunny will have to go hungry

mooncalf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12am

I had trouble playing because the fixed-size window extends off the bottom of my screen. I am not able to resize the window to see the lowest part of the game.

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I like the western tunes and the setting. I think some animations (even really basic ones) would make this feel much better.

morrilet says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:32am

I got the bunny a tail, but that was as far as I could get. It seems as though the collider on the player is huge, because I got hit from objects that seemed nowhere near me. That part was frustrating, but other than that I really enjoyed the premise.

arturgiardi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34am

The game has a cool and different theme, I spent some time playing (but did not get the dragon ... =P). To improve the game I would improve the art and the collision with the bottles thrown by enemies

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:06am

Surprisingly difficult platformer, but decent level design, even if it starts off slightly difficult.

I really didn't like the controls, though, only using arrow keys for movement is awkward nowadays.

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:57am

Would be more fun without 1 hit kills. Did not make it far.

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:53pm

I went to the sheriff twice, collected the pies. The rabbit was still hungry. Is it a bug?

jdmazz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Good job. You finished a game!

May 7, 2016 @ 6:40pm

I downloaded the OS/X version onto a macbook air and unzipped it but couldn't get it to run .. pity!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]