Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Catacombs

by The Walking Kiwi - Jam Entry

Hey! Well, our fourth time participating in LD, we worked pretty hard and I think we improved compared to last time.

Anyways, Space Catacombs is a shoot em up, dungeon crawler we made from scratch, every part of it was done from nothing, including the music and art.
We obviously couldn't finish it and incorporate EVERYTHING we wanted to, but it really looks like a finished product (considering it was made for a jam).

The game has a total of three enemies, and infinite rooms that are generated with a code that takes how many enemies you've killed and makes a difficulty out of it (I'm sorry if it doesn't make sense). After every 10 rooms you have a special room that generates somthing a bit more challenging than usual (kinda like a miniboss). We also included some cool power ups!

But what does this have to do with shapeshifting? Well, the spaceship you pilot can change shape by collecting power ups (also color c:), and your playstyle changes with it.

We know there are some bugs (sometimes whith colisions, sometimes with power ups) and if you find any, please do tell since we plan on going on with this game up to a point where you can call it a full sized game.

So here is a small to do list so you get an idea of what we see as the potential of our game:
*Fixing bugs
*Make everything look pretty :3
+Adding a story mode
+Adding Bosses
+Adding Enemies
+Adding Shapes
+Adding Power Ups
+Making a cool logo

Controls:
W/A/S/D: Movement
J: Fire


Thanks for coming by, do comment and rate! Maybe we'll see your game in return.

Credits:

Game design:
Guillermo Zolessi
Camilo Gallardo
Ernesto Argenzio

Art:
Guillermo Zolessi

Code:
Guillermo Zolessi
Camilo Gallardo

Music:
Sebastián Casullo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#445Audio(Jam)3.05
#686Humor(Jam)2.13
#766Graphics(Jam)2.95
#817Overall(Jam)2.95
#849Mood(Jam)2.65
#876Fun(Jam)2.68
#945Innovation(Jam)2.49
#1017Theme(Jam)2.49

Comments

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

Please upload a web or Mac version of the game

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53am

A promising concept with potential! I would love to see it developed further and improved upon in the future.

wrecker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54am

It promises! Nice work!

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44am

Good work! I just wish you would start with your spaceship rotated towards the next room, so that you can jump straight to action after restarting.

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41pm

I like very much. Maybe the controls are a bit difficult but the overall is great.

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:46pm

It looks really interesting. An old school game :)

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Good principe and game design, but the controls would have been better if you could shoot with space bar i think !
It could be cool not to force the fullscreen in my opinion.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I'd like to see what were you will go with this !

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Cool game. I like the sound effects, but some of the projectiles can be a bit hard to see.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Controls were a little hard to use but the music is catchy!

crucknuk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24am

Really old school gmaeplay I like it :)

Maybe the game is a bit too hard tho ^^

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:14pm

I had lots of fun playing it! Has potential. Dont really see where the theme is in this, though.
The controls were a bit difficult, especially since you could only shoot forward. Without the "smoothing" of the turning it would perhaps been better.
I felt like the game was mostly getting lucky and taking out as much as possible when you enter a new room, since u have a grand opportunity then because they are all clumped up.
I actually preferred flying/moving backwards and shooting (rather than forward)! :)
I'm not sure but it looked to me like the enemies could kill each other? Something made the death sound when i wasnt shooting atleast!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Yep, they can kill each other, we thought it could help a bit. Thanks for all the comments! We are actually fizing everything and making the game better, even adding the story mode, so thanks for the feedback!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:40am

Promising gameplay. I think you should definitely do a post compo version

Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Really fun! Nice graphics, sound and great ideia with the difficult progression.

Great work guys! :D

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Peew! Peew! Liked the health bar above the player, RTS-style.

schizoid2k says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:48am

Great start... continue development!

Tex Killer says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Congratulations on finishing the game! :)
It does look like a finished product, but I have some suggestions:
1) It is fine to have momentum on the movement (having the ship slowly stopping after the player releases the key), but momentum on the angle is just strange. It is very hard to get to the angle I want because I have to time the release of the turning key and consider the angular momentum.
2) More than once I've unconsciously "interpreted" the ship backwards, as if the back were the front. That might just be me, though.

Thanks for rating my game! I've found and fixed some bugs that might've lead to crashes before, so you can try it again if you want to! Regardless, thank you for the feedback, and good luck with the game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]