Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

An Unfinished Journey

by LeoM - Jam Entry

Controls : Left and right keys for move, QWERT and Up keys for the shapeshift.

About the game :

This is "An unfinished journey", but I'm speaking about the game but my own journey on this Ludum Dare...
I worked solo and planed to many things that I couldn't manage to finish all of this in time, here is the unfinished result, can be played but missing most of the gameplay elements and the narrative system. Hope I'll be able to add all of this soon.


You are playing a female "sea lard", an creature from the Adventure Time universe, yeah, this was supposed to be a kind of fan game.

So, you are playing the sea lard and you are traveling the world, with some reference to a few episode, especially the S06e20, "Jack the brick" in which we see a sea lard helping some beavers and a rabbit to make a shelter. (I recreate the scene at the end of my level. ;) )
And the hero watch and tell that this sea lard will maybe write a novel of her adventure. This game was supposed to be based on this fictive novel the the sea lard could have write.

Most of the graphics elements are here (not finalized but here), was supposed to have a few gameplay interaction with the others characters (crabs, kids, beavers) but I didn't manage to make them work correctly in time...
And also the voice over telling the story of the book is missing. I try to do an substitute voice but even this I didn't succeed. ><

Well, lot of work, and even if its not finished I'm pretty happy of what I did.

I hope I'll be able to work more on it soon and make a nice post jam version.

Hope you will enjoy even if it's not finished. ;)

Note : Audio have been made by Nomys Tempar, thanks to him for the help ( you can check his game on this LD here : http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=44631 )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#344Humor(Jam)2.82
#449Audio(Jam)3.04
#502Graphics(Jam)3.40
#647Mood(Jam)2.96
#896Theme(Jam)2.79
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#904Fun(Jam)2.65
#967Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Just saw an episode about sea lard. Nice game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Didn't read the description before playing, was constantly thinking about adventure time without knowing why :D

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53pm

The art design is cool.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Can't wait to see this become A Finished Journey! :o)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Its total fun playing it. Make it large game. more levels and more assets ! Keep it up

Nolocality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:00am

Nice entry.

That's a hefty amount of modeling and animating to do in 3 days. With enough time I bet you could throw together one heck of a game.

Good show there, finished or not.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:27am

Nicely created 3D models in such a short span.Nice game its fun playing it

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:39am

Seems like something you could expand on definitely :D

terop says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:48pm

amazing models

Adipson says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Hahaha trop fort l'humour et le graphisme ! bravo :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]