Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftSword

by SkullPixel - Compo Entry

Fight through hordes of monsters with your trusty shapeshifting sword!

AUDIO WARNING.

Instructions//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Up and Down arrow keys to move
M to mute music and sound
1, 2, & 3 to switch weapons
Space to attack

Made in 48 hours!

*Changelog*
-Fixed blocking w/ shield then falling off the edge due to enemy count
-Fixed sword range
-Swapped enemy health on the flying and bone enemies(can switch back if really needed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Graphics3.84
#250Audio3.17
#282Fun3.39
#436Overall3.25
#448Mood2.96
#481Humor2.17
#621Innovation2.87
#658Theme3.06
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:51am

Very tight animation for the shifting weapons.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:53am

takes a bit to get used to controls.. overall fun game!
well done. and btw.. dam you for those big blue guys!!!
:)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55am

We had similar ideas! I like it, but the sword felt very under-powered and once they were in melee range I usually died swiftly.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

mismatched pixel art resolutions :(
i like the shifting weapon art

pixlark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

The graphics are great - one thing I didn't like about them though was the sword animation. I think a wide swing would have been better than a thrust.

The gameplay itself is pretty fun, though it seemed like the bow was 100x better than the sword.

Overall great game - good job!

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:00am

Really great graphics and animation. No complaints.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:24am

It's a neat little gem. I thought that the sword was a bit weak, at least compared to the bow in most situations.

wumpus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:54am

I too, really really liked the little morphing animations of the weapons. My highest score was 15 but I ended up resorting to just continually firing arrows as the sword seemed too slow and the shield often got me killed.

I think with a bit of tweaking on the speeds and strength of the weapons this could be really addictive.

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:11am

I love the animations, really nice work. The shield seemed a little glitchy to me? I used it and got pushed off the back of the screen, and then no more level loaded in front of me. Sound effects are fitting too, nice job!

Griz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:02pm

I like how the hero can be invulnerable while using the shield in exchange for missing the points for killing, which is a neat game mechanic.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27am

Cute graphics, nice animations, and a solid mechanic! Quite fun indeed!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Nice animation on the weapon shape shifting. Sword is a bit useless since you die almost instantly when something is in melee range.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Fun game overall, I'd keep the time without enemies on screen at a minimum but that's just a minor complaint. Nice job!

nozzergaming says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Took a while to get used to the controls, but overall nice game! I could spam the bow for a while but other than that, I loved the idea!!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Great art, but the sword felt really underpowered.

Trickman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12am

This is a neat idea and an overall good job, but you should probably have made it so the chracter is invulnerable for a few seconds after getting hit.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35am

Simple and effective mechanic! I like it!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35am

And the graphics style... I love it! :) Good work!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:08pm

The overall game is nice and polished, and the transforming weapon is fun, though i ended up using the bow a lot, which may be why i died so quickly and often :P I like the art, simple yet effective, good job!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Great Idea and awesome graphics! :)

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:26am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Nice pixel art. Mostly used the bow and the columns need to be more noticeable then again it could just me my old tired eyes lol.

torcado says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:58am

interesting game! the walls are visually hard to read, but the rest of the art is good. i like the switching animations.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Cool game, nice gameplay mechanic and nice pixel art

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:47am

nice game here - graphics are nice and the controls seem tight - great jon

GodsBoss says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:46am

Using the sword was insta-death for me (when enemies were around), the bow worked much better. Maybe instead of losing the game when you run into one of the blocks, you should only lose a life?

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:14am

great graphics but a bit hard

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]