Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Soothsayer Simulator 2016

by iceburg7 - Compo Entry

I wanted to do something interesting with audio, and so I present to you "Soothsayer Simulator 2016."

It is very simple, and I would be interested in hearing how you think that these elements could be used in something slightly larger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.71
Innovation4.62
Coolness64%
#4Mood4.44
#65Overall3.88
#304Fun3.36
#311Humor2.65
#611Theme3.13
#807Graphics2.32

Comments

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:51am

I love the way it plays with expectations of interaction and the song was beautifully haunting. I stayed for the whole thing.

BigBrother says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58am

This is great, it messes with different types of using the controls, and it really is overall super innovated.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26am

Well, that was definitely different. I expected one thing, and got something I wasn't expecting.

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08pm

The coookie cutter name doesn't betray the real subtle nature of this game, its a real gem.

It does what it sets out to do very eloquently and I was hooked at the twist.

Really great job!

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Damn this is wonderful! So beautiful and moving. Thank you for making it!

Saiodin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30pm

I was recently thinking about games for blind people that would just use sound in 3D space to communicate gameplay. This entry is another example of making games differently. I was really surprised when the voice over changed the whole game concept up.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:13am

Very well done. Unexpected! It gives me a few game ideas!

I love the song by the way.

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:13am

Really, really innovative. Love it.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20am

I was surprised and pleased with this one. Minimalist, and yet everything it needed to be. So glad I played through to the end :)

remmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

This is so beautiful <3
Had to listen two times to that song.

HeliosStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49am

really enjoyed this one, a very original take on shapeshifting, and a very clean feel, also
What do you mean by slightly larger? a dozen minutes? an hour?
I mean the perspective shift won't work multiple times, and you can't have too long an uninteresting buildup, so you'll either have to mix it up a bit or go for the short format.
Still I think you should go for it, it should at the very least be an interesting concept.

saucygames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04am

Well done, very well done. Left me on the edge of my seat in a very calm and relaxed way lol. Was pleasantly surprised. gg beautiful

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Wow, this is a beautiful little game. Cleverest use of theme I've seen so far with the changing dialogue, and a good message too.

iendsl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really fantastic. My favorite of LD so far. Once i clicked an audio before another was finished and they both played over each other and it sounded really neat. Maybe there is something there to do.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Interesting experience, not exactly a game, but it's always good to experiment. Nice job. :)

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:21pm

what an interesting experience... i also stuck around until the end of the song, it was very nice.

Naca says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Glad to see a new unique experience. Beautiful song, I also listened to it until the end.

mrStrings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:46pm

This is good. Like, really good.

I just love interactive storytelling - new, original ways to translate ideas and invoke emotions in the player. And you, sir, did that with conviction and subtlety.

By the way:
This is one of the pieces that makes me wonder if they are really a game...
For now, I think I prefer the broader term "experience", since it doesn't invoke in the player one clear objective to go for. On the other hand, the real objective is to explore - my favorite aspect of the medium.

I wonder what do you think about that topic.

Also, I'm really interested (and currently developing) some "experiences" of my own.
So thanks for being one inspiration :)

Oh, and... just in case you want to check my entry, it's on my teammate's account. You can try WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:09pm

clever! I really liked it. Yes, maybe it is more an "experience" than a game, but I think it can be used as a resource for a game.

celia14 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Wow! The moment where the voice diverges is brilliant. I'm always interested in multiple perspectives, and audio vs written word is such an interesting, innovative way to do that. I really like how you set up the player's expectations with the first run-through, and then with the voice matching the text - it really drives the twist home when it happens. Awesome work, I'd love to see any further expansions on the idea you come up with.

Ourson says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:13am

you know, during these jams i'm always focusing on visual experience and appealing gameplay for my games. Yours is so simple, so elegant, so... strong in a way... Today i learned a lesson from you sir. Thank you.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:49am

Obviously 5 for audio haha. I also like the way text was presented in digestible bits.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:35pm

I'm gonna be honest here and say that I feel stupid.. I can't find anything in the bottom right corner of the black box. What am I doing wrong? I really want to experience this game fully because I already love it! And I want to here the song that everyone keeps mentioning!
Bookmarked and waiting for reply from you.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Very original take on the theme. I like entries aiming to explore unexpected means for storytelling or mechanics.

Nicely done!

May 6, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very interesting, I love when a game surprises you.

Jakob37 says ...
May 12, 2016 @ 7:38pm

This was really, really nice. It really captured a particular kind of ambiance. Impressive, and something I hope to see in more games. (And yes, it would be very interesting to see this concept in a larger context, perhaps with more visual support :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]