Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Quad Vector vs the Quantum Cats

by madmarcel - Jam Entry

Quad Vector vs the Quantum Cats
===============================
Help Quad Vector reach Polygon City before morning by collecting the shapes with his polygon powered Pontiac.

Watch out for those dastardly shape shifting quantum cats!

W or up arrow - Gas! Vrooom!
A + D or arrow keys - steering wheel
B - Beep beep!

Gear stick can be moved with mouse.

F - fullscreen
M - mute

Radio works, adjust volume with left dial, change tracks by clicking on display.

Music tracks by
===
Antriksh Bali - http://www.antrikshbali.com/
Kiersten Redmyer - https://soundcloud.com/kiersten-redmyer
Lindar Greenwood and Alex Baker - http://thumpypuppy.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.43
#226Audio(Jam)3.48
#338Innovation(Jam)3.29
#477Mood(Jam)3.18
#519Graphics(Jam)3.38
#608Fun(Jam)3.04
#616Overall(Jam)3.17
#692Theme(Jam)3.13
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09am

I really dig the mechanics in this game! Some complex controlling. The dog is hilarious! Great flat style driving simulation!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:00am

LOL! Shape shifting quantum cats. What more can I ask? Nice work!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22am

I like the cat's faceļ¼--

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21am

This was a really fun game, the car mechanics worked really well. Good job!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34am

I like the game and the concept, only real complaint is the gear stick is a bit fiddly to move at times

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:37am

Nice driving! I wasnt very good at changing the gears quick enough. Might be easier if I could just click the gear I wanted to be in. A novel idea though and the cat is a nightmare!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39am

Those cats genuinely freaked me out a couple of times! Great presentation and interesting gameplay. The driving controls seemed slightly odd (turning at low speeds causes the car to stop?) but once I got the hang of it I did pretty well. Good work!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Haha this cat scares the ... out of me... I had the headphone on and the sound was loud from my latest playlist shuffeling... great idea with changing the gears to collect the little gizmos... grabbing the cat is a funny thiung... good job I was laughing about myself of failing to do it right... I had two beers with some frieds and I was not able to steer the car in a good way... Don't drink and drive! Good job!

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:45pm

The cat was cool, but it would have been nice to get rid of it. And I don't know about the steering, pretty soon it just didn't seem to react to my input very much. Other than those things though, an interesting driving concept!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:14am

Cool concept, 6 different shapes immediately felt a bit to hard though.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

That felonious feline is the stuff of nightmares! =)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:28pm

I like the mechanics a lot but it felt pretty awkward using the mouse to change gear especially on a laptop trackpad (Would have preferred key mappings instead).

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Wow, the graphics are amazing.

I would add some shortcuts in the keyboard to select the gears (it was really difficult to drive, change the gear and dodge those nasty/adorable cats at the same time :) ).

Well done!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:02am

For a game that has solid presentation, the controls were unrefined mess. The fact that turning would very quickly reduce your vehicle to a halt was frequently annoying, especially when trying to collect shapes at the opposite end of the road. The gear-shift allocated to the mouse, AND requiring natural gear-shift movement, was terrible when I needed to also focus on the road at the same time.

I was not able to discern an end state to the game, which meant that the cats felt like mere distractions, and the shape collecting was pointless ways to increase points. In other words, I felt the game was without objective.

To be honest, I do genuinely there's something interesting going along with the game. The need to switch the car state while collecting things is interesting. When the car does move to full speed, collecting shapes actually becomes fun. But because of how disjointed the controls feel, I felt like I was fighting the game the entire way through.

May 3, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Fun, funny game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

PixlWalkr says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:03am

Great concept. It's a nice driving game! good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]