Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Flames and Shifting

by Jordan - Compo Entry

Shapeshift, shoot lasers, and get your revenge! After an evil witch has turned you into a pig, you must travel through her dungeon shape shifting and becoming more powerful so you can defeat the witch and get your revenge.

Made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 35. Theme - "Shapeshift"

Tools:

Programming: Java, LibGDX, Eclipse

Art: Gimp

Sound: Sfxr

Music: Otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#161Graphics3.72
#345Audio2.96
#399Mood3.02
#452Humor2.24
#557Overall3.11
#603Innovation2.89
#636Theme3.09
#686Fun2.80

Comments

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

Big fan of LibGDX. Nice game!

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21am

Very nice game. Graphics were good and the audio was nice.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21am

Heh, I can't get enough of LibGDX. Thank you!

I would have ported it to web as LibGDX can do, but I ran out of submission time at the end. Oh well.

Daws says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Nice little game! Graphics are very pretty

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

Big fan of LibGDX. It looks like a nice game, but when trying to run I got a unsupportedclassversion error. I'm still on java 7, and for whatever reason couldn't get to 8. Maybe you should target 7, or even 6.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

Oh, I forgot that I had targeted 8. I'll switch it to 7 asap.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

LibGDX - nice! I see that you've implemented lots of features. The game's interesting, but more polishing & debuging would be worth it. Nice entry.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:19am

@ViiX64 Thank you! If you happen to drop back here, may I ask what you mean by debugging? I didn't notice any bugs through all the playing I did.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:23am

Cool.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

I'm getting a crash on startup too :( looks really good though

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:46am

@biscuitdough Getting a Java 7 version up in a bit. Hopefully this doesn't affect many people in the meantime. Thank you :)

jessiexjquine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:53am

beautiful game, the way the different colors of lighting compliment the flame-based weapons and it's just gorgeous...though the shadows and particle spam can make it hard to see the player character sometimes.

it seemed like there may have been a bug with the physics that caused moving characters to have their shots go...nowhere? maybe collide with themselves? it could also be me misunderstanding the controls.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:18am

Sounds were a little bit annoying, and controls slow, but I liked the graphics and music.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19am

Updated the build to Java 7. Thank you for the ratings, everyone. I'll try to play all your games.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45am

Great job. I really love the lighting and particles.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17am

Like the look of the game overall, but the player seems to always be in the dark. Controls are mushy. Can't figure out what the rules are for when I can hurt enemies and when my shots go nowhere or just go through them.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:36am

Looks good. Liked the music and the sounds!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06am

Very Good game movement is a little bit hard.

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:37pm

The game looks very nice. But controls aren't that responsive. Nice submit !!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20am

I really liked it! I spent about 10 min on it! Congratz!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:14am

Excellent visual effect! I like the lighting.

Gtron says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:50am

The left and right movement was difficult to work with and fought me a lot of the time. The visuals were absolutely gorgeous though, and the music was pleasant.

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:19am

Interesting game, tho I have to complain about the physics. Moving feels like it's on ice entirely, jumping is just hovering (increasing on the y axis) as opposed to being anything and you can avoid killing all monsters as it will grab the "level" of the last one you kill. And the room is usually too dark.

The visuals and music and core idea are okay, but the physics kind of ruin it a bit for me.

Good entry nonetheless!

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:54am

The idea is nice, but the controls ruin all of it. :( Hovering should have been a jump and left-right movement should have been much more responsive. Shots disappear in mid-air and everything is too dark.
But I managed to do a pacifist run (boss kill doesn't count) by simply not knowing that shooting exists :D Good stuff.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Nice lighting effects! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:04am

Nice one i enjoyeded.Thing i have seen posts of it while was being made :)

ceosol says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:43pm

I didn't really see any shapeshifting other than the pumpkin getting smaller at the end.

The particle effects were really nice. My only real complaint is the game started lagging a ton around the pumpkin fight.

RNanoware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:35pm

The graphical and audio design is superb; I'm very impressed! As far as gameplay goes, however, it took me a little bit to figure out the lasers due to all the particle effects. Great job overall though!

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Cool game

Somnium says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:48am

Nice, another LibGDX game :)

I loved the graphics and effects, although the game was a bit too dark sometimes :)

The audio and graphics combined to create an excellent mood.

virgate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:31am

Pretty nice graphics and audio!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:03am

I couldn't actually find the file to start the game. 8<

Omiya Games says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:25pm

I would have liked it if the collision area of the fireballs were more clear, and hover gave me aerial controls. As of right now, I did not know what hit me, what the range of my attack is, and why one thing got hit. It's a bit of a fun killer if one doesn't know the effectiveness of their action or the enemy's action.

The lighting was really good, though, and I did manage to defeat Fred the witch.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:48am

I couldn't hear the sounds so I wont rate you on audio.
The graphics were very nice, but the controls weren't tight enough for my taste. and the boss battle was kind of confusing. I couldn't dodge very well because I could only move up and down, but I still won.
On the topic of theme, the shapeshifting was entirely pointless. It seemed like an afterthought.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]