Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RPS (no graphics)

by Javabot - Compo Entry

Play this game. No real instructions except the ones on level one. Explore, experiment, if something doesn't work try something else. You are rock, you are paper, you are scissors and you should use them all well. Also if the game doesn't seem to load first try just refresh the page.

(pls play on firefox, chrome seems to have issues!)
(If you cannot seem to play at all, just download it and play the html file?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Theme3.59
#330Humor2.58
#372Innovation3.25
#401Mood3.00
#460Overall3.22
#494Fun3.09
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Just got a black screen, also if you're entered for compo you need to give the source code

Javabot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

" Also if the game doesn't seem to load first try just refresh the page. "

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:48pm

I can't seem to make it load. Just a black screen no matter how many times I refresh (I'm on Chrome if that helps)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:19pm

I just get a black screen (orange square briefly flashes up). Something is happening behind the scenes as I can hear sound effects when I press keys

Javabot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

oh no... please play this on firefox!

wboqm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01am

I finished the game. Quite interesting and enjoyable/rewarding to try figure out how it worked. I think sound is very necessary, which I didn't realize at first, as it gives that extra feedback to the player. The simple graphical style helps to avoid getting confused and suits the gameplay. Still not 100% sure I have it all figured out correctly though...

Javabot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

haha,if you finished it you figured it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49am

Very rewarding to complete this game. Great job!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:40pm

I must admit i haven't finished it but some of the puzzles are relly interesting and surprising. Although it feels very good to figure out the mechanics yourself, a bit more signs telling you what your abilities are would help getting into the game. Also somme of the parameters were a bit punishing : i would have liked putting the accent more on puzzle solving than some of the precise platforming phases.

Also, a counter telling you how far you've gone would make progress more satisfying.

James Coote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Is a neat little game, I felt the lack of instructions frustrating; more than the reward of eventually figuring it out. I can see you didn't want to give the game away necessarily, but I very nearly gave up after a minute of literally not being able to see/do anything.

In the end, I gave up about 5 or 6 levels in after I got stuck. (the long strip one with red at the bottom, then a layer of purple and a layer of orange at the top)

AdamsMcCall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Nice concept, it fits the theme, but there wasn't any text so I had a hard time knowing what to do at first.

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:17pm

It was fun figuring out how the level can be beaten with the different abilities. very nice. However i think you could have gotten more out of this mechanic by not limiting what forms can be used on some of the levels. I felt like i was being punished for attempting to solve the levels by thinking outside the box. I would have hoped there also being levels requiring all three forms to be used to beat them. Most of these levels only need you to switch once. The control scheme is a bit confusing too. I still had fun with this game tough. I suppose i just wanted there to be more harder levels.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

I tried to play this on both chrome and firefox. On both, an orange cube flashed up then nothing.

Javabot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33pm

I agree, I am not the best level designer, and that means not the best puzzle game. If you guys want you can totally take my source and try make your on levels.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Even after multiple refreshes I couldn't get the game running. :(

Yword says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:46am

I just finished it! Quite difficult to figure out, maybe you can provide some hints in the description. Really interesting and some puzzles are quite clever too! Besides, I think it will be better if player can control the movement with the directional keys too. Well done!

paquinn says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:54am

Same, just a black screen

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:32am

Kinda took me time to figure it out :) but when i played it, nice concept :) good job

Movixio says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:22am

It is really great, I loved it, too bad the restart key is close from the shapeshift key (azerty keyboard making it harder too). Except that the concept is novative and fun, graphics and sounds are simple and effective, well done.

rodobodolfo says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:27pm

good idea! i found the choice controls really difficult for me though...
Also took me a few restarts of black screen until i was able to play it.
good job!

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:00pm

could not play on any browser :(
tested with chrome and IE

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Kinda neat concept, but it took me a while to figure out what everything did.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]