Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

This Way To Cave Party

by davidcmcdonald - Compo Entry

THIS WAY TO CAVE PARTY
A super simple linear puzzle game with a strong mood element.

Move with Left + Right
Grow & Shrink with Up + Down
Jump with Space Bar

Check Out The Post-Moretem HERE: https://youtu.be/B3UlgKBwaw0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#138Humor3.15
#174Audio3.35
#306Mood3.15
#514Theme3.29
#568Graphics2.80
#570Fun2.97
#585Innovation2.91
#591Overall3.06

Comments

indiana says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Was AWESOME! HAD A BLAST!Just wanted more content!

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

I like this kind of games, please more content!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Game was pretty short but you had the start of some puzzle mechanics in it.

Jac817 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

I loved the grow and shrink mechanic. Much different than what most people interpreted the theme as.

bagface says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

I really liked how the strength and jump height changed when you change size. Too bad there wasn't more content =\. Good work!

TriSquare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

It was cool, just want more content.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52am

Way to go, Dave! Fun and playable always gets the job done! The ability to poke fun at yourself as a developer goes a long way! Great job!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53am

best ending! great game! also awesome voice, i could easily play a game with you narrating

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53am

could not get the web version to load, had to use the windows version. over all the game is pretty good. i understand that time is a issue. good luck in the future, hope to see this worked on more.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54am

jajajajajaja is a cool idea, the shrinking worm, I hope you've learned a lot, the music is really good

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26am

Nice game! The only thing I'm going to mention is that collision wasn't precise enough in some parts (like the stairs).

ScottP says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35am

I love how changing the worm's size changes how well it can jump. The sounds and music were great! I also like the simple directions in the game and how unobtrusive they were.

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:11am

really cool idea and mechanics! I especially liked the lights and the mood, want more levels :)

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16am

I liked the puzzle mechanics! Overall, awesome job!

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:25am

The narration at the end was a pleasant surprise, great idea!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:05pm

nice ! Colliding bugs but cool stuff out there :)

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:32am

Coming to party by foot

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:40am

Really nice game. Good job!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:05am

Great solid entry!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:07am

Nice little puzzle platformer with cute graphics and sound and nice atmosphere.

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:35am

There's no party? We've been had! Haha, nicely done, David: it was short, but swell!

lumscum says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:41am

Really loved the audio, and the message you left at the end!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:42am

Cute game, and there could be some interesting mechanics to expand on here. Like others said, wish there were more levels ;)

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Haha, very funny, well done. Needs some polishing obviously, but that and a few more levels and it would have been perfect.
Well done.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:36pm

it was almost graphic , i like the little think used as a light

May 2, 2016 @ 11:15am

Fun game and I liked the size change mechanic. Thanks for the audio at the end, was a nice touch.

Molpe says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Nice game! I liked the changing size thing x) there could be more levels or puzzles, it was fun x)

I've made a playthrough, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7J6U773Oku4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]