Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift

by CliffracerX - Jam Entry

Shift is a physics puzzler I made for Ludum Dare 35, and struggled to upload within the deadline. THIRTY SECONDS.

Anyway, the game is about shifting between dimensions, solving puzzles, and reaching the exit in each chamber. Testing elements include the "Probable Open Rift To All Space" (PORTAL), buttons, boxes, and shape-shifting matter fields that change boxes of the same color into giant mobile stairways.

The goal of the game is simple: Reach the exit in each test. To do so, you'll be solving puzzles, shifting between dimensions using the PORTALs, and probably using boxes to press buttons, turn into other objects, or possibly just glitching your way to the exit because of the physics engine, which IS a valid solution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Audio(Jam)3.32
#519Innovation(Jam)3.08
#527Graphics(Jam)3.36
#529Humor(Jam)2.47
#647Mood(Jam)2.96
#652Overall(Jam)3.12
#674Fun(Jam)2.96
#956Theme(Jam)2.64
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

Mekuri says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:43am

Very interesting game. I liked the graphics, and the puzzle style was great. I loved what you did with the music for the different "dimensions?".
I would've liked to have holding the boxes to be toggle-able, rather than having to hold down the button, it got a bit frustrating after a while, but maybe that's just me :-)
It seemed that there was issues with the mouse capturing. (I played Win64 Version). Sometimes it was visible, albeit locked while playing- And sometimes when entering the menu, it was locked, so I had to alt tab in and out to release it again, just wanted to mention it :-)
Oh, and one more thing- I would've loved if I could invert the mouse- I am one of those guys :P
All in all I found this game to be pretty good. Great job!

pokipsy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Core mechanics are very good, I would have liked more challenging levels achieving full potential of those puzzle mechanics. A great entry overall !

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:56am

Great idea with the music and the portals. Made it much easier to remember where you are. I wish I could carry boxes or if the drag/drop would apply a bit more force though. Good entry. :)

ConorOD says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Nice concept, potential to be a really interesting puzzle game. Boxes had a mind of their own at times though!

pogo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:54pm

I found the stairs really hard to move around - they got stuck in the wall at one point and I had to restart. Good idea to make each dimension unique with music and art changes.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:15am

Movement and collisions need tweaking. I am sure you know that though. Music, made the experience less enjoyable than I think it would have been without it. I did not make it past the first level. The box I had been nudging along reset after I went into a portal without it. Then I got mad and quit.

FengeR says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:43am

Love the way each dimension got a really unique style with the music "swap".
However I found a bit hard to move cubes with the mouse with the carry system you used and it lacks feedback when you put a cube on a button.
Also there are some bugs with the mouse display and lock but nothing really disturbing about the game.
Finally, I found that game to be pretty good and interesting. So, good job to you! ;)

chocobyte says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Very interesting concept. The movement was a bit unprecise especially at the platformer level and at one time I got stuck between platforms and could not escape.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:56am

The UI could use some more attention, but the game is good.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Really interesting game. But very confusing and buggy. After the first level my cursor got stuck and I couldn't select the next level. Pressing esc didn't help.

Just needs tons of polish all around.

General says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Video: https://youtu.be/cfSQhiXUWqg
It's more a place-shift, although, the dimension-travelling is interesting

Ironhead says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:16pm

This game is great! I really liked the puzzles and the way you implemented the theme. Loved the way the music would warp with each different area. It added a great change in mood for each one. The boxes felt cumbersome to move around and that got a bit frustrating. They felt too heavy. Overall a really fun and different entry! Great job!

davor10105 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:15pm

loved it, stunning graphics!

AnaGF says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Cool game, graphics are neat. However, I felt as if the framerate was a bit low.
About the gameplay, it is rather interesting! I like how you made the puzzles. Only issue I see it is that It would have been nice if grabbing objects had some sort of feedback, like a glowing aura, for example.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]