Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Quadra

by bjorn - Jam Entry

A game about colorful spinny blocks. I think it's pretty fun and I think you will too. Give it a go.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#69Fun(Jam)3.85
#97Overall(Jam)3.85
#135Innovation(Jam)3.69
#207Humor(Jam)3.23
#232Mood(Jam)3.54
#246Graphics(Jam)3.88
#674Theme(Jam)3.16

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14am

Great game. Good game feel, nice unique mechanic. Would make a great mobile game. Nice touch with the faces on the blocks. Diamonds too.

May 2, 2016 @ 4:40am

One of the best I've seen this jam. Well done.

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:28am

This was such much fun to play!

jdmazz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:17pm

I enjoyed the game. It's good. I don't think it really pushed any innovation in the theme department, though I do think the theme was kinda crap honestly. As a game, it's good.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Looks and sounds excellent, and was fun to while away some minutes matching shape colours - the way it ramps up is a nice touch.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Awesome game! Neat idea and was really run to play!

Skaz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Best entry I tried so far. Hooked me well. You have a really nice concept here!

4161

phi says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Woah, trippy tetris... This is really messing with my mind. :P

I love the idea, it's fun to play, also because of the great visuals and smooth feeling. Great music, too. Overall awesome, but quite challenging at first. Maybe it would be a little less overwhelming if all the blocks fell in the same direction...

RttStudio says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Really great game, some minor bugs, but nothing game breaking :) really nice audio and really addicting :)

Tsevion says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:17am

Really slick. Good feel, good graphics, catchy music, and addictive gameplay. Also a bit brain-breaking.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:23am

Nice game good concept and nice to play :)
try our game, plz:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

bradur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:43pm

A very good puzzle with a good amount of polish. Sounds & graphics work well with the rigid controls. Good job!

May 8, 2016 @ 1:23am

Super fun and deep, love the style, oozes personality!

davidB says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:17pm

You're right, pretty fun game. well made. One of my favorite.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:12am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Sep 6, 2016 @ 6:44am

It was great to see how the game has evolved since the Ludum Dare version. Such an interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]