Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Holy Order of the Inquisition

by MattThePie - Compo Entry

My 3rd Ludum Dare and despite being too ambitious as always I've basically finished a game, though it certainly could use some more polish!

Holy Order of the Inquisition is a top-down action-RPG where you play a sword-wielding, gun-toting inquisitor sent to a small village to hunt down the werewolves in its midst. Talk to the villagers and work out who the shapeshifters are - don't execute too many innocents! Kill all werewolves to win.

WASD controls. E is interact, up and down arrows and Enter will get through menus (no mouse input), Q is fire pistol, Space slash sword and holding ctrl will block.

This turned out to be a LOT more content creation than I expected, I've been working flat out all weekend despite the actual code being fairly basic. It also has some bugs that will crash it that I can't deal with quickly, one is when trying to change resolution. Please give me any feedback or let me know any issues.

This was written in C#, using my 2D engine CoakEngine, which in turn uses OpenTK to allow calling OpenGL 4 commands in nice managed C#. I've been developing the engine along with my handsome buddy Haighstrom for a few years now and Ludum Dare is a great oppurtunity to test it!

Thanks and I hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Mood3.73
#146Overall3.67
#184Graphics3.67
#224Theme3.73
#225Fun3.47
#403Innovation3.20
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Cool little game. Keep up the good work!

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Neat concept. I wanted to choose all of the screaming accusations, even when I knew the person wasn't a werewolf!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Cool game! Murdered more than a few innocent people for looking me crossways. Good work!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

Nice little game. Great job! Liked the graphics.

kwmx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43pm

nicely done.

Faulkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Very nice!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:39am

Fun game, really a good touch on the graphics

jdmazz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Man, this is impressive. Good stuff. It's actually the first game on here I played that actually had werewolves, which blows my mind. Music was really excellent! Great mood! Really 5-stars there. You did a ton.

SUNFURY says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Cant run the game :(

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Aesthetic is interesing. Nice little game. Well done ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]