Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodshifter

by mar3k - Compo Entry

Bloodshifter is a card game with unique mechanics one of which is ability to shapeshift ally minions by giving the HP or attack from the king.

Game contains 22 cards and 3 pre-built decks (chosen at random) and deck builder.

After launching the game there is a simple tutorial picture, please take your time and read it, as it will make it easier for you.

Deck rules:
Deck can contain as much copies as you want
There has to be from 25-45 cards
You start with 4 and can hold up to 7 cards in your hand

Game mechanics:
You win when enemy king is bellow 1HP
To attack enemy king you have to move your minions from your board side to enemy side
King can attack at the start of his turn once (and doesn't take any DMG)
You can shift HP from you king to your minion as many times as is the current turn number
You can shift attack from your king to minions as many times as you want
You can, but don't have to draw a card at the start of your turn (it costs you 1 energy)

Known bugs - NOTE: these bugs were fixed in post compo version:
- Stable portal doesn't reduce the cost of the card
- After finishing first game the next one will be against Feodric (your king)

POST COMPO:
- Stable portal fixed
- After finishing a game the next one will be against CardBot
- "JJ - VapeBot's" effect fades away

Game was built completely in Java (custom engine) on my stream (https://www.twitch.tv/mar3k_e3) and I will upload timelapse of it soon to my YT (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYCsrAV6qFGTh2Lp4nUkLDQ)

Thank you for playing and rating!

TIME LAPSE OF MY GAME MAKING PROCESS - https://youtu.be/OccUW1qgw0s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#35Graphics4.26
#78Overall3.83
#96Mood3.66
#178Humor3.04
#194Fun3.53
#364Innovation3.26
#740Theme2.90

Comments

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21pm

I've never seen an 8-bit card game before!

Really nice balance in the way you've made this - focusing on the mechanics of the card game while giving a very convincing digital finish. An incredible amount of assets for a compo entry aswell, big well done!

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Wow, this is extremelly amazing, technically it's great, you have good art, the file is tiny, the gameplay is ok, it got lots of content. It's only missing sound, but still 5/5 as you asked not to judge that.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Wow, that's a LOT of content for a game made by 1 person in 48 hours, great job!

Would love to play a polished version, keep it up!

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:50pm

I liked the art style.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Brilliant game! Using standard deck both I and enemy ran out of cards but overall it's schocking how many assets can be created by single person. Gj!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03am

Great art, as always! The tutorial screen was a bit confusing and cluttered, but other than that gameplay was really cool and had some awesome mechanics!

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Very well done! Nice graphics and a lot of content.

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

This game is absolutely amazing!!!!

The art style is wonderful, the performance of the game is incredible, I feel like Im playing something like YuGiOH

Only wish is that there was music, and that the tutorial wasnt so hard to understand, one frame of instruction is a bit bombarding, try to spread it out.

AMAZING :D (And it runs as a .jar)

Can I use this engine for a school project.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Wow...this is an amazing card game man... Nice artwork and gamedesign... great job.

ployer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

awesome game, well done!

mar3k says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Kudanman, thank you and yes, sure, you can use it ;)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Really good game, especially for a compo. Card games require a lot of content, which is impressive for a 2 day game.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Great game! is impressive how you basically created a 8-bit version of hearthstone with different rules, some bugs (like the stable portal effec), great job overall!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Wow, card games! Nice!

The Vall says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:01am

You don't see many card games posted to ludum dare, this was very refreshing to play. Using cards was intuitive which made it easy to start playing. I think adding sound effects for when you play cards would make the game much more satisfying for the player.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:19am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

mar3k says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:39am

@Freank, sure thing, would also love to see it when it comes out ;)

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:39am

The amount of work you've done in such a short time is awesome

Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Wow ! Truely impressive, this 48 hours solo entry (super important to note with a game that ambitious). The amount of work is amazing for a jam game. It was also super fun to play ! You did an excellent job. 5* overall

Mantlair says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Very neat. Felt like much hearthstone. But interesting mechanics. Moving to the other side and such. I wish there was something resembling fatique mechanic in hearthstone. We ran out of cards and enemy had 1 HP. Great job!

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:49pm

So I like the style but I couldn't really figure out what I was doing :) When I'd get to 5 energy, the game would black out, it was still running but just completely black screen (I'm on Win10 if you want to try to replicate it). I rated based on what I saw though so don't worry about that.

Overall I thought what I got to play was pretty good! Nice Job!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:52am

really nice cards :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]