Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shape Drop

by candlesan - Compo Entry

* Use your mouse to shift rows or columns as far as you want.
* The farther you shift a row or column, the more points you score.
* Fill up the bars on the left with color for a 15 second Time Extension

Scoring Details for the curious:
* Points in each set is Shift Multiplier * Combo Length * Number of pieces
* The time extensions on the left are 24 units large. Each time you clear a shape you get (1 + Shift Distance) units added to that color. Fill all the bars for a 15 second time extension.

Tools
* Unity
* Microsoft Powerpoint
* Photoshop
* bfxr
* LMMS
* Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#93Audio3.61
#149Fun3.61
#177Overall3.59
#221Humor2.91
#342Graphics3.32
#468Mood2.94
#701Theme2.97
#877Innovation2.24

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:56am

Nice visuals and (most) sound effects. Not very original, though and I don't really see the 'shapeshift' aspect of the game. And the voice saying 'good' and 'solid' etc. was really annoying. No hate, btw. :)

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

Nice interpretation on the theme

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

@Crafting4U The shapeshift aspect is because you are Shifting Shapes back and forth! :) Thanks for playing :)

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22am

This is an awesome game, i watched him make it all weekend. :D

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31am

Fun bejewled twist! I ended up addicted because I enjoy this type of game and liked how you have to drag instead of just plopping a shape from anywhere to a matching area.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36am

Really enjoyed this one, the overall enjoyment was great, I think you really nailed the match 3 style in such a short time. Super impressive!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Love the sound effects and it's quite well polished. Shiftacular.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:17am

Awesome! I love this style of gameplay, great work.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44am

Okay idea. Suoer awesome sound effects.

CodeCast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57am

Great job

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Definitely getting a bejeweled feel from this.

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Just another Bejeweled game I think at first. And then I spend 20 minutes trying to beat the high score, but maan 80000 is high :o So yeah, not very original, but so well executed!

You capture the essence of that type of game perfectly: feedbacks, lots of feedbacks.. either visual or audible ones. And combos, lots of combos. And the rewarding feeling when we're about to loose and we obtain a time extend. All these details that keep the player focus.

Many entries may have a better concept than yours, but most of them lack of feedbacks, music or sounds (if it's not all three). It's also important to be able to polish a game, even in 3 days. That's why I'll reward you for that in my rating :)

igrir says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:52am

Really fun! And the pun for "Shape" "Shift" is just great. LOL. Awesome.
I can't open the source btw

candlesan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20am

@igrir whoops - sorry about the source link being broken. Should be fixed now!

Llucile says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:53am

Really fun game to play ! I liked the interpretation of the theme, nice one :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Very well put together for an LD game, you have all the elements of this kind of game done well. I can't really play it because I'm colourblind and I essentially see 3 kinds of objects (I know the shapes are different, but I have to concentrate really hard to play just by shapes). For that reason I am not ranking fun.

Spud says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:02am

I made the High-score table! I love the voice-overs in this game

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:50pm

When I dragged a row and matched two different sets, I felt excited! If you continue to design this, at first I was unsure if I was shifting the row or column over, or if I was shifting some pieces over. Then I wasn't sure if it counted as further distance when I took the long way around instead of the short way around to wrap, which felt like no more skill involved to wrap the long way.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Not bad match-3 game.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:56am

Really well made game. Works very well as a match-3 while also having enough unique about it to recommend it. I dug the voice overs also; gave it a nice bit of personality.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]