Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sheep Shift

by A-Flat Miner Studios - Jam Entry

Nobody ever said herding sheep was easy.
Wool you help Bucky shift each sheep into the right shape before it fleece? Get enough sheep in the shaded grass to advance the level as quickly as ewe can. If you’re stuck, just bark at Farmer Bleets to move to the next herd.
It’s sheepshifting at its finest!

Controls
Herd – Arrow Keys
Bark – Space Bark
Sneak – Arrow Keys + Shift

Team Sheep: Jodi Slade, John Thrasher, Jesse Slade, & Micha Faw, with playtesting/ideas from Carla Castillo & Richard Miller

http://aflatminer.com
@abminerstudios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#116Graphics(Jam)4.20
#122Humor(Jam)3.50
#135Innovation(Jam)3.69
#165Audio(Jam)3.62
#169Mood(Jam)3.65
#189Overall(Jam)3.65
#265Fun(Jam)3.44
#383Theme(Jam)3.54

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58am

Hey this is not baaaaaaa-d at all. Pretty fun herding game. Such a good dog.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34am

Had a lot of fun playing the game.

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:35am

I think this was creative and clever. I do really like your graphics. I think they are cute.

avinashd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40am

The embed on the compo page is broken for some reason, but the itch.io page works fine. Otherwise a really unique interpretation of the theme :P

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56am

very nice graphics and interpretation of the theme, haha. laughed at the farmer's comments!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55pm

I really enjoyed this game. Really nice idea and fun mechanics.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:51am

Wow, this is such a unique idea for the shapeshift theme! Niiiice work!

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:52am

Looks great, super polished. Plays well. Music and sounds and menus are good.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47am

Solid entry, this is an awesome idea and great gameplay!!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:10am

Now I know what a sheep dog feels like: entirely compelled to create order among these little white blobs of disorder.

I know it doesn't really fit the theme but I love the play on words so much that I'm not docking you any points.

Nice work, very charming

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:10am

Great puns and fantastic graphics!

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:35am

This game looks very polished well done I loved the graphics of the game.

celia14 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:51am

So cute! Top-notch graphics and it's a lot of fun to play.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:46am

For those who are missing that shift can also mean, uh, shift something from one place to another...it can also mean "shift something from one place to another". ;)

Togimaro says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Very funny :D cool idea and lovely assets

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Mood and presentation are nice. I think that the controls could feel better if the dogs move quicker...

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Really good graphics. The gameplay is good as well. There's a LD entry that is a 3D version of this.

Acuity says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:51am

Interesting! Somehow most of the sheep spawned in the last shape (Triangle) and I got it in 4 seconds...

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

knason says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:45pm

This was a really great entry, I played it for a long time, mostly because i was so bad at the beginning :-), but I had fun playing it. Great job!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Great idea and great game. Well done.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Great take on the theme, and nice straightforward gameplay. :) Played quite a bit!
What I missed was a more obvious effect of the bark - it seemed to no directly do much. A score (x out of y sheep) somewhere or even just at the end of a shape would also be cool to have.

nihilaleph says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Great theme interpretation! I really liked the concept, graphics and audio! I just suck a bit, I find it very difficult to control ^^; I don't quite know what is it... I think it just feels that the sheep movement is not quite what I'm predicting... And sometimes I accidentally barked at the farmer xp

Anyways great entry!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:07am

haha, cool! :D the puns made laugh a bit :P

Sabina Lis says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:22am

nice game, i liked the dog animations :)

May 5, 2016 @ 4:16am

nice mood, mechanics, i wanted to eat them all.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:02am

I am so happy this exists. :)

For future reference, when you have a keyboard-navigatable menu, it would be nice to try and make it more obvious which menu element is selected via highlighting or a cursor, etc. Otherwise people are just going to try to click on your choices. *I* didn't, because I can read, thankyouverymuch, but other people will =(

Rock Eaters says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:57am

77240 for 178 sec :) know i hat sheeps ^^ but its a very cool game with nice concept :)

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:18pm

I like this game. It's amazing.

Chaserbrown says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Great job! The asthetics were great, the music was perfect, the gameplay was fun, and the concept was nice!

RealityCheck says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:52pm

This was fun. The graphics are really nice. The music and audio is well done, and captures the mood of the game. I kind of wish there was a little more to it than just herding the sheep into different shapes - maybe throw in some birds, or something that could frighten the sheep and have them run away as you're trying to group them... but, what is there is really well polished and it certainly kept me entertained.

Swynfel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Very cool and very innoveative game !

I never could have guessed anyone would make a game like this! The idea was very good and worked very well.

Pushing the sheep was sometimes a bit difficult. I didn't feel like barking did anything, I would have expected the "green wave" to push the sheep close enough in the direction your barking... But I didn't notice a difference between scaring the sheeps normally and barking. It could have helped in making some movements less frustrating. (There always is those three sheep that really don't want to help you).

Succeeding a level didn't require have a perfect shape-shift : that was good because it would have been very painful other wise.

The graphics and sounds were well done. Good job to you artist(s). I don't really have anything to say, the sheep are drawn in many different angles, and the music is cool with varied sound effects...

I remember having a level that ended a little too quickly, maybe some shapes aren't rendered like they really are in the code... I don't know, I just remember it felt strange that I already won with so few sheep visually in the right zone.

Good job to this team ! I hope I'll see you again in the next ludum dare !

Molpe says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 5:34pm

This is truly very cool game, there is some great music!

I've made a short let's play, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxQwc8LKJXM

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]